$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 17, 2010

Good bang for your buck

This hotel is in prime location! The price is extremely reasonable for being in such a perfect spot: close to the river, easy access to public transit, and within walking distance of Tribune Tower, Riverwalk, and the Loop. The staff was helpful and pleasant. There was wirless internet and a business center to access internet and print boarding passes. A few cautions: rooms are small and cramped (but you should be out exploring the city)and no iron in the room. For the low price though, this hotel is a wonderful bang for your buck and a solid choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Aug 10, 2010

Great location.

Very good location to Grant Park and Michigan Ave. Free laundry facilities. Small rooms and slow elevators would be my only complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Dec 7, 2009

Nice Hotel Great Location

A great place for a one night stay in a excellent location in the City. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable but it was rather small (as well as the bathroom)and better suited for a short stay. The bathrooms could use hooks and a vent fan to control humidity. Overall it couldn't be beat for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 20, 2011

Great location at a terrific price

The River Hotel is also a Guest Quarters, so if you know that brand you'll be familiar with the setup. I stayed four nights, starting on a Sunday night. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was perfect, if small, for a single traveler who doesn't need a lot. It was very clean. As to size, it was narrow, with only about 18 inches on each side of a double bed between the bed and the wall. Room came with a medium sized flat panel TV on a swivel, table, chair, in-room coffee-maker which I didn't use, and a bathroom with a full-sized shower stall, no tub. The room also came with free wifi (no hardwire connection) and other amenities could be had (a closet in the hall had items for guests like extra pillows, irons, etc). I found the location of the hotel to be one of it's best features. I was close to a different hotel where there was a conference I attended for two days and then also very close to many downtown Chicago office buildings where I had business meetings on the other two days. On the last day I also visited Millenium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago, which were about a 10-12 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Going out the door, just around the corner on the right, is the Corner Bakery. Great place to get breakfast (eat-in or take-out). I had the oatmeal twice and eggs a third time. All were good.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indiana reviewer
Couples
Evansville, IN
Nov 9, 2010

River Hotel

The vallet area was extremely busy and confusing. The front desk was extreamely busy and small, it took a while to check in. It was nice that you have the security of the elevators only working with your room key. But another negative is that we could hear everything going on outside of our room in the hall, the walls are thin or the doors are thin or something! WiFi is a plus. No code needed you can just use it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The resturant in the hotel is very small but the food smelled amazing! We didn't eat there but wish we had!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thip
Couples
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great downtown location

If you have car rental try to get the hotel with free parking. parking there $35 a day. but if you plan to stay right downtown youdo not need car rental Chicago has a very good transportation. Every attractions you can walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

everything walk distance

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
time4self
Single
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 29, 2010

Weekend Getaway

This was just a short weekend getaway to pamper myself after several stressful months of work and family life. Spent most of my time shopping and walking to take in the downtown sights and sounds. The room size was small for my taste but nicely decorated. I would stay there again for location but would request a larger room and a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was great for shopping on Michigan Avenue!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Spring, TX
Aug 31, 2010

The over rated

The rooms were quite small for a hotel with high recommendations. I didn't like having to pay alomost 40.00 to have my car parked and it took valet alomst 49 minutes to return it to us the next morning - especially when we called in advance prior to coming down to check to go to the airport. I feel it was a little over priced for the small room. I must the location was very nice. The hotel staff was nice as well I can't say the same for the valet staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St. Paul, MN
Mar 30, 2010

tiny rooms but good location

There were so many things within walking distance such as Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, etc. So overall it's a great location. We didn't spend a ton of time in our hotel so it worked out well because the rooms are extremely small. When they checked in, they overbooked the room we wanted but upgraded us for free. The parking was the most frustrating as the entrance was difficult to find and finding a way to get to your car after hours is a hassle, but we found out we could enter through the Houlihan's restaurant entrance. When you get your parking ticket validated at the front desk, they discount your parking payment for staying at the hotel. The corner bakery is right there which is convenient to grab breakfast on the go. I was also pleased with complimentary water bottles the hotel provided. Overall, I'd recommend this to people who won't be spending a ton of time at the hotel and needing a lot of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Giordano's pizza is a very short walk from the hotel, but it most likely won't sit well with your stomach so I'd suggest hitting up Chicago pizza elsewhere.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA.GA
Business
Wesmont
Jul 28, 2014

Overall, good stay

My wife and I were in town for some seminars over the weekend and we stayed at this hotel due to the lower cost compared to other hotels in the area. The room was quaint and intimate with a very comfortable bed. The location was ideal being in the middle of everything from dinning, to shopping, to night life. I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top