$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Park goers
Couples
Indiana, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Weekend in Chiago

location was great. Several amenities were lacking or not present.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patts
Couples
New York
May 30, 2012

Fantastic location, comfy beds!

Fantastic location & comfy beds made our stay very enjoyable! Chicago was an amazing city. and this hotel was right in the middle of all the attractions we wanted to visit. only negative? The room was pretty small and the price was a little high for what we got. But other than that, a lovely little hotel. Found the restaurant over priced, and the food was alright for these prices, we only ate dinner there once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the chicago city pass!!! :D

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clyde22
Couples
Ohio
Jul 16, 2012

conference in chicago

great location, good staff, reasonable for one night stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Carmine's for brunch

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
verhka
Business
Lima, OH
Aug 20, 2012

Great Location room is a bit cramped...

I'm guessing this is just because of the price range I was in, and the fact that I only needed one bed. But I paid $189 + tax, and the room was incredibly small. They had a queen size bed jammed into the room, and the width of the room was only 12" - 18" longer then the length of the bed. It was just too tight for my liking, but then again, that was probably mainly due to the fact that I was there by myself, paid the price that I did, and booked the room last minute. Probably perfect for your typical business person. I also always sleep with a fan blowing, and this room had a nice and loud A/C, which you can control whether it's on or off. I preferred it to be on and as loud as possible. Overall, decent room, nice staff, cramped room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshuaimg
Couples
Louisville, ky
Sep 9, 2012

Good location

very good location but a small room the bathroom is small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the travel king
Business
Israel
Sep 10, 2012

Comfort business stay

comfort business stay in Chicago. Great location near the mile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThanksgivingTraveler2012
Couples
Houston, TX
Nov 29, 2012

Average Hotel

The location was pretty good and even the tiny room size (about 250 square feet) didn't bother me, more so the location of the actual room. We were on the fourth floor and looking at the back of a dirty building. What was mostly irritating is that the second we checked in they automatically made it seem like we weren't as "special" because we weren't spending as much as some customers and it seemed as if she was purposely putting us in not-great room because she basically said we need to upgrading within the first minute of us being there. Overall, it was fine, but won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RC12
Business
St Louis
Dec 3, 2012

Great location

Great location and easy to get to a lot of Chicago points of interest. Small rooms, but seems to be the norm in Chicago. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relieved and blessed
Single
Chicago, IL
Feb 11, 2013

Okay Stay

The hotel was nice, but for some reason I expected more for $76. The room did not offer a microwave and fridge, so I could have been just as comfortable at a Super 8 hotel and saved $30, and had a microwave & fridge in the room. Also, the staff failed to place liners in the trash can and the cordless phone was inoperable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aya M
Family
Hanover MI
Mar 18, 2013

Good weekend getaway

We booked this hotel for St Patty's day weekend.Perfect spot on the river!! Very convenient to all kinds of entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top