$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
572 reviews
Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty,... See full review

  • Bigredcincinnati
  • Jun 2, 2014
Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and... See full review

  • Macha
  • Apr 29, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (572)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
572 out of 572
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Jun 15, 2011

no security

n/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Jun 15, 2011

no security

n/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perrysburg, Ohio
May 9, 2011

Small & Modern

We stayed May 2011 - Chicago is a great city to relax and have fun; tons of stuff to do. The hotel had nice features and was seemingly up-to-date, but the rooms are small. We were put on the 3rd floor at first and it was the size of my closet at home. This is no joke, the rooms are extremely tiny. The views are a joke also, although the couple we traveled with had a nice view from the top floor (before they switched thier room to a room that had no hot water). In the end, the hotel is right in the heart of downtown, so if location is most important this would probably be on the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you dont talk to them, they wont talk to you - [tons of wierdo's hanging out in chicago]

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JessicaBel
Volusia county, FL
Feb 2, 2011

Not for me...

While the hotel had a great price and location, i wasn't at all pleased with my room. I payed for an upgrade when i booked the hotel, and it still wasnt anything special. The room was tiny and very close quarters and the tv was very small too. The room temperture also never got above 65 and it was winter!!! It may be perfect for someone on buisness, but it definately wasnt the right hotel for me. On the positive side, the restaraunt in the hotel had excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning on going to the Shedd Aquarium, make sure you get there early!!! The line was out the door when we got there at 2:00. Also the mexican restaraunt downtown Su Casa has awesome food!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anistacia Beaverhousen
Peoria, il
Aug 24, 2010

Nice, but small...

I booked 2 suites that were supposed to have a queen bed and a pull out couch each. When we got to the rooms only one was a suite and the other room only had a queen bed. We called to complain and they said there was nothing they could do, but offered us free drinks at the bar. Then they called back a half hour later to say they had a suite for us, but it was a bit too late since we had already unpacked and showered/ They then said that since they offered to change our room they would no longer allow us free drinks at the bar. Also, the room was ste on 80 when we got there, so we turned it down as low as it woudl go in hope that it would cool off but it never went below 73 in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 10, 2010

The room was good, the service was bad

The room was nice but was not cleaned properly, maid left used wash clothes in the shower. The Front Desk staff was not friendly and the valet was more than eager to park your car for over $37 a day, when right next door there is a daily hotel parking lot for $26 a day. Of course if your not from Chicago, you don't know your way around and the valet staff are more than happy to take advantage of you. On the positive note, the Bell Hop did not say a word to us and received a tip. Great Cafe around the corner. I would not recommend this hotel for family stays. The hotel is more for business travelers who do not care about all the other "stuff".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
FDL,WI
Mar 29, 2010

River Hotal

Relaxation was the goal and that was achieved. Room was shockingly small - smallest we have ever stayed in. If we were 2 big people, it would have been hard to navigate around the room. When we arrived they said they didn't have our registration for 2 twins -- only had a queen. When I showed them the written confirmation they promptly found a king size bed and were upgraded. Biggest problem was how warm and dry the room was. We asked if the room temp could be turned down to 60 (at night) but it was locked to go no lower than 65. We also asked about a humidifier - no go. Little things were quirky - the bed was like a rock, a coffee maker but no coffee, no liner in the garbage cans, the tv was the size of a postage stamp - all very stripped down to minimal. Good things: the view was great! Security good, restaurant on property, friendly staff unless you ask something they can't or won't help you with. I think we could have gotten better accommodations elsewhere - but who knows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the parking service offered by the hotel - we probably could have saved some money by finding a lot on our own. The restaurant was expensive

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 30, 2010

Hard beds, Chicago

If you like rock hard beds and air conditioners blasting through the night, this is the place for you. AC was extremely loud. Took an hour to get extra blankets that we folded up on top of the mattresses just to get a little cusion. Otherwise rooms were nice. On the plus side, it is conveniently located to many attractions. We tried the restaurant for dessert and a nightcap and were sorely disappointed on both. Worst flourless chocolate cake I've ever had. Drinks and service were also disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To the Rebar at Trump Towers. Fantastic martini and nibblings. $$$

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perrysburg, Ohio
May 9, 2011

Small & Modern

We stayed May 2011 - Chicago is a great city to relax and have fun; tons of stuff to do. The hotel had nice features and was seemingly up-to-date, but the rooms are small. We were put on the 3rd floor at first and it was the size of my closet at home. This is no joke, the rooms are extremely tiny. The views are a joke also, although the couple we traveled with had a nice view from the top floor (before they switched thier room to a room that had no hot water). In the end, the hotel is right in the heart of downtown, so if location is most important this would probably be on the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you dont talk to them, they wont talk to you - [tons of wierdo's hanging out in chicago]

Back to menu Return to top