$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betterit
Business
st.louis,mo.
Aug 3, 2009

Ok but could be better

The check in was quick and nice,the valet once you paid your money they don't have any more patience for you,so if you checking out self park so you don't get rush out of there.Also it look like someone was sleeping in my bed and the tv was on,I thought I had the wrong room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good location for the action

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perrysburg, Ohio
May 9, 2011

Small & Modern

We stayed May 2011 - Chicago is a great city to relax and have fun; tons of stuff to do. The hotel had nice features and was seemingly up-to-date, but the rooms are small. We were put on the 3rd floor at first and it was the size of my closet at home. This is no joke, the rooms are extremely tiny. The views are a joke also, although the couple we traveled with had a nice view from the top floor (before they switched thier room to a room that had no hot water). In the end, the hotel is right in the heart of downtown, so if location is most important this would probably be on the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you dont talk to them, they wont talk to you - [tons of wierdo's hanging out in chicago]

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 30, 2010

Hard beds, Chicago

If you like rock hard beds and air conditioners blasting through the night, this is the place for you. AC was extremely loud. Took an hour to get extra blankets that we folded up on top of the mattresses just to get a little cusion. Otherwise rooms were nice. On the plus side, it is conveniently located to many attractions. We tried the restaurant for dessert and a nightcap and were sorely disappointed on both. Worst flourless chocolate cake I've ever had. Drinks and service were also disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To the Rebar at Trump Towers. Fantastic martini and nibblings. $$$

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JessicaBel
Business
Volusia county, FL
Feb 2, 2011

Not for me...

While the hotel had a great price and location, i wasn't at all pleased with my room. I payed for an upgrade when i booked the hotel, and it still wasnt anything special. The room was tiny and very close quarters and the tv was very small too. The room temperture also never got above 65 and it was winter!!! It may be perfect for someone on buisness, but it definately wasnt the right hotel for me. On the positive side, the restaraunt in the hotel had excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning on going to the Shedd Aquarium, make sure you get there early!!! The line was out the door when we got there at 2:00. Also the mexican restaraunt downtown Su Casa has awesome food!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jun 15, 2011

no security

n/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 14, 2009

Chicago - Hotel

The hotel room really wasn't nice. The is the only thing what would have made my stay more enjoyable. Everything else was great. However I would recommend the hotel because of the good location and a comparatively good price per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anistacia Beaverhousen
Business
Peoria, il
Aug 24, 2010

Nice, but small...

I booked 2 suites that were supposed to have a queen bed and a pull out couch each. When we got to the rooms only one was a suite and the other room only had a queen bed. We called to complain and they said there was nothing they could do, but offered us free drinks at the bar. Then they called back a half hour later to say they had a suite for us, but it was a bit too late since we had already unpacked and showered/ They then said that since they offered to change our room they would no longer allow us free drinks at the bar. Also, the room was ste on 80 when we got there, so we turned it down as low as it woudl go in hope that it would cool off but it never went below 73 in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flaccus
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Good value, location

Nothing fancy here, but comfortable with everything I needed. Good location, good price. I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nate the dog
Business
Chicago il
Feb 23, 2014

Closet space

Horrible place to be the room. The room was tiny and hot. No view out the window. The bathroom was the best part of room. TV was a nice flat screen but the desk space was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top