$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 20, 2010

Chicago stay

The hotel is an old hotel with renovations. The room appeared small but the Club Quarters is known for their use of space. It was not a bad thing just not what I was use to. The beds were clean the restroom was clean. No complaints. Location was great about a block and half to the green line and about 3.5 blocks to the L which heads to O'hare. I really liked the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you plan to rent a car the valet is $34 dollars a night to park the car. That was more than what I paid for my rental so I took it back and decided to go to use public transportation which is close to the hotel. I enjoyed my stay there and would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kvb
Business
Southern Il
Aug 4, 2010

The Chicago 24 hour family vacation

Filming of Transformers 3 was happening in the loop. Our room would be perfect on the last days of filming as our hotel was between the restaurant and the other hotel where the filming was to occur. We could see an amazingly awesome view of the Chicago River and Michigan Avenue. We only had 24 hours and due to our location crammed in the House of Blues, a Wendella Boat and Architecture tour, Navy Pier, the Willis Tower Skydeck Ledge, prepping for the Transformers movie, AND a little shopping to boot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt the Hoople
Business
Minnesota
Sep 28, 2010

Great Location, decent hotel

The location is perfect - right downtown, blocks from everything. Also easy to walk to rail stations. The room was clean, but fairly small. The bed was very comfortable - better than home. The air conditioning does not work well, and the room was stuffy most of the time. Overall, a decent hotel that's great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Chicago-style stuffed pizza in the attached restaurant (Bacino's). Excellent!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rie
Business
Carteret, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Modern Hotel

Great location looking over the river, close to tons of restaurants and bars. Room was very modern and elegant and staff was good at giving local recommendations for places to eat and things to see/do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House-definetly worth the money for great dining atmosphere and excellent food

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 2, 2011

Great location on Chicago River.

Normally I've stayed with a friend in Streeterville but he moved. Decided to go with River Hotel as its location is on northern border of the Loop w/ access to many more affordable cafes and shops. Being right on the Chicago River was a huge plus and allowed for beautiful walks along the esplanade over to Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. Professional, friendly staff and great room with view of the bridges and river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice little affordable Italian restaurant downstairs w/ outside cafe tables and super friendly waitstaff.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Fantastic location to everything!

We went everywhere. Chinatown, Wrigley Field, Hancock Building, the beach, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Soldiers Field, Field Museum, Art Institute you name it we saw it. The El,city buses, and boat tours are all within walking distance. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice variety of eating establishments surrounded the hotel. Starbucks and 7-11 nearby too.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colotilly
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Mom/Daughter Getaway

Both my 23-year old daughter and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Restaurant was very good, lots to see and do within walking distance. Hotel has a lively atmosphere. We felt like we were in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the architecture all around you!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Oct 10, 2011

Beautiful room, great location

We were met as we went through the entry door by a clerk who completed our registration in less than a minute, at a computer terminal in the wall of the main hallway. We went directly to our room. The room, like most old hotels was small, but the entire hotel had been recently totally redone/modernized and the room was very-cleverly and very-attractively done. It was very functional and the hotel provided many thoughtful amenities that were free--for instance a chilled, distilled water dispenser (with bottles) in each floor's elevator lobby and two free washers and dryers for guests' use as well as free wifi and wired internet connections, flat-screen TV and very-complete work desk. The decoration was very attractive and the bed comfortable. The location right on the Chicago River and just off Michigan Ave. is unbeatable. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and in the hotel next door. There are probably ten very-good restaurants within two blocks (five minutes) of the hotel. This was our first stay there, but it won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jab1987
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 19, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly, and the room was affordable. Also, it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a shuttle to McCormick place for a conference, walk down the street to the Hyatt Chicago and they have shuttles that run to the conference center

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago/ South Bend Trip

Friendly staff. Clean/ comfortable room (although they could do a bit better job cleaning the room each day). Great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Short train ride away from nearly everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top