$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rie
Business
Carteret, NJ
Apr 18, 2011

Modern Hotel

Great location looking over the river, close to tons of restaurants and bars. Room was very modern and elegant and staff was good at giving local recommendations for places to eat and things to see/do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Benny's Chop House-definetly worth the money for great dining atmosphere and excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 2, 2011

Great location on Chicago River.

Normally I've stayed with a friend in Streeterville but he moved. Decided to go with River Hotel as its location is on northern border of the Loop w/ access to many more affordable cafes and shops. Being right on the Chicago River was a huge plus and allowed for beautiful walks along the esplanade over to Lake Michigan and Navy Pier. Professional, friendly staff and great room with view of the bridges and river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice little affordable Italian restaurant downstairs w/ outside cafe tables and super friendly waitstaff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Fantastic location to everything!

We went everywhere. Chinatown, Wrigley Field, Hancock Building, the beach, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Soldiers Field, Field Museum, Art Institute you name it we saw it. The El,city buses, and boat tours are all within walking distance. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice variety of eating establishments surrounded the hotel. Starbucks and 7-11 nearby too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colotilly
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Mom/Daughter Getaway

Both my 23-year old daughter and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Restaurant was very good, lots to see and do within walking distance. Hotel has a lively atmosphere. We felt like we were in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the architecture all around you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Oct 10, 2011

Beautiful room, great location

We were met as we went through the entry door by a clerk who completed our registration in less than a minute, at a computer terminal in the wall of the main hallway. We went directly to our room. The room, like most old hotels was small, but the entire hotel had been recently totally redone/modernized and the room was very-cleverly and very-attractively done. It was very functional and the hotel provided many thoughtful amenities that were free--for instance a chilled, distilled water dispenser (with bottles) in each floor's elevator lobby and two free washers and dryers for guests' use as well as free wifi and wired internet connections, flat-screen TV and very-complete work desk. The decoration was very attractive and the bed comfortable. The location right on the Chicago River and just off Michigan Ave. is unbeatable. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and in the hotel next door. There are probably ten very-good restaurants within two blocks (five minutes) of the hotel. This was our first stay there, but it won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jab1987
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 19, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly, and the room was affordable. Also, it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a shuttle to McCormick place for a conference, walk down the street to the Hyatt Chicago and they have shuttles that run to the conference center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago/ South Bend Trip

Friendly staff. Clean/ comfortable room (although they could do a bit better job cleaning the room each day). Great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Short train ride away from nearly everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
99BT
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great weekend getaway in downtown

Great location to transit for so many attractions that Chicago has to offer. My room (very eco-friendly!!) had a beautiful view of the river. Friendly staff, very helpful with any questions I had about getting around Chicago. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bacino's, their restaurant, was very good with very reasonable prices, great staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gmoney1966
Business
Charlottesville, VA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

River North...

Was just what I needed!! Free internet was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants, and clubs downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linny Jean
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Business

This was perfect for a short business trip. Great location and I received a room upgrade, which made the experience very comfortable. I would recommend the junior suite for two people. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The location was perfect, close to shopping and museums

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top