$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
566 reviews
Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty,... See full review

  • Bigredcincinnati
  • Jun 2, 2014
Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and... See full review

  • Macha
  • Apr 29, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (566)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 566
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yearly Chicago visitor
St. Paul, MN
Nov 22, 2010

Great Location

I stayed at the River Hotel. At check-in they upgraded my room for only $20. The room was very nice and comfortable. Quiet at night (I got a great night's sleep). Location was awesome! The festival of lights was happening when I was there and the fireworks were right out the front door of the hotel. The hotel provided complementary coffee with festive spices to add if you liked. Shopping was right across the bridge. Although I was traveling alone, there were business people, families, travelers... it was a very nice, friendly atmosphere. The hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across the bridge from the main shopping street. Perfect.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bliek
toronto
Jun 9, 2010

River hotel

this hotel is located in a prime spot .. the rooms are tastefully decorated and have outstanding views of the river and its architectural wonders

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 23, 2011

Unknown Gem

I was in Chicago for Whiskyfest, held just down the block. Within walking distance of Union Station and the MegaBus stop. Fabulous location! Everything about the reservation, checkin/out was very smooth. Room was small, but very nicely furnished. Even had a book of Chicago Mystery writers' short stories. Oh, and the view! Just around the corner from Morton's and McCormick and Schmicks. Easy walking distance to the Art Institute, etc. Didn't try the little in-house Italian restaurant. Next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
May 2, 2009

Fabulous location and sleek, modern room

This hotel is conveniently located at the corner of E. Wacker and Michigan Ave. providing excellent access to Grant Park, the Art Institute, and shopping along the Miracle Mile. The hotel is new and the rooms are pristine with chic modern decor and wonderful river views. Because the hotel is new, they were not fully booked and automatically upgraded me to a bigger room with a great view at no additional cost. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern at the Park has a view of Millenium Park/Grant park. They have a very friendly staff and wonderful service. A great place to rest, relax, and replenish, after a day of sight seeing.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
May 2, 2009

Fabulous location and sleek, modern room

This hotel is conveniently located at the corner of E. Wacker and Michigan Ave. providing excellent access to Grant Park, the Art Institute, and shopping along the Miracle Mile. The hotel is new and the rooms are pristine with chic modern decor and wonderful river views. Because the hotel is new, they were not fully booked and automatically upgraded me to a bigger room with a great view at no additional cost. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern at the Park has a view of Millenium Park/Grant park. They have a very friendly staff and wonderful service. A great place to rest, relax, and replenish, after a day of sight seeing.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ernier
Miami, Florida
Nov 15, 2010

fantastic hotel The River at Chicago

excellent location, excellent staff I will go back every time if they continue being so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scrubbie
Orange County, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Great Location, Great Value

Great experience. Great view. Clean room. Lots of extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to lots of great shopping and restaurants. Plenty to do, see and eat.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller not a tourist
Detroit
Nov 24, 2009

Excellent! Will stay there again!

I was pleasantly surprised with the River Hotel. It appears recently renovated and the room was spotless. I was surprised that I actually had a great view from my room. Ususally, when I book through a travel website, the hotels give me a room facing the back of another building or an alleyway. My room at the River Hotel had a fantastic view of the river and Wacker Street. The room was small but I've travelled quite a bit and know that this is the norm for big cities unless you want to pay half a month's rent for one night in a bigger room. The room had a flat panel TV that swiveled to any direction so you could watch it from bed or from the other direction whilst getting ready to go out on the town. Speaking of the bed, it was very comfy with nice fluffy pillows and a poofy duvet. Another thing I noticed were the amount of electrical outlets. Most every other hotel I've stayed in had maybe one in the bathroom and one in the room. This room had 4 of them in the room including an outlet on the desk for, say, charging your cell phone! The desk had a bookshelf with actual books on it, like a dictionary and encyclopedia, etc. I thought that was a nice touch. The bathroom had a nice roomy shower instead of a tub, which I prefer because when I take a shower in the tubs, the shower curtains always end up touching me. Eww! Also, the showerhead was handheld with an adjustable height and spray. I also liked that there was a purified water kiosk with a supply of water bottles out in the hall so you could take one along and stay hydrated while you're enjoying the city. They had the room ready early, didn't make me wait til check-in time like some hotels do and they have a fairly late check-out time of noon, which it turns out I needed, so I was immensely glad for that. Lastly, the River Hotel is in a great location! It's within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, the Merchandise Mart, and plenty more. I was there to see a show at the House of Blues and it was less than a 10 minute walk. It's also very close to the Blue Line to O'Hare Airport as well as most of the other train lines. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wheresheroams
Windsor, ON, Canada
Aug 16, 2011

Great location!

This hotel is perfectly situation a block from Michigan. Centrally located by the loop - walking distance from the park and the Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Signature Roomin the Hancock building - it is a free elevator ride up to the lounge/restaurant where you can enjoy a drink and snacks instead of paying $20+ to ride up to the observation floor.

Back to menu Return to top