$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting son in Chicago
Business
Cape Girardeau
Jul 13, 2015

7th time to Chicago....... First time at River Hotel

Once again, we were visiting our son who lives in Chicago. Location was great! Right next door to our favorite Corner Bakery for breakfast. Subway station just a short walk and very close to bus stops. River tours, water taxi service, Millennium Park, Starbucks, stores galore, and of course the beautiful architecture of the landmark buildings! Doesn't get much better than this! Yes, the room and bathroom is small which is what we were expecting, but bigger than a New York room you would have. VERY clean and GREAT service. We will definitely stay here again. Oh, did I mention the free upgrade we received with a great view of the river!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Javier A.
Business
Santa Fe
Jul 24, 2015

First Chicago experience

Perfect place for downtown Chicago walking distance to so many attractions in the Chicago down to area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelby B.
Business
Fresno
Jul 29, 2015

Great

We had a great experience staying at this hotel. Would definitely look into staying here on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Kid
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 5, 2014

Winter Vacation

Personnel were great and friendly from the moment we walked in the door. Room Service came semi early but that was only "issue." Other than that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anell
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 11, 2014

Great location and price

This is our second time staying at the River Hotel and it's our new go-to hotel for Chicago. The hotel itself is nice and very clean. Our room was small, but it's not like we would have used more room anyway. The most important thing is that it was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use "Lyft" on your mobile phone for rides instead of taxi's! So much easier to get around the city and much cheaper.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Loves to Travel....
Business
Illinois
Feb 22, 2014

Great downtown location & value!

This hotel is right on the Chicago River. I had a beautiful view of it and the downtown buildings. Hotel is right off of Michigan Ave with tons of shops and buses. The room was a little cool and bathroom a bit small, but otherwise clean and comfortable. They provided nice complimentary filtered water in the hallways. The Italian restaurant on the first floor had very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budgeting Dental Student
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Feb 23, 2014

Hotel Stay

I was really pleased with the cleanliness of this hotel. My room was small, but it was updated and spacious enough that I didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was large enough, plenty of counter space and a large mirror. Overall it was a very good deal for a student traveling on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ 1940
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

Good value

Friendly staff. Convenient location. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief travelers
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, great price

Fantastic hotel with just the right amount of space for a fabulous price. Great staff. We were able to check in before noon which was very convenient for out of towners. The location was perfect: great view, easy walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute and access to transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascar petty fan
Business
warsaw, indiana
Apr 15, 2014

Nice weekend in chicago

We wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk around the area. Easy walk to restaurants of our liking.. Check-in and out were easy. Parking is a short walk. My wife really liked the look of the room, and she can be picky. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top