$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisc
Jul 21, 2010

The River Hotel Chicago

Beautiful new room. Easy check-in/check-out. Bery reasonably priced. Will absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville
Jul 18, 2010

Great Place to stay in Chicago

We took the train from the airport and walked less than 2 blocks to the hotel. The location was wonderful--close to everything (theater district, shopping, restaurants, transportation. The view out the window of the wonderful room was amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foxy 1
Business
Chesterton IN
Jul 6, 2009

Wonderful Location

I was very impressed with the River Hotel. This hotel was so close to the trains and to many fun locations, including Millenium Park. The rooms were immaculate & the staff was curteous. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium park is right down the road.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 6, 2011

Very modern hotel. Fantastic location

The hotel was fantastic, very surprising. For the price, I did not expect it to be so nice. The staff was very helpful and gracious. The rooms are very clean and updated. Nice new bathrooms, flatscreen television, wireless internet was great, great little bistro attached..there's nothing old and stuffy about this hotel (as is the case with a lot of older hotels) the rooms are skinny, but the price is right! Fantastic Location overlooking the river. Would definitely stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grammy pami
Business
des moines, ia
Jul 2, 2009

Location was wonderful. Very affordable.

I took my 10yearold grand-daughter, she loved Chicago. We went to the American Girl Store for a Tea Party, went to Navy Pier twice and rode a sail boat out to Lake Michigan. Enjoyed Millenium Park. We enjoyed Bacino's restaurant at the hotel. It was a memorable trip and I plan on returning and staying at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that walking was fun to Millenium Park and the River Walk and just out exploring. We found cab fares very reasonable and took a water taxi to Navy Pier to save time.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 22, 2011

Great hotel, great location

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at a large, nearby hotel. It was great. Nice restaurant and bar, good business center, free internet, clean, modern room. Nice desk space and plenty of power outlets. I can't ask for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants all around the hotel.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ernier
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 15, 2010

fantastic hotel The River at Chicago

excellent location, excellent staff I will go back every time if they continue being so good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 3, 2011

Great hotel near Michigan Ave

We stayed there while visiting friends/family in Chicago for New Year's. Great location -- Michigan Ave just around the corner. Self-park one block away and $22 per day, but you cannot go in and out. Valet I believe is $34, and you can go in and out multiple times, but it may take some time for them to get your car if they're busy. Otherwise, we had a room on 9th floor -- modern/European looking, queen bed and pull-out sofa, shower but no bathtub, which was fine with me. Pretty quiet, wasn't bothered by our neighbors or city noise. They got a crib for the baby without problems. OK restaurant on 1st floor, corner bakery next-door. Gym in basement (did not personally check it out). Overall I felt like it's pretty good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scrubbie
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Great Location, Great Value

Great experience. Great view. Clean room. Lots of extras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to lots of great shopping and restaurants. Plenty to do, see and eat.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleen
Business
Minnesota
Sep 28, 2011

Exceptional Hotel

We would most definetly stay at the River Hotel again. It was within walking distance from most things that we wanted to do and see. There was a bus stop right across the street for what wasn't within walking distance. MANY restaurants and shops near by. Hotel staff was VERY helpful and friendly in helping us navagate through the city. The staff was even able to get us into our room at 1100 for a much needed nap when we shared with them that we had to get up at 0330 to catch out flight. Will book here again when we take our kids with us next time we visit Chicago. I have nothing negative at all to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top