$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
383 out of 383
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, tn
Oct 10, 2010

perfect location

close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 21, 2011

Long Weekend in Chicago

This was my second trip to Chicago and my first with my husband. We were there to have our 'babymoon' since it was the last possible week advisable to travel by air. We wanted to stay downtown so we would have easy access to all the sites. This hotel really delivered! It was in a perfect location right next to the river where we could either hop a water taxi, bus, or regular taxi easily. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was very good but there was a Corner Bakery right next door if we wanted pastries. Two things really stood out. The hotel offered free laundry service on our floor. There was a washer and dryer recessed in the hallway (tucked out of site but notated with signs) that guests could use. Also, next to the elevator there was this nifty water cooler built into the wall and they provided plastic water bottles at no cost. The staff was very helpful and quick to respond to any question. This is definitely a place we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier was an inexpensive taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 1, 2011

A great place to stay

We were in Chicago for a family wedding. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown. It is elegant while comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WoodWorks
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 26, 2011

Great Experience

Hotel Employee's were both friendly and attentive. The over-all experience was very good and I plan to stay there in the future. VERY affordable with a clean and centralized location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 23, 2011

Unknown Gem

I was in Chicago for Whiskyfest, held just down the block. Within walking distance of Union Station and the MegaBus stop. Fabulous location! Everything about the reservation, checkin/out was very smooth. Room was small, but very nicely furnished. Even had a book of Chicago Mystery writers' short stories. Oh, and the view! Just around the corner from Morton's and McCormick and Schmicks. Easy walking distance to the Art Institute, etc. Didn't try the little in-house Italian restaurant. Next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yearly Chicago visitor
Business
St. Paul, MN
Nov 22, 2010

Great Location

I stayed at the River Hotel. At check-in they upgraded my room for only $20. The room was very nice and comfortable. Quiet at night (I got a great night's sleep). Location was awesome! The festival of lights was happening when I was there and the fireworks were right out the front door of the hotel. The hotel provided complementary coffee with festive spices to add if you liked. Shopping was right across the bridge. Although I was traveling alone, there were business people, families, travelers... it was a very nice, friendly atmosphere. The hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right across the bridge from the main shopping street. Perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harley girl and friends
Business
Jeffersonville, IN
Dec 12, 2010

Chicago Christmas trip

We had a wonderful time at the River Hotel. The rooms were clean and updated. The flat panel TV was very nice. PERFECT for walking to the shopping areas in all directions. The Bell captain was very sweet and helpful. He stood outside in the snow with the 6 of us (myself, my husband and 4 friends) and watched us act silly when the snow began to fall. The lobby was warm and inviting with a gas fireplace and a huge chess set where we gathered one night for a few games of chess and small talk. There was a bar right off the lobby and they allowed us to buy drinks and talk them to the lobby with us. The water filling stations on each floor were very convenient. Nice not to have to buy a $6 bottle of water. The entire experience was wonderful, warm and memorable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down Wabash in one direction to old elegant Macys and Nordstom Rack, theaters, and the jewelry row. Walk down Michigan Ave in the other direction to the upscale shops of LV, Zara,Cartier, Tiffanys, etc.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Sep 1, 2009

Just perfect

Just visiting Chicago. I will stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orli
Business
Frakes, Kentucky
Jun 14, 2009

A spectacular view on the river

This hotel was very comfortable. It had everything we needed and the hotel manager was extremely helpful and kind. The hotel itself was easy to find and close to fun areas (i.e. the theater district).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Rosebud restaurant--excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 2, 2009

Fabulous location and sleek, modern room

This hotel is conveniently located at the corner of E. Wacker and Michigan Ave. providing excellent access to Grant Park, the Art Institute, and shopping along the Miracle Mile. The hotel is new and the rooms are pristine with chic modern decor and wonderful river views. Because the hotel is new, they were not fully booked and automatically upgraded me to a bigger room with a great view at no additional cost. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern at the Park has a view of Millenium Park/Grant park. They have a very friendly staff and wonderful service. A great place to rest, relax, and replenish, after a day of sight seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top