$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
354 reviews
Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem... See full review

  • Dank6
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago... See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (354)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
packerbackerjoe
montgomery, il
Jun 20, 2009

superb view and clean room

This newer chicago hotel was great. You cant beat the location. Very close to navy pier, shopping, etc. Everything was within walking distance, but there are several CTA (bus and train) stops within 1 block of the hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. The hotel had wireless internet throughout and unlimited bottles of purified water. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The only thing missing was a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dominicks grocery store just a few blocks away (Right by NBC towers). They offer the same prices as you would find in the suburbs. If you want to save money, shop there. They have a great deli offering many hot foods.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baes
Houston, Tx
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

we had fun in our trip to Chicago, and the hotel was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mas6618
Mason, Ohio
Sep 6, 2011

The River Hotel

The hotel is in an excellent location. With the exception of Shedd's Aquirium and the Field Attraction, everything was in walking distance. Our car needed to be jumped in the parking garage and the hotel parking staff was very accomodating. The room was nice but the bathroom had limited space. Overall, it was a great experience. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Go-Card is an excellent time and money saver. With all the attractions seen we saved $100 per card. To save time, pick up the Chicago Go-Card the day before it's used.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orli
Frakes, Kentucky
Jun 14, 2009

A spectacular view on the river

This hotel was very comfortable. It had everything we needed and the hotel manager was extremely helpful and kind. The hotel itself was easy to find and close to fun areas (i.e. the theater district).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Rosebud restaurant--excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MI
Mar 30, 2010

Nice Couple's Weekend

This hotel was very impressive. Clean, contemporary, excellent staff, very friendly and willing to help. The location is a short distance from everything fun to do in downtown Chicago. Because of it's location, the valet was extremely busy and sometimes it could take 10-20 mins to get your car, however this is easily avoided if you call 10-20 mins ahead of time. My fiance and I really enjoyed are stay! There were many restaurants within walking distance and it was simple to get a taxi. We would defintely stay again. Very nice for a weekend trip to Chitown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dank6
Aurora
Aug 18, 2014

Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem higher quality than most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doss-art
NJ
Aug 19, 2010

Location location location weooooow!!!!!

We came in town on the blueline from O'Hor CTA staff was helpful not hard to find or to get to. The River Hotel is one of the nicest hotel in our travel history. Clean, small but I love the room. The hotel was charming TV and free wireless internet it was all great. The hotels location was amazing. We could walk every where in about eight minutes, river front views were delightful, the parks, the shops, the stores, the near by transportation, healthy eating in hotel resturant and many others near by. You could walk 5-8 minute in any direction to get great food, sacks, coffee on the morning run, Or late night drink. We were very happy with everything we found. Night life was great and I felt safe. Hotel chef makes different raivlio every night, great pizza, I had chicken, pasta with spinish covered with alfradio sauce, best I've had in a long time creamy and full of flavor. VERY WELL DONE. did not like the salad. Free bottle water at your finger tips was a nice touch. Bus stops were near by, rent a bike, segway, YOU can get a Go Pass, down stairs under the bike rental shop in mallenium park near the Information center. get a Go Pass is worth the money.!!!!! YOu will have to walk to Hotel Hilton (If you are paying cash you can get the GO PASS at Hilton to use you cridit card you must go to bike rental shop.) to activate the card but its worth it. Ask at the CTA where you can buy a five-ninty-nine day pass to ride the bus you can get off and on as much as you like for twenty-four hours. We got ours at CVS. It is such a great savings. Please try breakfast at Flatwater see picture on my picasa account Olive W. Doss. It was wonderful. Go to Willis tower at night and see Chicago from the ski. Take a River ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris the romantic
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 18, 2014

Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago and the great staff. This was my second stay here and i will continue coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 21, 2012

Fantastic Business Centre Hotel

This is a fantastic business centre hotel. This business centre facilities can be accessed 24/7 and the staff are very helpful with any assistance if required, like scanning documents to be emailed overseas during the early hours of the morning. Also the location is perfect. We were happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top