$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy V.
Business
Cadillac, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Very helpful for tourists

Staff was excellent (very helpful to tourists, upgraded our room due to a small mistake, etc.). Love the water bottles/filtered water in the hallways...so convienent. Great location to get to everywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Going To Chicago
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 25, 2013

Good BARGAIN hotel

I reserved this room as part of a nice package from this site. Summary: 1. In a GREAT location (near my business needs and the Art Institute / Michigan Ave.). 2. GREAT views. 3. Pedro (very friendly) changed my room to a river view, but the room was small with a tiny sealed window. 4. Room lacked some amenities (e.g. no in-room iron, no separate chair for sitting, no Chicago dining guides), and was DUSTY. Wasn't happy about that. 5. The staff were friendly enough, but missing that something extra you expect from a hotel with a premium location. Visit the Monaco for an idea of what a nice stay is all about. 6. For one night, it was fine. It was very close to my conference and centrally located to CHI nightlife. I would shop other hotels first before returning here, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise is one of the SINGLE BEST tourist attractions I have ever experienced. I've been on the tour at least 3 times, and find it fascinating. Well worth the time, and when combined with viewing the modern art collection at the Art Institute (not too far of a walk away), it makes for a great day of tourist activity in this fun city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Happy
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2013

Great first time in Chicago

This was a great place to stay for my first trip to Chicago. The location is prime, located right across the bridge from the main shopping area and right on the edge of downtown. Almost everywhere we went was in walking distance, and it was close enough to the transit system that we could take the light rail from Midway Airport to get here. The only complaint I have was that the rooms were a little small, but the view more than made up for it - overlooking the Chicago river with a gorgeous view of the skyline. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
Business
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Tann
Business
Singapore
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Location is convenient. Facilities are good. washing machine and dryer provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepgirlrn
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jul 10, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

The hotel was located directly across from the River Walk and located within walking distance from many attractions. The staff was very friendly as well as helpful. They allowed us to store our bicycles we rented at the hotel during a riding break and had a place to secure our luggage in-between check-out and our plane departure. They also made a cab reservation for us to get us to the airport. Overall, it was a great weekend at a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant located in the hotel lobby offered a wonderful, reasonably priced breakfast. Service was also friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWeez
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 3, 2013

Chicago vacation

Great, great, great location!! Easy walk to Magnificent Mile and The Loop. Our room had a great view of the river too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shufromohio
Business
Ohio
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel has the best location, very convenient to all major places. The room is small but very modern and clean. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shufromohio
Business
Ohio
May 10, 2013

Great Location and Room!

Just came back from a trip. The hotel room is small but very nice and modern. The bed takes most of the space in the room but since it's Chicago, I don't expect super spacious. The bathroom has a shower and is very clean and modern. Very good price, too! I love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CN200
Business
maine
Apr 22, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location and amenities

I loved this place! I am a picky person, but I have no complaints about this hotel. Great staff, nice rooms, perfect location, free water and snacks all day long. A nicely appointed common "living room" with coffee, newspapers, tv, computers and printers. Good restaurant and room service. The concierge got us great tickets to the Book of Mormon play.....incredible feat, but much appreciated. All in all, a great value. I would pay more to stay here again...it was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top