$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
366 reviews
Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem... See full review

  • Dank6
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago... See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (366)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
366 out of 366
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy V.
Cadillac, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Very helpful for tourists

Staff was excellent (very helpful to tourists, upgraded our room due to a small mistake, etc.). Love the water bottles/filtered water in the hallways...so convienent. Great location to get to everywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Going To Chicago
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 25, 2013

Good BARGAIN hotel

I reserved this room as part of a nice package from this site. Summary: 1. In a GREAT location (near my business needs and the Art Institute / Michigan Ave.). 2. GREAT views. 3. Pedro (very friendly) changed my room to a river view, but the room was small with a tiny sealed window. 4. Room lacked some amenities (e.g. no in-room iron, no separate chair for sitting, no Chicago dining guides), and was DUSTY. Wasn't happy about that. 5. The staff were friendly enough, but missing that something extra you expect from a hotel with a premium location. Visit the Monaco for an idea of what a nice stay is all about. 6. For one night, it was fine. It was very close to my conference and centrally located to CHI nightlife. I would shop other hotels first before returning here, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise is one of the SINGLE BEST tourist attractions I have ever experienced. I've been on the tour at least 3 times, and find it fascinating. Well worth the time, and when combined with viewing the modern art collection at the Art Institute (not too far of a walk away), it makes for a great day of tourist activity in this fun city.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Happy
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2013

Great first time in Chicago

This was a great place to stay for my first trip to Chicago. The location is prime, located right across the bridge from the main shopping area and right on the edge of downtown. Almost everywhere we went was in walking distance, and it was close enough to the transit system that we could take the light rail from Midway Airport to get here. The only complaint I have was that the rooms were a little small, but the view more than made up for it - overlooking the Chicago river with a gorgeous view of the skyline. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Tann
Singapore
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Location is convenient. Facilities are good. washing machine and dryer provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepgirlrn
Kansas City, KS
Jul 10, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

The hotel was located directly across from the River Walk and located within walking distance from many attractions. The staff was very friendly as well as helpful. They allowed us to store our bicycles we rented at the hotel during a riding break and had a place to secure our luggage in-between check-out and our plane departure. They also made a cab reservation for us to get us to the airport. Overall, it was a great weekend at a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant located in the hotel lobby offered a wonderful, reasonably priced breakfast. Service was also friendly.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWeez
Durham, NC
Jun 3, 2013

Chicago vacation

Great, great, great location!! Easy walk to Magnificent Mile and The Loop. Our room had a great view of the river too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shufromohio
Business
Ohio
May 13, 2013

Great location

The hotel has the best location, very convenient to all major places. The room is small but very modern and clean. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shufromohio
Business
Ohio
May 10, 2013

Great Location and Room!

Just came back from a trip. The hotel room is small but very nice and modern. The bed takes most of the space in the room but since it's Chicago, I don't expect super spacious. The bathroom has a shower and is very clean and modern. Very good price, too! I love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CN200
Business
maine
Apr 22, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location and amenities

I loved this place! I am a picky person, but I have no complaints about this hotel. Great staff, nice rooms, perfect location, free water and snacks all day long. A nicely appointed common "living room" with coffee, newspapers, tv, computers and printers. Good restaurant and room service. The concierge got us great tickets to the Book of Mormon play.....incredible feat, but much appreciated. All in all, a great value. I would pay more to stay here again...it was a delight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search