$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenbrowndog
Business
chicago
Jul 1, 2014

poor place

poor handling of situation with pets that they said we could have and then did not allow and did not let us cancel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

fulton market kitchen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess and mike
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 24, 2014

excellent view but tiny room

The best part of our stay was the location/view, but it wasn't easy getting there. We were told to park at a nearby parking garage that had cheaper rates than any other hotel. The parking garage was extremely difficult for us to locate using our phones -- all the buildings messed with our gps signals, there are many streets with very similar sounfing names (i.e. east wacker, north wacker) and it was hard to reach anyone via phone to tell us how to get there. I'd recommend scouting out the location in advance! We had a corner room that is one of the smallest I've been in. The one window was about 20 inches wide, but the view from the window was definitely worthwhile. Looking out over the river and all its bridges reminded me of Venice in a way. We loved the location, as we could hit many of the attractions on foot if you're in the right footwear. We walked to the Hancock tower for a gorgeous night time city view, but I definitely switched from heels to flip flops halfway there. The next morning was perfect for walking to millennium park. My boyfriend tells me the best part of the trip was sitting outside at the outdoor hotel cafe at the end of the night. They let us stay sitting out there even after bar close, which was nice. As for our room, it felt more like a modest business room than the romantic getaway we were hoping for. The space was pretty tight for hanging out but fine for a single business traveler or a couple of tourists just needing a place to crash. It was mostly clean but the window had a thick layer of cobwebs on the outside. The bathroom was small but sufficient, with a walk - in shower instead of a bathtub. All in all, we'd go there again but probably ask first about the room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a formal night out at tge hancock tower, with a romantic walk of the city by packing comfy shoes (flip flops) then switching into heels when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caliegirl
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2014

Great Location!

The front desk staff during the day is amazing. Great location. Valet parking is very pricey and lower priced hotel room plus valet averages about what you would pay other places. Room very comfortable and clean. Business center free services are very convenient and they think about the extras and perfect for the business traveler. (Chargers, computers, free printing, etc).Food at little place next door is very fresh and service is also very good. I have stayed there two times and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the appetizer coupons from the front desk and you can walk to several places and it cuts your bill in half if just 2 or 3 people in your group. Wish I had known about it last time I went. This time I used two of the coupons and the appetizers were a meal in themself!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnonymousDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 9, 2014

Clean, professional. great deal

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a few nights in a much fancier place. I wasn't going to be at the hotel much, so figured a decent bed and shower would suffice. The lobby, location, and staff were great. The bed was fine, but the bedding definitely had a cheaper-than-Hilton feel to it. I would equate this place to a nicer Holiday Inn, not quite a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigredcincinnati
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 2, 2014

Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty, this place is newly remodeled and trendy looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macha
Business
IA
Apr 29, 2014

Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and delivery service to your room. Great place and would love to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tones of international cuisines to try out just a walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenX01
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic location

Nice downtown hotel located next to the Chicago river. Walking distance to everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio available in the warmer weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The emerald loop bar is open late and is very close the hotel. Other restaurant bars are only open to 11pm. I arrived in Chicago at 10:30 and wasn't up for a long journey away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red 51
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 26, 2014

Best deal, great value AND with 5 star service

We booked this hotel based on location and best price. Couldn't have gotten better value for a newer, trendy looking hotel that is a block off Michigan ave. Easy walk to River North bars/restaurants and Mich. Ave. shopping. In addition, the staff was of the quality you would expect from a 5 star hotel! I forgot my iPhone charger & one of the guys ran out to his car to let me borrow his. We requested a crib at check in and it was in our room before we even made it up the elevator ourselves. We would def stay here again & would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascar petty fan
Business
warsaw, indiana
Apr 15, 2014

Nice weekend in chicago

We wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk around the area. Easy walk to restaurants of our liking.. Check-in and out were easy. Parking is a short walk. My wife really liked the look of the room, and she can be picky. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief travelers
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, great price

Fantastic hotel with just the right amount of space for a fabulous price. Great staff. We were able to check in before noon which was very convenient for out of towners. The location was perfect: great view, easy walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute and access to transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top