$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markie713
Business
Houston
Nov 30, 2014

Great Room and Great Location

Great room and great location. Price well. Rooms a bit small but clean and nice. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris the romantic
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 9, 2014

Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Oct 31, 2014

Great location for a great price

Excellent location along the Chicago River near Michigan Ave and a short stroll from several major "L" stops, this hotel offered an excellent value. Rooms have a nice size and layout--much larger than many comparably priced options in this part of the city--with very comfortable bedding and complementary additional amenities can be requested to aid your sleep, like a white noise generator (very useful in a noisy city like Chicago). Check in/out is super convenient if you don't want to deal with the front desk... there's a fully automated checkin kiosk area at the entrance (I didn't even realize there was a front desk at first--but they're there if you need them, and super friendly and helpful). I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All of Chicago's "L" lines converge within a couple short blocks of the location, making getting here, particularly from the airport lines (Orange-Midway, Blue-O'Hare) quick and easy, and you're in a perfect spot at the points where the Magnificent Mile, Loop, and River North areas converge, making many destinations walkable (or cab rides quick and cheap).

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMKR
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 28, 2014

River Hotel, October 24-26, 2014

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW Had not stayed here before but liked it very much! Check-in was quick & easy as was check-out. Our room was very small & didn't have a nice view but we spent most of our time outside the hotel anyway. We were attracted by the relatively low price for the weekend and the location. It is just across the street from the river, a half-block away from Michigan Avenue, and is perfect for walking both north and south. Although we had expected to take taxis to restaurants, we found we could easily and safely walk to both restaurants where we had reservations. We did not try the restaurant in the hotel (all 3 meals + brunch on the weekends, with outdoor seating, as well), but we found a Corner Bakery (a favorite of ours) just a few steps from the hotel. The room we had was fine for our needs and it was nicely designed to accommodate its small size. The mattress was one of the best I've encountered anywhere. There was a free bottled-water machine on our floor and we used it quite a bit! Lovely lounge with free computers on the 2nd floor. We will definitely return! The only downside was parking, which is an issue for anyone in Chicago. There is parking available right next door at the Wyndham Hotel parking garage, at $60/night, reservations required. Public parking elsewhere seems equally pricey, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommmmm
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 11, 2014

taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the view was beautiful, and the location was absolutely perfect - next to the river, close to Millennium Park, public transit within walking distance. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For authentic Chicago flavor, we went to Billy Goat Tavern for their infamous CheezeBorgers. It is UNDER Michigan Ave, north of the river.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KpCole
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 7, 2014

Bare Bones

Not the best hotel for a couples weekend. The room was definitely smaller than average, but the bed, TV, and bathroom were tiny. We were only given one bar of soap, so that was supposed to be for the shower and the sink? The towels in the bathroom were ripped, thin, and small (detect a theme?). Location was great, but downtown Chicago parking is $58/night. I would avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Such chocolat
Business
Kalamazoo
Sep 17, 2014

Family trip

Really great location and hotel. The room so clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris the romantic
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 18, 2014

Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago and the great staff. This was my second stay here and i will continue coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dank6
Business
Aurora
Aug 18, 2014

Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem higher quality than most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Cole
Business
michigan
Aug 18, 2014

Great stay

Very good hotel. Within walking distance wto everything. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top