$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Always a Yankee
Business
Georgia
Jul 25, 2014

A perfectly fine hotel

A perfectly fine hotel for the price -- clean, quiet, excellent location, friendly staff. The small size of the room took us a few minutes to get accustomed to, but there was nothing wrong with it -- just smaller than typical. Valet parking was pretty speedy. If you're looking for decent value with decent location, this hotel fits the bill. I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigbri033
Business
Central Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Quick Stay

The hotel is in a great location! The room was small but only needed it to sleep in. The staff was very friendly. The only complaint is that a towel in the bathroom had brown stains on it which was kind of odd. There was more available so we didn't complain. And of course being downtown Chicago the room prices are outrageous but we had to be downtown at the crack of dawn so didn't want to stay too far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reegla
Business
Iowa
Jul 15, 2014

weekend getaway

I was only there a night but would stay again because location is great and hotel was beat and tidy and staff very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is perfectly located between theater district and mag mile so short walk to so many activities. Its location along river us great for runners and walkers just across the street and down some stairs you have access to uninterrupted miles of paths along river than lake. It was an awesome find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley B
Business
il
Jul 7, 2014

Great stay

The location of this hotel is fantastic if you want to walk up and down Michigan Ave or State St. There was a small hiccup in our stay but the front desk staff were overly accommodating and fixed the issue the best they could. Valet parking is next door and a great price. Plan on going back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet parking is cheaper next door the an anywhere else. You also have unlimited in and out access which makes it the ultimate deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenbrowndog
Business
chicago
Jul 1, 2014

poor place

poor handling of situation with pets that they said we could have and then did not allow and did not let us cancel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

fulton market kitchen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess and mike
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 24, 2014

excellent view but tiny room

The best part of our stay was the location/view, but it wasn't easy getting there. We were told to park at a nearby parking garage that had cheaper rates than any other hotel. The parking garage was extremely difficult for us to locate using our phones -- all the buildings messed with our gps signals, there are many streets with very similar sounfing names (i.e. east wacker, north wacker) and it was hard to reach anyone via phone to tell us how to get there. I'd recommend scouting out the location in advance! We had a corner room that is one of the smallest I've been in. The one window was about 20 inches wide, but the view from the window was definitely worthwhile. Looking out over the river and all its bridges reminded me of Venice in a way. We loved the location, as we could hit many of the attractions on foot if you're in the right footwear. We walked to the Hancock tower for a gorgeous night time city view, but I definitely switched from heels to flip flops halfway there. The next morning was perfect for walking to millennium park. My boyfriend tells me the best part of the trip was sitting outside at the outdoor hotel cafe at the end of the night. They let us stay sitting out there even after bar close, which was nice. As for our room, it felt more like a modest business room than the romantic getaway we were hoping for. The space was pretty tight for hanging out but fine for a single business traveler or a couple of tourists just needing a place to crash. It was mostly clean but the window had a thick layer of cobwebs on the outside. The bathroom was small but sufficient, with a walk - in shower instead of a bathtub. All in all, we'd go there again but probably ask first about the room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a formal night out at tge hancock tower, with a romantic walk of the city by packing comfy shoes (flip flops) then switching into heels when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caliegirl
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2014

Great Location!

The front desk staff during the day is amazing. Great location. Valet parking is very pricey and lower priced hotel room plus valet averages about what you would pay other places. Room very comfortable and clean. Business center free services are very convenient and they think about the extras and perfect for the business traveler. (Chargers, computers, free printing, etc).Food at little place next door is very fresh and service is also very good. I have stayed there two times and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the appetizer coupons from the front desk and you can walk to several places and it cuts your bill in half if just 2 or 3 people in your group. Wish I had known about it last time I went. This time I used two of the coupons and the appetizers were a meal in themself!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnonymousDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 9, 2014

Clean, professional. great deal

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a few nights in a much fancier place. I wasn't going to be at the hotel much, so figured a decent bed and shower would suffice. The lobby, location, and staff were great. The bed was fine, but the bedding definitely had a cheaper-than-Hilton feel to it. I would equate this place to a nicer Holiday Inn, not quite a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigredcincinnati
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 2, 2014

Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty, this place is newly remodeled and trendy looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top