$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MI
Mar 30, 2010

Nice Couple's Weekend

This hotel was very impressive. Clean, contemporary, excellent staff, very friendly and willing to help. The location is a short distance from everything fun to do in downtown Chicago. Because of it's location, the valet was extremely busy and sometimes it could take 10-20 mins to get your car, however this is easily avoided if you call 10-20 mins ahead of time. My fiance and I really enjoyed are stay! There were many restaurants within walking distance and it was simple to get a taxi. We would defintely stay again. Very nice for a weekend trip to Chitown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FDL,WI
Mar 29, 2010

River Hotal

Relaxation was the goal and that was achieved. Room was shockingly small - smallest we have ever stayed in. If we were 2 big people, it would have been hard to navigate around the room. When we arrived they said they didn't have our registration for 2 twins -- only had a queen. When I showed them the written confirmation they promptly found a king size bed and were upgraded. Biggest problem was how warm and dry the room was. We asked if the room temp could be turned down to 60 (at night) but it was locked to go no lower than 65. We also asked about a humidifier - no go. Little things were quirky - the bed was like a rock, a coffee maker but no coffee, no liner in the garbage cans, the tv was the size of a postage stamp - all very stripped down to minimal. Good things: the view was great! Security good, restaurant on property, friendly staff unless you ask something they can't or won't help you with. I think we could have gotten better accommodations elsewhere - but who knows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the parking service offered by the hotel - we probably could have saved some money by finding a lot on our own. The restaurant was expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Mar 29, 2010

Hotel full of hipsters!

You use a kiosk to check-in; you need your key card to make the elevator work; I never did get through to human before we left using the hotel phone number (the reservation number worked better). Parking was $58 for two nights. The location was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morton's and Blue Water Kitchen are right around the corner and they're both out of this world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsprat
Business
Oxford,Mi
Mar 29, 2010

wow what a great trip

It as just what we needed. Great room wonderful view. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarahmilh
Business
Augusta, MI
Mar 27, 2010

River Hotel-Chicago

My boyfriend and I stayed here after a concert at the House of Blues. So the location was very convenient, but we heard sirens most of the night. The rooms are a lot smaller than normal hotel rooms, but it was still a clean and efficient room for a one night stay. I recommend ordering food from Ranalli's; they have Italian and Greek food, with great prices and you get more than what you paid for. I do not recommend eating at the restaurant in the hotel. We had breakfast there and we waited 20 minutes for our food and our waitress never came to check on us. They were not heavily busy and we were not the only ones complaining about the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located a couple blocks away from the House of Blues and is right next to the Chicago Riverwalk-GREAT for pictures! It is also right next to Michigan Ave. for shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Petite, but with great view

This hotel (variously called both the River Hotel and the Club Quarters) is right on the Chicago River, right across the river from the new Trump Tower. So, it is convenient to the Loop, the theaters, the Lake, Navy Pier, and Michigan Avenue. I stayed in one of the upper floor rooms, and there were only 3 rooms on that floor, so very private in the tower. The service is a bit impersonal (you check in and out with computer screens), but the hotel was lobby and open spaces were elegant and well apportioned. The 2nd floor "living room" had lots of comfy chairs and chess boards. There are computers with internet service on the 1st and 2nd floor. My room was small, but wide - the bed was about 2 feet from the window, but there was a sitting area (with a side window). The bed was comfortable, with good linens. In sum, a nice base for seeing the sights, and it has some homey touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, IL
Mar 19, 2010

100% satisfied

Wonderful experience. I stayed here for one night and it was exactly what I needed. Besides the great room rate, the location was beyond perfect. Everything was a short walk away. The kiosk check in was easy and super fast. Took me about 1 minute to check in. Kiosk prints out your key card right there ! Room was small but all I needed was a place to sleep after celebrating St Patrick's day in the city. Super clean rooms. Nice big flat screen tv. TONS of outlets for various electronics. My favorite was the clock radio. Had built in sound machine so if you wanted to listen to the ocean or wind chimes or other various "white sounds" like I do when I sleep, all you had to do was dial it up !! This will be my first choice when booking in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Got Windy!
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 19, 2010

Luck of the Irish!!

For Spring Break and St. Patty's Day, the price was unbelievable. The location was perfect to all we wanted to do. The rooms are small, but comfortable and very clean. Great view! Parking was the most reasonable of all the hotels' researched. I would recommend to any and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KC, MO
Mar 18, 2010

River Hotel

We went to Chicago for St. PaddY'S day. The hotel was in a perfect location, right on the river. The hotel had very friendly staff. The rooms were small but very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Guerilla Gormand
Business
Lincoln, NE
Mar 16, 2010

Club Quarters River Hotel Chicago

The most impressive aspect of the hotel in general and the room in particular was how clean they were. The room looked, smelled and felt clean. The sheets were crisp, the furnishings dust free and modern, and the bathroom was spotless. The staff was friendly and helpful and we lucked out with the view; 19th floor, northeast corner with two views of the St. Paddy's Day dyed Chicago River. The room was about the size of a ship's cabin, which was not that much of a problem since we just needed a place to sleep, which was just as well since the bed was nice and comfy. The only things that were disappointing were that we could hear a lot of noises from guests in the halls and in other rooms. Doors slamming and small crashes into walls for the most part. The other thing was no extra pillows in the closet, but to be completely fair, we didn't try to contact guest services to see if we could get extra pillows. Overall, the big things that are important to me were very good, while the minor annoyances were just that, minor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gage restaurant is about a mile away on Michigan Ave., right across the street from Millenium Park. I went there for an early dinner after spending about four hours at the Art Insitute of Chicago. The food at the Gage is amazing, reasonably priced and adhers to the principle of simple food executed to a superlative degree. I enjoyed a St. Patrick's day special of coddle consisting of rabbit sausage, pork belly, kale, mustard and cabbage. The greatest restaurant meal I have ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top