$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommmmm
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 11, 2014

taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the view was beautiful, and the location was absolutely perfect - next to the river, close to Millennium Park, public transit within walking distance. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For authentic Chicago flavor, we went to Billy Goat Tavern for their infamous CheezeBorgers. It is UNDER Michigan Ave, north of the river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KpCole
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 7, 2014

Bare Bones

Not the best hotel for a couples weekend. The room was definitely smaller than average, but the bed, TV, and bathroom were tiny. We were only given one bar of soap, so that was supposed to be for the shower and the sink? The towels in the bathroom were ripped, thin, and small (detect a theme?). Location was great, but downtown Chicago parking is $58/night. I would avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Healey
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 7, 2014

Great Value

Check-in exceptional. Room perfect. Room service excellent. Best room value for this superb location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Also short walk to subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris the romantic
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 18, 2014

Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago and the great staff. This was my second stay here and i will continue coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dank6
Business
Aurora
Aug 18, 2014

Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem higher quality than most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cochoa
Business
Monterrey, NL
Aug 11, 2014

Great location and hotel

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is just meters from the magnificiente mile and a couple of blocks from millenium park. The hotel itself is very good. Rooms are very new and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Giordano's thre blocks away from the hotel, on Michingan Ave. They close at midnight, great spot to get the famous chicago pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schmerko
Business
Iowa
Jul 31, 2014

Good value, Great Location

Yes, the rooms are small. However the rooms are very efficient and have what you need....modern bathroom fittings and furnishings, a comfortable bed, good climate control, and a nice desk. It would have been nice to have a bigger TV, but we didn't book a hotel in downtown Chicago to watch TV. There isn't a microwave or fridge, but that wasn't a big deal for us. There was a nice in-room coffee maker. What really sells this hotel is the location - easy walking to Michigan Avenue shopping, State Street shopping and the river is at your doorstep (and a Starbucks just down the block). We didn't try the connected cafe/pizza place in the hotel but it looked like it was doing a good business. The other things we liked about the hotel was very reasonable overnight valet parking compared to most other hotels (about half their rate); and free wi-fi. This makes the reasonable hotel rate (for a downtown hotel) even better. Finally, some reviews have had mixed experiences with the staff but our check-in and check-out was very fast and with a very friendly staff member and any staff in the halls always smiled and said hi, so no complaints there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago's theaters are a short walk away, as is tons and tons of shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danyell and John Couple
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 29, 2014

Really good couple getaway

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA.GA
Business
Wesmont
Jul 28, 2014

Overall, good stay

My wife and I were in town for some seminars over the weekend and we stayed at this hotel due to the lower cost compared to other hotels in the area. The room was quaint and intimate with a very comfortable bed. The location was ideal being in the middle of everything from dinning, to shopping, to night life. I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bizz trvlr1234
Business
New York
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect location

Was on a business trip with family, could not have been better location and value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Naha

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top