$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
383 out of 383
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 7, 2011

Nice Hotel

New Years Eve had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, MO
May 31, 2010

Best bang for your buck

I doubt you could find a better hotel for the price & location in downtown Chicago. The rooms are smaller than the average room, but still spacious enough to be comfortable and have been updated recently. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 17, 2010

River Hotel/Club Quarters

I travel to Chicago annually. This was the best hotel for price, location, and ammeneties that I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the CTA from either airport. From Midway it's a straight shot. Metro stations are right around the corner from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lottie from New Orleans
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 24, 2010

Chicago RiverHotel

Very difficult to get to hotel since a movie was being filmed in front of hotel during our stay. Advance notice of that would have been helpful. once the filming cleared after two days, the location was perfect! Easy access to major sites. Staff was very helpful. Loved the complimentary purified water stations with bottles on every floor and the complimentary laudry facilities on our floor was convenient. Room was modern, clean, and efficent. Would definately recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lou Manati pizza on Wells and Illinois was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 12, 2010

Nice stay in dowtown

The River Hotel is a nice hotel in the middle of downtown Chicago. You can't beat the location nor the price. The wait time to check in, the small size of the room, and comfort of the beds was a little frustrating. However, everything was nice and clean. Overall, the staff was friendly. They also offered free printing of boarding passes and free bottled water! I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a multi-day pass from the CTA. There are many buses within a block and trains within 3 blocks of the hotel that can take you to all the main attractions in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa FL
Jun 19, 2010

Great location, good price!

Hotel is a great location, right on the river & 1/2 block from michigan ave! Easy check in & parking...our room was upgraded for no extra charge...even good pizza in the restaurant in the building!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dflygirl616
Business
Montrose, MI
Jun 19, 2010

Unbeatable location with a fair price!

Staff was willing & able to accomodate any issues we had. We had difficulties with the air conditioner the first night and told the front desk. They were willing to move us to another room but didn't have to. When we returned that evening it was all fixed and worked fine the rest of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amber Travel
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 27, 2010

River/Club Quarters Hotel

Great Hotel with a great Italian restaurant. Neat water bottle station on each floor. Secure elevators so only guests can come up. Quick to fix any problems you may have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 11, 2010

Great location

River Hotel is also known as Club Quarters...unbeatable location - right on the river and in walking distance of great restaurants, Millenium Park and the Art Institute. The hotel is a bit pricey but is clean, offers friendly service and valet parking. The rooms are a bit small but we were only in there for sleeping anyway. My daughters loved sharing the pull out sofa bed and the queen bed was comfortable for both my husband and I. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must go to Pizzeria Uno or Pizzeria Due for some Chicago style deep dish pan pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smesue
Business
atlanta, ga
Oct 19, 2009

Especially good for business travelers

This hotel was easy to get to (though the cab drivers know it as Club Quarters, not the River Hotel) and beautifully located. Although we didn't have a river view, we had a view of the Carbide and Carbon building that was very nice. The room and the unique two-tiered lobby seems very well set up for business travelers -- although this was a sightseeing trip for us, I'd definitely consider this place for a business trip. Everything was clean and pleasant. The restaurant onsite is excellent, too. My only complaint is that I booked a room with a queen and a sofa bed, and I only got the queen. The staff did not budge at all, though they did send a roller bed. Since that worked ok for us, and since there were literally no rooms available in downtown Chicago for that night (because of a big conference going on), I took it, but I wasn't happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top