$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Good but very small

The location is very ideal if you are looking for a hotel downtown on the Magnificent Mile. With that being said, the rooms are incredibly small and the elevator sometimes doesn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHANG H.
Business
Cupertino
Jan 14, 2015

Businessman

This is a very comfortable hotel. Especially enjoy the following items: coffee, purified water, bed,air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna G.
Business
Lafayette
Jan 14, 2015

fantastic experience loved it

It more than met our expectations, great view, friendly staff, great location. In walking distance to everything we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzy BL
Business
East Peoria
Dec 31, 2014

Elizabeth

The River Hotel was in a wonderful location for our needs. My daughter and I take a weekend every year to go to Chicago for shopping on Michigan Avenue and to see a play. This was right in between both. Our room was small but it was fine for our use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fl visitor 2014
Business
Waukesha
Dec 21, 2014

Convenient location

Great location, close to everything. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markie713
Business
Houston
Nov 30, 2014

Great Room and Great Location

Great room and great location. Price well. Rooms a bit small but clean and nice. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris the romantic
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Nov 9, 2014

Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cmmp
Business
PR
Nov 3, 2014

fall @ Chicago

It was a good hotel near The Loop, Chicago. With a great view of the river walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Oct 31, 2014

Great location for a great price

Excellent location along the Chicago River near Michigan Ave and a short stroll from several major "L" stops, this hotel offered an excellent value. Rooms have a nice size and layout--much larger than many comparably priced options in this part of the city--with very comfortable bedding and complementary additional amenities can be requested to aid your sleep, like a white noise generator (very useful in a noisy city like Chicago). Check in/out is super convenient if you don't want to deal with the front desk... there's a fully automated checkin kiosk area at the entrance (I didn't even realize there was a front desk at first--but they're there if you need them, and super friendly and helpful). I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All of Chicago's "L" lines converge within a couple short blocks of the location, making getting here, particularly from the airport lines (Orange-Midway, Blue-O'Hare) quick and easy, and you're in a perfect spot at the points where the Magnificent Mile, Loop, and River North areas converge, making many destinations walkable (or cab rides quick and cheap).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMKR
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 28, 2014

River Hotel, October 24-26, 2014

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW Had not stayed here before but liked it very much! Check-in was quick & easy as was check-out. Our room was very small & didn't have a nice view but we spent most of our time outside the hotel anyway. We were attracted by the relatively low price for the weekend and the location. It is just across the street from the river, a half-block away from Michigan Avenue, and is perfect for walking both north and south. Although we had expected to take taxis to restaurants, we found we could easily and safely walk to both restaurants where we had reservations. We did not try the restaurant in the hotel (all 3 meals + brunch on the weekends, with outdoor seating, as well), but we found a Corner Bakery (a favorite of ours) just a few steps from the hotel. The room we had was fine for our needs and it was nicely designed to accommodate its small size. The mattress was one of the best I've encountered anywhere. There was a free bottled-water machine on our floor and we used it quite a bit! Lovely lounge with free computers on the 2nd floor. We will definitely return! The only downside was parking, which is an issue for anyone in Chicago. There is parking available right next door at the Wyndham Hotel parking garage, at $60/night, reservations required. Public parking elsewhere seems equally pricey, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top