$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Jun 12, 2010

Chicago River Hotel

Location was great and a very reasonable price. I did not see or use the fitness room but everything else was top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Oct 19, 2010

river hotel chicago

Great location! Rooms were very nice, comfortable and new. Highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Blues and Jazz clubs north of the river, excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bklyn, NY
Jun 20, 2011

River

The staff was so helpful and courteous. No frills, but everything I needed. Loved the "Living Room" , free internet, and free filtered water bottles for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2010

Great Marathon stay

In town for the marathon. Great location! Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CINTIJACK
Business
CINCINNATI OH
Sep 25, 2010

SMALL IS BEAUTIFUL

This is my favorite hotel for weekend getaways. Centrally located, efficient, and inexpensive. The rooms are small. Neat, clean, modern but small. I love to come to Chicago for the Jazz Festival; so I don't spend much time in the room. This hotel is perfect if you prefer to spend your money on entertainment and food rather than a large room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crepe Bistro on N. Wells - great savory crepes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
resistance
Business
texas
Jul 20, 2009

river hotel

Dinner, parties, music, and shopping. The room was very nice, but not designed for 2 people but rather the single business traveler. Main complaint was no place to put suitcases and the closet had no light to see anything by. i would return because of location and comfort. Prefer north of there though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

free valet parking in hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Side
Jul 20, 2009

Our Day in the Big City!

We caught a play at the Goodman Theater - Boleros for the Disenchanted, had dinner at Fogo de Chao and ended the day with some smooth Jazz at Close up 2. We had a fantastic time! The play was great, highly recommend it, the food at Fogo needs to be experienced, and CU2 jazz club featured live music that was really good! The River Hotel was centrally located, we would definately consider staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 20, 2011

Perfect location, good hotel

Beautiful art deco decor mixed with modern and a great location make this a great hotel to stay during your trip to Chicago. The hotel is right across from the Trump tower, with the Chicago River separating it, and steps away from Michigan Ave. We would go have breakfast next door at the Corner Bakery every morning and just look around at the wonder that is downtown Chicago. Also, each floor had a bottled water refilling station. The downsides were that the beds and pillows were not that comfortable and the TV was very small. There was no iron or ironing board in the room, but they were located in a closet down the hall. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Corner Bakery next door for a quick breakfast before heading out for the day. Quite tasty and fairly quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael the Accountant
Business
Columbia SC
Dec 5, 2010

The River Hotel in Chicago

aAThe Hotel was great - we received an upgrade upon their discovery that it was our

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita D
Business
Coopertown (Nashville area), TN
Nov 10, 2010

Nice Downtown Value

I was in town for a conference. The River Hotel was 2 blocks from the conference location at a significant cost savings. I was able to relax in the room during the 1 1/2 hr that I had for lunch. The room was nicely laid out and decorated. I felt secure in the building (Your key was required to activate the elevator). It's level of service was not of the same standard of other full service hotels. But this is easily overlooked since I paid motel prices for a downtown hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant/bakery next door to the hotel and many meal options 1 block or more from the hotel. You can call ahead and your order will be waiting for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top