$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
354 reviews
Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem... See full review

  • Dank6
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great Stay

I had a fantastic day thanks to the view from this location, the proximity to everything in chicago... See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (354)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Bend, IN
Jun 21, 2011

Not bad, if you like it HOT........

Overall stay wasn't too bad. Our only complaint was the heat! The whole lobby/sitting area was just stifling hot and it didn't help that we had to wait out there for over 40 minutes for our room to be available even though it was past check in time. The hotel was very gracious about that though and comped our breakfast the next morning. Rooms were equally as hot and A/C didn't seem to be operating at full capacity. Rooms very nice and amenities galore.....would probably stay again, but hope for better HVAC in the next room! Our only other minor complaint were the beds - hard as a rock!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 21, 2011

Long Weekend in Chicago

This was my second trip to Chicago and my first with my husband. We were there to have our 'babymoon' since it was the last possible week advisable to travel by air. We wanted to stay downtown so we would have easy access to all the sites. This hotel really delivered! It was in a perfect location right next to the river where we could either hop a water taxi, bus, or regular taxi easily. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was very good but there was a Corner Bakery right next door if we wanted pastries. Two things really stood out. The hotel offered free laundry service on our floor. There was a washer and dryer recessed in the hallway (tucked out of site but notated with signs) that guests could use. Also, next to the elevator there was this nifty water cooler built into the wall and they provided plastic water bottles at no cost. The staff was very helpful and quick to respond to any question. This is definitely a place we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier was an inexpensive taxi ride away.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bklyn, NY
Jun 20, 2011

River

The staff was so helpful and courteous. No frills, but everything I needed. Loved the "Living Room" , free internet, and free filtered water bottles for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimmie j
Business
Ventura county, CA
Jun 17, 2011

Good Location

The location is very good. The staff excellent. Room clean, modern, comfortable, tho somewhat small, that is common in the hotels in this area. I would stay here again and have used them in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portillo's for quick good Chicago style casual food.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Jun 15, 2011

no security

n/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patriot1970
Slidell, LA
Jun 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was a GEM! Had the Jr. Suite which was ample room. Location was AWESOME, water taxi and tour bus pick up and drop off locations were just right accross the street. Very short walk to Millennium and Grant Parks. Short walk to shopping on State street and accross the river from the Magnificent Mile shopping. A little further to Navy Pier, but walkable. Never needed a taxi. Staff was very helpful and available 24 hours a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Paul, MN
May 30, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

We've stayed at the Club Quarters a few times and love it! It's a great location, only blocks from the El and Michigan avenue. Additional, the hotel is clean, stylish and next to some of Chicago's best pizza, Bella Bacino's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is only steps from the Magnificent Mile - Chicago's premium shopping district.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WoodWorks
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 26, 2011

Great Experience

Hotel Employee's were both friendly and attentive. The over-all experience was very good and I plan to stay there in the future. VERY affordable with a clean and centralized location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
May 24, 2011

FANTASTIC LOCATION FOR AN AWESOME PRICE!

This was a fantastic place to stay for 3 ladies from a small farming community who were not familiar with the area. The staff was wonderful, immediate check-in and check out, clean room, huge bath area, comfortable sleeping arrangements. The location couldn't have been better - just down one block from Michigan Avenue. Bella Bacino's has a terrific menu and moderate prices. Delicious food. The stay was a true experience and we will definitely return to this hotel and will be highly recommended to friends and family to travel to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 20, 2011

Great location at a terrific price

The River Hotel is also a Guest Quarters, so if you know that brand you'll be familiar with the setup. I stayed four nights, starting on a Sunday night. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was perfect, if small, for a single traveler who doesn't need a lot. It was very clean. As to size, it was narrow, with only about 18 inches on each side of a double bed between the bed and the wall. Room came with a medium sized flat panel TV on a swivel, table, chair, in-room coffee-maker which I didn't use, and a bathroom with a full-sized shower stall, no tub. The room also came with free wifi (no hardwire connection) and other amenities could be had (a closet in the hall had items for guests like extra pillows, irons, etc). I found the location of the hotel to be one of it's best features. I was close to a different hotel where there was a conference I attended for two days and then also very close to many downtown Chicago office buildings where I had business meetings on the other two days. On the last day I also visited Millenium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago, which were about a 10-12 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Going out the door, just around the corner on the right, is the Corner Bakery. Great place to get breakfast (eat-in or take-out). I had the oatmeal twice and eggs a third time. All were good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search