$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Circle
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Quiet, clean, and tidy room on the 23rd floor

This hotel offers what one can hope for: Quick and nice room service, helpful staff at the reception, great restaurant for dinner and breakfast on the ground floor, free wi-fi, free computers with internet access, and free printer. All of that in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLiCE13.1
Business
Indiana
Feb 11, 2012

Parking cost a plus, "gym" a minus.

Warning-- gym is a couple treadmills and some weights in a tiny room in the basement. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice to have filtered water available. Parking was a great deal-- $24/night in a garage one block away. Awesome view from the room, and the location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

ROOF on theWit is just around the corner-- friendly staff, amazing views, nice atmosphere (more conducive to meeting other singes than Trump's Rebar or Sable) and good drinks. If you're a beer drinker, BEST selection at a dive called "Local Option" in Lincoln Park. Monk's Pub has an awesome draught selection as well and is within walking distance- Wells and Lake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
99BT
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great weekend getaway in downtown

Great location to transit for so many attractions that Chicago has to offer. My room (very eco-friendly!!) had a beautiful view of the river. Friendly staff, very helpful with any questions I had about getting around Chicago. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bacino's, their restaurant, was very good with very reasonable prices, great staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago/ South Bend Trip

Friendly staff. Clean/ comfortable room (although they could do a bit better job cleaning the room each day). Great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Short train ride away from nearly everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jab1987
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 19, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly, and the room was affordable. Also, it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a shuttle to McCormick place for a conference, walk down the street to the Hyatt Chicago and they have shuttles that run to the conference center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colotilly
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Mom/Daughter Getaway

Both my 23-year old daughter and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Restaurant was very good, lots to see and do within walking distance. Hotel has a lively atmosphere. We felt like we were in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the architecture all around you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Oct 10, 2011

Beautiful room, great location

We were met as we went through the entry door by a clerk who completed our registration in less than a minute, at a computer terminal in the wall of the main hallway. We went directly to our room. The room, like most old hotels was small, but the entire hotel had been recently totally redone/modernized and the room was very-cleverly and very-attractively done. It was very functional and the hotel provided many thoughtful amenities that were free--for instance a chilled, distilled water dispenser (with bottles) in each floor's elevator lobby and two free washers and dryers for guests' use as well as free wifi and wired internet connections, flat-screen TV and very-complete work desk. The decoration was very attractive and the bed comfortable. The location right on the Chicago River and just off Michigan Ave. is unbeatable. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and in the hotel next door. There are probably ten very-good restaurants within two blocks (five minutes) of the hotel. This was our first stay there, but it won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
former midwesterner
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Weekend getaway

Nice easy check in and check out. They did have the water station on our floor so we were able to fill up our water bottles. They had empty water bottles, too, if you need them. It was great to be so close to Michigan Ave. We walked everywhere - to Navy Pier for the Octoberfest and fireworks, to Millenium Park, even to Sears/Willis Tower. We flew into Midway and took the Orange line in. The hotel was only a few blocks away from the State and Lake station. Very convenient. We had one of the smaller rooms in the hotel (pretty tight for 2 of us), but it was enough. All we did was sleep and shower. We were on the 4th floor and the water pressure in the shower was pretty weak. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenJane
Business
Minnesota
Oct 3, 2011

Excellent Girls Weekend

Great location to get to Magnificant Mile, excellent food in the restaurant. Regular rooms are abit small. We had the 1 bedroom suite and it was nice to have the room. Very quiet on our floor. Would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent distance for shopping, near river boat ride, go to Ditka's, Cafe Lux, and Corner Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenJane
Business
Minnesota
Oct 3, 2011

Excellent Girls Weekend

Great location to get to Magnificant Mile, excellent food in the restaurant. Regular rooms are abit small. We had the 1 bedroom suite and it was nice to have the room. Very quiet on our floor. Would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent distance for shopping, near river boat ride, go to Ditka's, Cafe Lux, and Corner Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top