$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
coach mcd
Business
herrin, ill
Sep 3, 2012

not worth the cost

toilet would not flush, was fixed but not cleaned, shorted towel and washcloth, one coffee cup left on floor after room was cleaned,bathroom floor dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conlippert
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Aug 29, 2012

Perfect Room in a perfect location

Business class with all you could ask for packed into one room. Pillows and comfy comforter were perfect and the sheets were soft. Staff is friendly and helpful. This is the second time I've stayed at the River Hotel and I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public Transportation in Chicago is easy and fun.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sicily Tony
Business
NY NY
Aug 26, 2012

No Iron and AC sucked

Have you ever been to a hotel where you have to go in the hall and get an iron? Also the AC in the room was hot and the room was hot the whole time I was there. I called but they would not do anything to make it better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
allenkoch
Business
knoxville, tn
Aug 23, 2012

Customers service nightmare

2nd time it happend. No help at all with reservations or changes. Made to feel i was lucky to stay there. Very competitive hotel biz in Chicago...you would think they would try harder. Bad choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
Business
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
verhka
Business
Lima, OH
Aug 20, 2012

Great Location room is a bit cramped...

I'm guessing this is just because of the price range I was in, and the fact that I only needed one bed. But I paid $189 + tax, and the room was incredibly small. They had a queen size bed jammed into the room, and the width of the room was only 12" - 18" longer then the length of the bed. It was just too tight for my liking, but then again, that was probably mainly due to the fact that I was there by myself, paid the price that I did, and booked the room last minute. Probably perfect for your typical business person. I also always sleep with a fan blowing, and this room had a nice and loud A/C, which you can control whether it's on or off. I preferred it to be on and as loud as possible. Overall, decent room, nice staff, cramped room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sicily Tony
Business
NY NY
Aug 20, 2012

Room problems

First the AC in the room was hot and I was told OUR GUEST DONT LIKE IT COOL IN THE ROOM> well 72 in a room is not cool. Next the last two days there they didnt even clean my room but make the bed and towels. I had to call for soap and they didnt take out the trash. Not worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Banks
Business
Atlanta
Aug 20, 2012

Great for Weekend Stay

This was a great hotel value! The location is very convenient to many Chicago landmarks for weekend stays. Just the right level of ammenities. Close to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, State Street, Sears Tower, many theaters, etc. Rooms are small but very clean and efficient. Beds are firm and comfy. Loved the bottled water availability, business center, extra pillows, etc. Lounge was great! Travelled here for leisure Reunion that included events 3-4 miles north, and 1.5 miles south. Never needed a car (or parking). Took public transportation and cabs to everything (saved hundreds).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tleporter
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 11, 2012

The Perfect Location

The location was perfect. 5 minute walk to anything. Rooms were a little on the small side, but we weren't in it but to sleep. Very courteous and helpful staff. Restaurant attached to hotel had excellent breakfast menu/food. Had a great Chicago experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, cheap hamburgers at the Billy Goat Tavern!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IrinaMoscow
Business
Russia Moscow
Aug 10, 2012

River Hotel

The location s perfect. It's near Millenium park, the river, restaurants and so on. The bed is comfortable, hot tea in the room was very nice, I could see the river from my room and it was not noisy. And that's a good bonus to use computers and to have purified water in the hotel! I enjoyed my staying in River Hotel and would recommend it to my friends going to Chicago for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top