$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
priyatham
Business
Manassas, VA
Jul 9, 2012

Downtown Experience

decent hotel with all basic amenities. Wish they had an iron...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the City's Architectural Boat Tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctorsteve
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 1, 2012

Great location, would stay again.

The hotel and staff have a refined, pleasant air. Room was small but clean and lightly but modernly furnished. MORE than worth the price and I would definitely stay again. Free wi-fi and chilled, purified bottled water dispensers on each floor. Located right in the heart of downtown, next to bus lines and just a couple short blocks to the subway/train system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try out Rick Bayless' XOCO restaurant on N. Clark. It's a middlish walk, but worth it. I wanted to go to Frontera Grill, but they're quite busy. XOCO was a great runner-up experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bacon man
Business
Edwardsburg, MI
Jun 28, 2012

Chicago in a day and a half

Great location, friendly helpful staff. Very nice room - we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite. No view but nice arrangement for our party, couple plus nephew. Loved the bathroom tile. Good restaurant with outside seating. 5 min. walk to boat tours and water taxi, close to Loop and River North area. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lily mary
Business
Hatillo, Puerto Rico
May 31, 2012

Excellent family vacation

The hotel has an excellent view and location. The room was comfort. The price was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk distance from grand park and train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patts
Business
New York
May 30, 2012

Fantastic location, comfy beds!

Fantastic location & comfy beds made our stay very enjoyable! Chicago was an amazing city. and this hotel was right in the middle of all the attractions we wanted to visit. only negative? The room was pretty small and the price was a little high for what we got. But other than that, a lovely little hotel. Found the restaurant over priced, and the food was alright for these prices, we only ate dinner there once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the chicago city pass!!! :D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KFW Buffalo
Business
Buffalo New York
May 14, 2012

River Hotel Review

Great Hotel in the heart of downtown and close to everything. Hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. Very good atmosphere for business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essiey
Business
Green Bay Wisconsin
May 11, 2012

beautiful

Fantastic location. The riverwalk is just across the street. I priced this place out with many others. River Hotel includes many things in their base price (like internet) that other places charge extra for. Staff was pleasant, but not rah-rah, which I appreciate. Orb!tz mislabled the room types on their website. I needed 2 beds and paid for the room labeled standard- queen. It should read, standard OR queen and I had to pay $20 extra for every night to get what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
really924
Business
NY
Mar 30, 2012

Weekend in chicago

Was satisfied with my stay and I liked the window view I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt from Madison
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 23, 2012

Great value & location

Good quality hotel with superior location. Staff were friendly and at the desk. Only 3/5 since I didn't run into any other staff during my trip. Room was clean & ammenities were nice. Would recommend as a good value for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rick Bayless has a few places nearby - the food was fantastic! Well worth the experience to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crrohlf
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great hotel. Great location.

We stayed here over the St. Patty's Day weekend. We had a great room overlooking the Chicago River. The hotel is located near top tourist destinations, great restaurants, and lots of shops. Rooms are cozy, but the customer service was excellent. I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top