River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Boutique hotel located on the Chicago River. Just one block north is the Magnificent Mile - famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center - Grant Park - and Marina City. The River Hotel provides- Safe - restricted entry Instant registration and check out Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel Club Lounge with complimentary refreshments Onsite restaurant and bar Multi-menu in room dining options through onsite restaurant bar and many local restaurants. Refrigerator and microwave available Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water Meeting and event rooms available Free use of computer printer Ergonomic workstations State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding Contemporary furnishings Flat panel HD TVs Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hour guest service desk Fitness room Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request Corporate Apartments available

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sicily Tony
Business
NY NY
Aug 26, 2012

No Iron and AC sucked

Have you ever been to a hotel where you have to go in the hall and get an iron? Also the AC in the room was hot and the room was hot the whole time I was there. I called but they would not do anything to make it better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
allenkoch
Business
knoxville, tn
Aug 23, 2012

Customers service nightmare

2nd time it happend. No help at all with reservations or changes. Made to feel i was lucky to stay there. Very competitive hotel biz in Chicago...you would think they would try harder. Bad choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 21, 2012

Fantastic Business Centre Hotel

This is a fantastic business centre hotel. This business centre facilities can be accessed 24/7 and the staff are very helpful with any assistance if required, like scanning documents to be emailed overseas during the early hours of the morning. Also the location is perfect. We were happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
Business
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
verhka
Business
Lima, OH
Aug 20, 2012

Great Location room is a bit cramped...

I'm guessing this is just because of the price range I was in, and the fact that I only needed one bed. But I paid $189 + tax, and the room was incredibly small. They had a queen size bed jammed into the room, and the width of the room was only 12" - 18" longer then the length of the bed. It was just too tight for my liking, but then again, that was probably mainly due to the fact that I was there by myself, paid the price that I did, and booked the room last minute. Probably perfect for your typical business person. I also always sleep with a fan blowing, and this room had a nice and loud A/C, which you can control whether it's on or off. I preferred it to be on and as loud as possible. Overall, decent room, nice staff, cramped room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sicily Tony
Business
NY NY
Aug 20, 2012

Room problems

First the AC in the room was hot and I was told OUR GUEST DONT LIKE IT COOL IN THE ROOM> well 72 in a room is not cool. Next the last two days there they didnt even clean my room but make the bed and towels. I had to call for soap and they didnt take out the trash. Not worth the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Banks
Business
Atlanta
Aug 20, 2012

Great for Weekend Stay

This was a great hotel value! The location is very convenient to many Chicago landmarks for weekend stays. Just the right level of ammenities. Close to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, State Street, Sears Tower, many theaters, etc. Rooms are small but very clean and efficient. Beds are firm and comfy. Loved the bottled water availability, business center, extra pillows, etc. Lounge was great! Travelled here for leisure Reunion that included events 3-4 miles north, and 1.5 miles south. Never needed a car (or parking). Took public transportation and cabs to everything (saved hundreds).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tleporter
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 11, 2012

The Perfect Location

The location was perfect. 5 minute walk to anything. Rooms were a little on the small side, but we weren't in it but to sleep. Very courteous and helpful staff. Restaurant attached to hotel had excellent breakfast menu/food. Had a great Chicago experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, cheap hamburgers at the Billy Goat Tavern!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IrinaMoscow
Business
Russia Moscow
Aug 10, 2012

River Hotel

The location s perfect. It's near Millenium park, the river, restaurants and so on. The bed is comfortable, hot tea in the room was very nice, I could see the river from my room and it was not noisy. And that's a good bonus to use computers and to have purified water in the hotel! I enjoyed my staying in River Hotel and would recommend it to my friends going to Chicago for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Dog 2020
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 30, 2012

Perfect location to everthing on Magic Mile

Hotel was centrally located to michigan mile which meant we could walk almost everywhere that we needed to get to. Price was reasonable for location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a great hotel in downtown chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top