River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
380 reviews
Great

We had a great experience staying at this hotel. Would definitely look into staying here on our... See full review

  • Shelby B.
  • Jul 29, 2015
First Chicago experience

Perfect place for downtown Chicago walking distance to so many attractions in the Chicago down to area See full review

  • Javier A.
  • Jul 24, 2015

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Property features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Nearby attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Single/Small Double -Non-smoking smaller room with queen bed, work station, free fast Wi-Fi, free bottled water, Keurig with coffee and tea
Standard Room
Standard Room - Custom designed room with queen bed, work station, free fast Wi-Fi, free bottled water, Keurig with coffee and tea
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Superior Room with Kitchenette - Non-smoking spacious room with queen bed, free fast Wi-Fi, free bottled water, Keurig with coffee and tea
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
One Room Suite with Kitchenette - Larger room with kitchenette, 1 queen bed, free fast Wi-Fi, free bottled water, Keurig w coffee/tea
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Two Room Suite with Kitchenette - Non-smoking 2-room suite with 1 bedroom, living room with sofa bed, two full bathrooms, free fast Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spatel113
Friends
CT
Apr 9, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Cons: The room was very small, with just enough room for a full size bed and a very small desk. Shower pressure was very low, and the position of the shower head was difficult to adjust, in order to avoid getting bathroom floor wet. While checking in, we were switched to a room with a view of the river. However, the window was very small and was partially blocked by a wall, so we were unable to appreciate the view. Pros: Free water bottle coolers. Free wifi Pizza restaurant downstairs was convenient and good food. Good location Rooms were clean Free computers to use and free printing on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artsy Wanderluster
Couples
Wisconsin
Apr 2, 2013

Great place, great price

Came here for a last minute weekend getaway. Loved it! It's close to everything we wanted to do - shopping, good restaurants, museums. The beds aren't too comfortable and the single rooms are pretty small, but the price is right - especially if you're planning on staying busy in the city during your visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Andy's Jazz Club on W Hubbard

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BruceFan23
Couples
Naperville IL
Mar 27, 2013

Great place to be in the heart of everything

My wife and I stayed there for a Friday night and when I had booked the room I had a confirmation for a queen size bed. When I got to the room I found out it was two twins. I called down to the front desk and before I even got off the elevator they had my next room set up. Minor inconvenience but they handled it fine. Nice touch with having a spring water system with bottles on the floors. Very European style hotel-They maximize the space given with the room. I would recommend this to a weekend traveler who would be spending more time in the city than in the room. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Nice value considering the location is prime-Right by South Michigan Ave, State Street, el lines and tons of cabs, restaurants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toonces93
Family
Wheaton, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal location, great value

When you see the name of a hotel you've never heard of, at an incredibly good price, you might wonder if its a scary roach motel. Have no fear, The River Hotel is anything but. Check in was quick and easy, the building is secure (the bellmen see everyone who comes through the small entrance, the elevators can only be run with key card), and once you arrive in your room, the furnishings are new and the room is impeccably clean. While the room is not large, it is adequate for two people. The bedding is not luxurious, but it is comfortable, there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, and a chilled water machine is just steps down the hall. The TV is not huge but works fine and offers Direct TV. The room temperature was easy to control, and noise was not an issue. We slept great. The location is fabulous, steps from t he foot of the Michigan Avenue bridge. It's an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, the river walk and Millenium Park and much more. Because this is a well traveled area we felt safe coming and going from the hotel. For easy access to all Chicago has to offer, you cannot beat The River Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Pedro
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2013

Top of the Loop

Perfectly situated across the river from the Wrigley and Tribune buildings, the River Hotel is an excellent bargain for travelers who wish to be the near the iconic architecture of Chicago. The hotel is clean, it has all the amenities for business travelers or tourists, and the staff is great. All for under $100/night. I could not be happier with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a good guidebook on Chicago architecture (I used " Chicago's Famous Buildings" 5th ed, by Schulze and Harrington.) and create your own walking tour.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aya M
Family
Hanover MI
Mar 18, 2013

Good weekend getaway

We booked this hotel for St Patty's day weekend.Perfect spot on the river!! Very convenient to all kinds of entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beasley likes to travel
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 10, 2013

Impressed

I was suspicious of the great rate in downtown Chicago, but the location was accessible and beautiful, the room and lounge comfortable, and the amenities (free bottled water, wifi, printing, snacks, coffee, laundry) truly remarkable. The hotel is right on the river; for $15 more per night I was offered a room twice the size and right on the water, but even the cheap room had a view from the corner and was plenty of room for one person. Easy walk to shopping, restaurants, museums but the water location was worth the pleasant extra blocks of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougNYC
Single
New York
Feb 28, 2013

Great Deal

Great location. Room is small but very well and cleverly laid out, so that even with a big bed and a business desk, there's room to get around, and you don't feel cramped. Beautifully, stylishly and tastefully decorated, clean, attractive and comfortable. For the price, I was exceptionally pleased with this deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olga the frog
Couples
monterey
Feb 27, 2013

A good hotel in a good location

This hotel is close to everything! Close to major attractions and means of transportation, with a view to the river. Clean rooms, great service, polite staff. I liked the idea of the lounge, where you can sit, watch something on TV and have a cup of complimentary coffee, tea or water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery cafe that's right next to the hotel!!!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackyxiv
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 11, 2013

good experience

very good location, right on the Chicago river. my room is queen bed. room is small, but well equipped. free wi-fi. the bed is comfortable. The front desk is efficient and polite. I think it is a good deal for $103 per night including tax. The hotel room card is bit of tricky. You have to insert it to operate elevator. The little arrow pattern on the card is too small compared with the big green background with a foot pattern on it. I missed the arrow at the very beginning and could not open my door by insert it upside down. I called the housekeeping to open the door for me. The housekeeping was very polite though. overall, it was a good experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top