$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
566 reviews
Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty,... See full review

  • Bigredcincinnati
  • Jun 2, 2014
Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and... See full review

  • Macha
  • Apr 29, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (566)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
566 out of 566
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley B
il
Jul 7, 2014

Great stay

The location of this hotel is fantastic if you want to walk up and down Michigan Ave or State St. There was a small hiccup in our stay but the front desk staff were overly accommodating and fixed the issue the best they could. Valet parking is next door and a great price. Plan on going back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet parking is cheaper next door the an anywhere else. You also have unlimited in and out access which makes it the ultimate deal.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenbrowndog
chicago
Jul 1, 2014

poor place

poor handling of situation with pets that they said we could have and then did not allow and did not let us cancel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

fulton market kitchen

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess and mike
St. Paul, MN
Jun 24, 2014

excellent view but tiny room

The best part of our stay was the location/view, but it wasn't easy getting there. We were told to park at a nearby parking garage that had cheaper rates than any other hotel. The parking garage was extremely difficult for us to locate using our phones -- all the buildings messed with our gps signals, there are many streets with very similar sounfing names (i.e. east wacker, north wacker) and it was hard to reach anyone via phone to tell us how to get there. I'd recommend scouting out the location in advance! We had a corner room that is one of the smallest I've been in. The one window was about 20 inches wide, but the view from the window was definitely worthwhile. Looking out over the river and all its bridges reminded me of Venice in a way. We loved the location, as we could hit many of the attractions on foot if you're in the right footwear. We walked to the Hancock tower for a gorgeous night time city view, but I definitely switched from heels to flip flops halfway there. The next morning was perfect for walking to millennium park. My boyfriend tells me the best part of the trip was sitting outside at the outdoor hotel cafe at the end of the night. They let us stay sitting out there even after bar close, which was nice. As for our room, it felt more like a modest business room than the romantic getaway we were hoping for. The space was pretty tight for hanging out but fine for a single business traveler or a couple of tourists just needing a place to crash. It was mostly clean but the window had a thick layer of cobwebs on the outside. The bathroom was small but sufficient, with a walk - in shower instead of a bathtub. All in all, we'd go there again but probably ask first about the room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy a formal night out at tge hancock tower, with a romantic walk of the city by packing comfy shoes (flip flops) then switching into heels when you arrive.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caliegirl
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2014

Great Location!

The front desk staff during the day is amazing. Great location. Valet parking is very pricey and lower priced hotel room plus valet averages about what you would pay other places. Room very comfortable and clean. Business center free services are very convenient and they think about the extras and perfect for the business traveler. (Chargers, computers, free printing, etc).Food at little place next door is very fresh and service is also very good. I have stayed there two times and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the appetizer coupons from the front desk and you can walk to several places and it cuts your bill in half if just 2 or 3 people in your group. Wish I had known about it last time I went. This time I used two of the coupons and the appetizers were a meal in themself!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnonymousDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 9, 2014

Clean, professional. great deal

I stayed at this hotel for one night after a few nights in a much fancier place. I wasn't going to be at the hotel much, so figured a decent bed and shower would suffice. The lobby, location, and staff were great. The bed was fine, but the bedding definitely had a cheaper-than-Hilton feel to it. I would equate this place to a nicer Holiday Inn, not quite a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bigredcincinnati
Business
Cincinnati
Jun 2, 2014

Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty, this place is newly remodeled and trendy looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macha
IA
Apr 29, 2014

Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and delivery service to your room. Great place and would love to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tones of international cuisines to try out just a walk away

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenX01
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic location

Nice downtown hotel located next to the Chicago river. Walking distance to everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio available in the warmer weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The emerald loop bar is open late and is very close the hotel. Other restaurant bars are only open to 11pm. I arrived in Chicago at 10:30 and wasn't up for a long journey away from the hotel

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red 51
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 26, 2014

Best deal, great value AND with 5 star service

We booked this hotel based on location and best price. Couldn't have gotten better value for a newer, trendy looking hotel that is a block off Michigan ave. Easy walk to River North bars/restaurants and Mich. Ave. shopping. In addition, the staff was of the quality you would expect from a 5 star hotel! I forgot my iPhone charger & one of the guys ran out to his car to let me borrow his. We requested a crib at check in and it was in our room before we even made it up the elevator ourselves. We would def stay here again & would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top