$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artsy Wanderluster
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 2, 2013

Great place, great price

Came here for a last minute weekend getaway. Loved it! It's close to everything we wanted to do - shopping, good restaurants, museums. The beds aren't too comfortable and the single rooms are pretty small, but the price is right - especially if you're planning on staying busy in the city during your visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Andy's Jazz Club on W Hubbard

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosie N Bates
Business
Birmingham
Mar 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Staff was great! Catered to all my needs. Had a free washer and dryer for my use. It was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BruceFan23
Business
Naperville IL
Mar 27, 2013

Great place to be in the heart of everything

My wife and I stayed there for a Friday night and when I had booked the room I had a confirmation for a queen size bed. When I got to the room I found out it was two twins. I called down to the front desk and before I even got off the elevator they had my next room set up. Minor inconvenience but they handled it fine. Nice touch with having a spring water system with bottles on the floors. Very European style hotel-They maximize the space given with the room. I would recommend this to a weekend traveler who would be spending more time in the city than in the room. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Nice value considering the location is prime-Right by South Michigan Ave, State Street, el lines and tons of cabs, restaurants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toonces93
Business
Wheaton, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal location, great value

When you see the name of a hotel you've never heard of, at an incredibly good price, you might wonder if its a scary roach motel. Have no fear, The River Hotel is anything but. Check in was quick and easy, the building is secure (the bellmen see everyone who comes through the small entrance, the elevators can only be run with key card), and once you arrive in your room, the furnishings are new and the room is impeccably clean. While the room is not large, it is adequate for two people. The bedding is not luxurious, but it is comfortable, there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, and a chilled water machine is just steps down the hall. The TV is not huge but works fine and offers Direct TV. The room temperature was easy to control, and noise was not an issue. We slept great. The location is fabulous, steps from t he foot of the Michigan Avenue bridge. It's an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, the river walk and Millenium Park and much more. Because this is a well traveled area we felt safe coming and going from the hotel. For easy access to all Chicago has to offer, you cannot beat The River Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Pedro
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2013

Top of the Loop

Perfectly situated across the river from the Wrigley and Tribune buildings, the River Hotel is an excellent bargain for travelers who wish to be the near the iconic architecture of Chicago. The hotel is clean, it has all the amenities for business travelers or tourists, and the staff is great. All for under $100/night. I could not be happier with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a good guidebook on Chicago architecture (I used " Chicago's Famous Buildings" 5th ed, by Schulze and Harrington.) and create your own walking tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aya M
Business
Hanover MI
Mar 18, 2013

Good weekend getaway

We booked this hotel for St Patty's day weekend.Perfect spot on the river!! Very convenient to all kinds of entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beasley likes to travel
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Mar 10, 2013

Impressed

I was suspicious of the great rate in downtown Chicago, but the location was accessible and beautiful, the room and lounge comfortable, and the amenities (free bottled water, wifi, printing, snacks, coffee, laundry) truly remarkable. The hotel is right on the river; for $15 more per night I was offered a room twice the size and right on the water, but even the cheap room had a view from the corner and was plenty of room for one person. Easy walk to shopping, restaurants, museums but the water location was worth the pleasant extra blocks of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougNYC
Business
New York
Feb 28, 2013

Great Deal

Great location. Room is small but very well and cleverly laid out, so that even with a big bed and a business desk, there's room to get around, and you don't feel cramped. Beautifully, stylishly and tastefully decorated, clean, attractive and comfortable. For the price, I was exceptionally pleased with this deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olga the frog
Business
monterey
Feb 27, 2013

A good hotel in a good location

This hotel is close to everything! Close to major attractions and means of transportation, with a view to the river. Clean rooms, great service, polite staff. I liked the idea of the lounge, where you can sit, watch something on TV and have a cup of complimentary coffee, tea or water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery cafe that's right next to the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackyxiv
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 11, 2013

good experience

very good location, right on the Chicago river. my room is queen bed. room is small, but well equipped. free wi-fi. the bed is comfortable. The front desk is efficient and polite. I think it is a good deal for $103 per night including tax. The hotel room card is bit of tricky. You have to insert it to operate elevator. The little arrow pattern on the card is too small compared with the big green background with a foot pattern on it. I missed the arrow at the very beginning and could not open my door by insert it upside down. I called the housekeeping to open the door for me. The housekeeping was very polite though. overall, it was a good experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top