$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anell
Couples
Madison, WI
Feb 11, 2014

Great location and price

This is our second time staying at the River Hotel and it's our new go-to hotel for Chicago. The hotel itself is nice and very clean. Our room was small, but it's not like we would have used more room anyway. The most important thing is that it was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use "Lyft" on your mobile phone for rides instead of taxi's! So much easier to get around the city and much cheaper.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flaccus
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 6, 2014

Good value, location

Nothing fancy here, but comfortable with everything I needed. Good location, good price. I would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Kid
Couples
Houston, TX
Jan 5, 2014

Winter Vacation

Personnel were great and friendly from the moment we walked in the door. Room Service came semi early but that was only "issue." Other than that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeRoyIII
Couples
Detroit, MI
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel for visiting Chicago

The positive: The location is perfect, right on the river, within walking distance of the Chicago Art Museum, Millenium Park, Miracle Mile shopping, great restaurants, etc. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The attached restaurant/bar is very good. The room includes filtered water, a small fridge and microwave, coffee maker, and there is complementary coffee and expresso in the lounge. The only negative really was that there was an unsightly large tear in the couch in the sitting area. Not good for their image.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The newly opened Eataly, with many vendors and restaurants, is a fun outing.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple whose kid Free
Couples
Columbus, In
Dec 10, 2013

Cold room

Room freezing, took 3 hours to heat after they changed the batteries on the thermostat! Vending broke on our floor, and they didn't seem to eager to fix it. Location in the heart of the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Cut was pricey and a little too loud to enjoy.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattysDayParty
Couples
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2013

Birthday Trip

Went to Chicago for my girlfriend's birthday. Checked in early and received a complementary upgrade. The location was perfect and the view from the room was amazing! The room size was generous, complete with a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, and desk. I also liked the filtered water and complementary bottles available. All this at an amazing price. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mkm55
Friends
Leawood, Kansas
Oct 22, 2013

Great time

Great location, friendly staff, nice size. This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel and will stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
music lover 1
Friends
Chicago, Il
Oct 8, 2013

great location

We booked this hotel mainly for the location, we went to a concert at the House of Blues and it was perfect. We were within walking distance not only from the House of Blues but also places to eat also. The hotel was very nice, very clean, and all the members of the staff that we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The bathroom was a little small but not unbearably so. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy V.
Family
Cadillac, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Very helpful for tourists

Staff was excellent (very helpful to tourists, upgraded our room due to a small mistake, etc.). Love the water bottles/filtered water in the hallways...so convienent. Great location to get to everywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Going To Chicago
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 25, 2013

Good BARGAIN hotel

I reserved this room as part of a nice package from this site. Summary: 1. In a GREAT location (near my business needs and the Art Institute / Michigan Ave.). 2. GREAT views. 3. Pedro (very friendly) changed my room to a river view, but the room was small with a tiny sealed window. 4. Room lacked some amenities (e.g. no in-room iron, no separate chair for sitting, no Chicago dining guides), and was DUSTY. Wasn't happy about that. 5. The staff were friendly enough, but missing that something extra you expect from a hotel with a premium location. Visit the Monaco for an idea of what a nice stay is all about. 6. For one night, it was fine. It was very close to my conference and centrally located to CHI nightlife. I would shop other hotels first before returning here, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise is one of the SINGLE BEST tourist attractions I have ever experienced. I've been on the tour at least 3 times, and find it fascinating. Well worth the time, and when combined with viewing the modern art collection at the Art Institute (not too far of a walk away), it makes for a great day of tourist activity in this fun city.

Back to menu Return to top