$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
398 out of 398
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeRoyIII
Business
Detroit, MI
Dec 14, 2013

Great hotel for visiting Chicago

The positive: The location is perfect, right on the river, within walking distance of the Chicago Art Museum, Millenium Park, Miracle Mile shopping, great restaurants, etc. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The attached restaurant/bar is very good. The room includes filtered water, a small fridge and microwave, coffee maker, and there is complementary coffee and expresso in the lounge. The only negative really was that there was an unsightly large tear in the couch in the sitting area. Not good for their image.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The newly opened Eataly, with many vendors and restaurants, is a fun outing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple whose kid Free
Business
Columbus, In
Dec 10, 2013

Cold room

Room freezing, took 3 hours to heat after they changed the batteries on the thermostat! Vending broke on our floor, and they didn't seem to eager to fix it. Location in the heart of the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Cut was pricey and a little too loud to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nucky Thompson
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Nov 11, 2013

Perfect Getaway

For our first trip to Chicago my husband and I stayed at the River Hotel. It was perfectly located. We did not rent a car, and were able to walk to most attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattysDayParty
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2013

Birthday Trip

Went to Chicago for my girlfriend's birthday. Checked in early and received a complementary upgrade. The location was perfect and the view from the room was amazing! The room size was generous, complete with a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, and desk. I also liked the filtered water and complementary bottles available. All this at an amazing price. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mkm55
Business
Leawood, Kansas
Oct 22, 2013

Great time

Great location, friendly staff, nice size. This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel and will stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
music lover 1
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 8, 2013

great location

We booked this hotel mainly for the location, we went to a concert at the House of Blues and it was perfect. We were within walking distance not only from the House of Blues but also places to eat also. The hotel was very nice, very clean, and all the members of the staff that we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The bathroom was a little small but not unbearably so. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy V.
Business
Cadillac, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Very helpful for tourists

Staff was excellent (very helpful to tourists, upgraded our room due to a small mistake, etc.). Love the water bottles/filtered water in the hallways...so convienent. Great location to get to everywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Going To Chicago
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 25, 2013

Good BARGAIN hotel

I reserved this room as part of a nice package from this site. Summary: 1. In a GREAT location (near my business needs and the Art Institute / Michigan Ave.). 2. GREAT views. 3. Pedro (very friendly) changed my room to a river view, but the room was small with a tiny sealed window. 4. Room lacked some amenities (e.g. no in-room iron, no separate chair for sitting, no Chicago dining guides), and was DUSTY. Wasn't happy about that. 5. The staff were friendly enough, but missing that something extra you expect from a hotel with a premium location. Visit the Monaco for an idea of what a nice stay is all about. 6. For one night, it was fine. It was very close to my conference and centrally located to CHI nightlife. I would shop other hotels first before returning here, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise is one of the SINGLE BEST tourist attractions I have ever experienced. I've been on the tour at least 3 times, and find it fascinating. Well worth the time, and when combined with viewing the modern art collection at the Art Institute (not too far of a walk away), it makes for a great day of tourist activity in this fun city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Happy
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2013

Great first time in Chicago

This was a great place to stay for my first trip to Chicago. The location is prime, located right across the bridge from the main shopping area and right on the edge of downtown. Almost everywhere we went was in walking distance, and it was close enough to the transit system that we could take the light rail from Midway Airport to get here. The only complaint I have was that the rooms were a little small, but the view more than made up for it - overlooking the Chicago river with a gorgeous view of the skyline. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
Business
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top