$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
361 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Boutique hotel located on the Chicago River. Just one block north is the Magnificent Mile - famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center - Grant Park - and Marina City. The River Hotel provides- Safe - restricted entry Instant registration and check out Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel Club Lounge with complimentary refreshments Onsite restaurant and bar Multi-menu in room dining options through onsite restaurant bar and many local restaurants. Refrigerator and microwave available Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water Meeting and event rooms available Free use of computer printer Ergonomic workstations State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding Contemporary furnishings Flat panel HD TVs Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hour guest service desk Fitness room Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request Corporate Apartments available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (361)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
361 out of 361
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattysDayParty
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2013

Birthday Trip

Went to Chicago for my girlfriend's birthday. Checked in early and received a complementary upgrade. The location was perfect and the view from the room was amazing! The room size was generous, complete with a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, and desk. I also liked the filtered water and complementary bottles available. All this at an amazing price. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mkm55
Business
Leawood, Kansas
Oct 22, 2013

Great time

Great location, friendly staff, nice size. This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel and will stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
music lover 1
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 8, 2013

great location

We booked this hotel mainly for the location, we went to a concert at the House of Blues and it was perfect. We were within walking distance not only from the House of Blues but also places to eat also. The hotel was very nice, very clean, and all the members of the staff that we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The bathroom was a little small but not unbearably so. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy V.
Business
Cadillac, MI
Oct 1, 2013

Very helpful for tourists

Staff was excellent (very helpful to tourists, upgraded our room due to a small mistake, etc.). Love the water bottles/filtered water in the hallways...so convienent. Great location to get to everywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Going To Chicago
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 25, 2013

Good BARGAIN hotel

I reserved this room as part of a nice package from this site. Summary: 1. In a GREAT location (near my business needs and the Art Institute / Michigan Ave.). 2. GREAT views. 3. Pedro (very friendly) changed my room to a river view, but the room was small with a tiny sealed window. 4. Room lacked some amenities (e.g. no in-room iron, no separate chair for sitting, no Chicago dining guides), and was DUSTY. Wasn't happy about that. 5. The staff were friendly enough, but missing that something extra you expect from a hotel with a premium location. Visit the Monaco for an idea of what a nice stay is all about. 6. For one night, it was fine. It was very close to my conference and centrally located to CHI nightlife. I would shop other hotels first before returning here, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Architecture Foundation River Cruise is one of the SINGLE BEST tourist attractions I have ever experienced. I've been on the tour at least 3 times, and find it fascinating. Well worth the time, and when combined with viewing the modern art collection at the Art Institute (not too far of a walk away), it makes for a great day of tourist activity in this fun city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Happy
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2013

Great first time in Chicago

This was a great place to stay for my first trip to Chicago. The location is prime, located right across the bridge from the main shopping area and right on the edge of downtown. Almost everywhere we went was in walking distance, and it was close enough to the transit system that we could take the light rail from Midway Airport to get here. The only complaint I have was that the rooms were a little small, but the view more than made up for it - overlooking the Chicago river with a gorgeous view of the skyline. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
Business
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Tann
Business
Singapore
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Location is convenient. Facilities are good. washing machine and dryer provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepgirlrn
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jul 10, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

The hotel was located directly across from the River Walk and located within walking distance from many attractions. The staff was very friendly as well as helpful. They allowed us to store our bicycles we rented at the hotel during a riding break and had a place to secure our luggage in-between check-out and our plane departure. They also made a cab reservation for us to get us to the airport. Overall, it was a great weekend at a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant located in the hotel lobby offered a wonderful, reasonably priced breakfast. Service was also friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JWeez
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 3, 2013

Chicago vacation

Great, great, great location!! Easy walk to Magnificent Mile and The Loop. Our room had a great view of the river too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top