$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
99BT
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great weekend getaway in downtown

Great location to transit for so many attractions that Chicago has to offer. My room (very eco-friendly!!) had a beautiful view of the river. Friendly staff, very helpful with any questions I had about getting around Chicago. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bacino's, their restaurant, was very good with very reasonable prices, great staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago/ South Bend Trip

Friendly staff. Clean/ comfortable room (although they could do a bit better job cleaning the room each day). Great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Short train ride away from nearly everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jab1987
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 19, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly, and the room was affordable. Also, it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a shuttle to McCormick place for a conference, walk down the street to the Hyatt Chicago and they have shuttles that run to the conference center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colotilly
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Mom/Daughter Getaway

Both my 23-year old daughter and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Restaurant was very good, lots to see and do within walking distance. Hotel has a lively atmosphere. We felt like we were in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the architecture all around you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Oct 10, 2011

Beautiful room, great location

We were met as we went through the entry door by a clerk who completed our registration in less than a minute, at a computer terminal in the wall of the main hallway. We went directly to our room. The room, like most old hotels was small, but the entire hotel had been recently totally redone/modernized and the room was very-cleverly and very-attractively done. It was very functional and the hotel provided many thoughtful amenities that were free--for instance a chilled, distilled water dispenser (with bottles) in each floor's elevator lobby and two free washers and dryers for guests' use as well as free wifi and wired internet connections, flat-screen TV and very-complete work desk. The decoration was very attractive and the bed comfortable. The location right on the Chicago River and just off Michigan Ave. is unbeatable. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and in the hotel next door. There are probably ten very-good restaurants within two blocks (five minutes) of the hotel. This was our first stay there, but it won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
former midwesterner
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Weekend getaway

Nice easy check in and check out. They did have the water station on our floor so we were able to fill up our water bottles. They had empty water bottles, too, if you need them. It was great to be so close to Michigan Ave. We walked everywhere - to Navy Pier for the Octoberfest and fireworks, to Millenium Park, even to Sears/Willis Tower. We flew into Midway and took the Orange line in. The hotel was only a few blocks away from the State and Lake station. Very convenient. We had one of the smaller rooms in the hotel (pretty tight for 2 of us), but it was enough. All we did was sleep and shower. We were on the 4th floor and the water pressure in the shower was pretty weak. Otherwise, it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllenJane
Business
Minnesota
Oct 3, 2011

Excellent Girls Weekend

Great location to get to Magnificant Mile, excellent food in the restaurant. Regular rooms are abit small. We had the 1 bedroom suite and it was nice to have the room. Very quiet on our floor. Would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent distance for shopping, near river boat ride, go to Ditka's, Cafe Lux, and Corner Cafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleen
Business
Minnesota
Sep 28, 2011

Exceptional Hotel

We would most definetly stay at the River Hotel again. It was within walking distance from most things that we wanted to do and see. There was a bus stop right across the street for what wasn't within walking distance. MANY restaurants and shops near by. Hotel staff was VERY helpful and friendly in helping us navagate through the city. The staff was even able to get us into our room at 1100 for a much needed nap when we shared with them that we had to get up at 0330 to catch out flight. Will book here again when we take our kids with us next time we visit Chicago. I have nothing negative at all to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nick88
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 27, 2011

Weekend Get Away

Easy to get to, great views, and minutes away from assorted bars and clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thip
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great downtown location

If you have car rental try to get the hotel with free parking. parking there $35 a day. but if you plan to stay right downtown youdo not need car rental Chicago has a very good transportation. Every attractions you can walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

everything walk distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top