$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Boutique hotel located on the Chicago River. Just one block north is the Magnificent Mile - famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center - Grant Park - and Marina City. The River Hotel provides- Safe - restricted entry Instant registration and check out Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel Club Lounge with complimentary refreshments Onsite restaurant and bar Multi-menu in room dining options through onsite restaurant bar and many local restaurants. Refrigerator and microwave available Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water Meeting and event rooms available Free use of computer printer Ergonomic workstations State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding Contemporary furnishings Flat panel HD TVs Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hour guest service desk Fitness room Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request Corporate Apartments available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dank6
Business
Aurora
Aug 18, 2014

Great stay

Only was in the room to sleep but everything was clean, staff was friendly and the amenities seem higher quality than most hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macha
Business
IA
Apr 29, 2014

Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and delivery service to your room. Great place and would love to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tones of international cuisines to try out just a walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Loves to Travel....
Business
Illinois
Feb 22, 2014

Great downtown location & value!

This hotel is right on the Chicago River. I had a beautiful view of it and the downtown buildings. Hotel is right off of Michigan Ave with tons of shops and buses. The room was a little cool and bathroom a bit small, but otherwise clean and comfortable. They provided nice complimentary filtered water in the hallways. The Italian restaurant on the first floor had very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mkm55
Business
Leawood, Kansas
Oct 22, 2013

Great time

Great location, friendly staff, nice size. This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel and will stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a great many wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
music lover 1
Business
Chicago, Il
Oct 8, 2013

great location

We booked this hotel mainly for the location, we went to a concert at the House of Blues and it was perfect. We were within walking distance not only from the House of Blues but also places to eat also. The hotel was very nice, very clean, and all the members of the staff that we came into contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. The bathroom was a little small but not unbearably so. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee Happy
Business
Toronto, ON
Sep 5, 2013

Great first time in Chicago

This was a great place to stay for my first trip to Chicago. The location is prime, located right across the bridge from the main shopping area and right on the edge of downtown. Almost everywhere we went was in walking distance, and it was close enough to the transit system that we could take the light rail from Midway Airport to get here. The only complaint I have was that the rooms were a little small, but the view more than made up for it - overlooking the Chicago river with a gorgeous view of the skyline. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spatel113
Business
CT
Apr 9, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Cons: The room was very small, with just enough room for a full size bed and a very small desk. Shower pressure was very low, and the position of the shower head was difficult to adjust, in order to avoid getting bathroom floor wet. While checking in, we were switched to a room with a view of the river. However, the window was very small and was partially blocked by a wall, so we were unable to appreciate the view. Pros: Free water bottle coolers. Free wifi Pizza restaurant downstairs was convenient and good food. Good location Rooms were clean Free computers to use and free printing on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGP50
Business
Columbus,Indiana
Nov 24, 2012

4 Gals City Get- Away

Friendly front staff. Very informative bell captain. Absolutely THE most comfortable pull-out sleeper ever with great support. Perfect location, next to my must go to one of these locations every visit,Corner Bakery.Walked everywhere. Loved the hustle bustle atmosphere of Wacker and river area.Quartino for dinner-make reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lunch at Water Tower lower level. Foodease and FoodforLife have choices for your entire group. Foodease has one of the freshest salad bar areas with grains to dried fruit to bleu cheese, hot food and wine too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IrinaMoscow
Business
Russia Moscow
Aug 10, 2012

River Hotel

The location s perfect. It's near Millenium park, the river, restaurants and so on. The bed is comfortable, hot tea in the room was very nice, I could see the river from my room and it was not noisy. And that's a good bonus to use computers and to have purified water in the hotel! I enjoyed my staying in River Hotel and would recommend it to my friends going to Chicago for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top