$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
567 reviews
Great deal, great location, great service

I would def recommend. Great value, great service. All others hotels at this price are old & dirty,... See full review

  • Bigredcincinnati
  • Jun 2, 2014
Superb hotel

Perfect location by the river and Michigan Ave. Great amenities: gym, washer & dryer,food order and... See full review

  • Macha
  • Apr 29, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

41.888 -87.6256
Nearby airports
O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.00, MI, E; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 20.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (567)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 567
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grammy pami
des moines, ia
Jul 2, 2009

Location was wonderful. Very affordable.

I took my 10yearold grand-daughter, she loved Chicago. We went to the American Girl Store for a Tea Party, went to Navy Pier twice and rode a sail boat out to Lake Michigan. Enjoyed Millenium Park. We enjoyed Bacino's restaurant at the hotel. It was a memorable trip and I plan on returning and staying at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that walking was fun to Millenium Park and the River Walk and just out exploring. We found cab fares very reasonable and took a water taxi to Navy Pier to save time.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Sep 1, 2009

Just perfect

Just visiting Chicago. I will stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
packerbackerjoe
montgomery, il
Jun 20, 2009

superb view and clean room

This newer chicago hotel was great. You cant beat the location. Very close to navy pier, shopping, etc. Everything was within walking distance, but there are several CTA (bus and train) stops within 1 block of the hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. The hotel had wireless internet throughout and unlimited bottles of purified water. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The only thing missing was a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dominicks grocery store just a few blocks away (Right by NBC towers). They offer the same prices as you would find in the suburbs. If you want to save money, shop there. They have a great deli offering many hot foods.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
nashville
Jul 18, 2010

Great Place to stay in Chicago

We took the train from the airport and walked less than 2 blocks to the hotel. The location was wonderful--close to everything (theater district, shopping, restaurants, transportation. The view out the window of the wonderful room was amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Colorado
Fort Collins, Colorado
Jul 29, 2012

perfect location

River Hotel has a perfect location. I walked to Milenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago and other attractions in Loop. The hotel is perfect in terms of public tranportation. To be specific, I could go to not only air port but also the museum of science and industry, navy pier, Sears Tower and many other attractions using CTA train and bus. In addition, I could enjoy best food in the restaurant and beautiful night scenary view just in front of the hotel. It's needless to say the staff were really kind and nice. If I go to Chicago again, I will definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jan 3, 2011

Great hotel near Michigan Ave

We stayed there while visiting friends/family in Chicago for New Year's. Great location -- Michigan Ave just around the corner. Self-park one block away and $22 per day, but you cannot go in and out. Valet I believe is $34, and you can go in and out multiple times, but it may take some time for them to get your car if they're busy. Otherwise, we had a room on 9th floor -- modern/European looking, queen bed and pull-out sofa, shower but no bathtub, which was fine with me. Pretty quiet, wasn't bothered by our neighbors or city noise. They got a crib for the baby without problems. OK restaurant on 1st floor, corner bakery next-door. Gym in basement (did not personally check it out). Overall I felt like it's pretty good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jun 21, 2011

Long Weekend in Chicago

This was my second trip to Chicago and my first with my husband. We were there to have our 'babymoon' since it was the last possible week advisable to travel by air. We wanted to stay downtown so we would have easy access to all the sites. This hotel really delivered! It was in a perfect location right next to the river where we could either hop a water taxi, bus, or regular taxi easily. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was very good but there was a Corner Bakery right next door if we wanted pastries. Two things really stood out. The hotel offered free laundry service on our floor. There was a washer and dryer recessed in the hallway (tucked out of site but notated with signs) that guests could use. Also, next to the elevator there was this nifty water cooler built into the wall and they provided plastic water bottles at no cost. The staff was very helpful and quick to respond to any question. This is definitely a place we will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Navy Pier was an inexpensive taxi ride away.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Got Windy!
St. Louis, MO
Mar 19, 2010

Luck of the Irish!!

For Spring Break and St. Patty's Day, the price was unbelievable. The location was perfect to all we wanted to do. The rooms are small, but comfortable and very clean. Great view! Parking was the most reasonable of all the hotels' researched. I would recommend to any and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patsprat
Oxford,Mi
Mar 29, 2010

wow what a great trip

It as just what we needed. Great room wonderful view. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grammy pami
des moines, ia
Jul 2, 2009

Location was wonderful. Very affordable.

I took my 10yearold grand-daughter, she loved Chicago. We went to the American Girl Store for a Tea Party, went to Navy Pier twice and rode a sail boat out to Lake Michigan. Enjoyed Millenium Park. We enjoyed Bacino's restaurant at the hotel. It was a memorable trip and I plan on returning and staying at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that walking was fun to Millenium Park and the River Walk and just out exploring. We found cab fares very reasonable and took a water taxi to Navy Pier to save time.

Back to menu Return to top