$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
381 out of 381
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Muskegon, MI
Mar 21, 2011

Weekend in Chicago

The location of the hotel was perfect. You could walk out the door, and in a short walk,(depending on the direction taken) hit the magnificent mile, or the Chicago loop. The corner bakery, next to the hotel, is not to be missed, for breakfast (or a light lunch). Can't wait to come back to the windy city again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle WA
Jul 8, 2010

Great River location

All the staff were helpful, the rooms were quiet and clean and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EvensOdd
Single
St Louis, MO
Aug 17, 2009

Amazing Deal

For the amazing downtown location and quality of the newly remodeled rooms, this place is a steal. The self-service check-in is completely painless. Free bottles of water on every floor. Very short walk to all rail transit lines/the Loop. The perfect place to base a trip to the city, especially if traveling alone or as a couple. (Rooms may be a bit small for families). Yes, the rooms are a bit small. But it's downtown in a big city, and it's cheap! With only two elevators serving the upper 30+ stories of the building, you sometimes had to wait a while to get up/down. But this is a minor downside, forcing you to take a needed break from the fast paced city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coder
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 2, 2010

Awesome View of City

Though small, it didn't feel like it. Very nice view of the river and everything was spotless!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant and Castle on lake/wabash is a great place to relax and doesn't cost that much!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mas6618
Friends
Mason, Ohio
Sep 6, 2011

The River Hotel

The hotel is in an excellent location. With the exception of Shedd's Aquirium and the Field Attraction, everything was in walking distance. Our car needed to be jumped in the parking garage and the hotel parking staff was very accomodating. The room was nice but the bathroom had limited space. Overall, it was a great experience. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago Go-Card is an excellent time and money saver. With all the attractions seen we saved $100 per card. To save time, pick up the Chicago Go-Card the day before it's used.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baes
Couples
Houston, Tx
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

we had fun in our trip to Chicago, and the hotel was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
packerbackerjoe
Family
montgomery, il
Jun 20, 2009

superb view and clean room

This newer chicago hotel was great. You cant beat the location. Very close to navy pier, shopping, etc. Everything was within walking distance, but there are several CTA (bus and train) stops within 1 block of the hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. The hotel had wireless internet throughout and unlimited bottles of purified water. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The only thing missing was a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Dominicks grocery store just a few blocks away (Right by NBC towers). They offer the same prices as you would find in the suburbs. If you want to save money, shop there. They have a great deli offering many hot foods.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo Oh
Jun 6, 2009

The River.

Simply the best hotel i have stayed in in a while. It was split in to two hotels one The Club Quarters and one the River. I stayed at the River. Super view of downtown. Perfact location between the upper districts and lower districts. Would recomend it to a freind ....for sure. Newly remodled rooms have a very modern feel. Freindly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dinning The Star of Siam Great local spot cheap 8.50 a plate sit down or carry out clean and great tastying food. Shopping many small nice boutigue like shops had wonderfull non-Chichago related items.... but you have to look for them they are small in a city where space is at a premium. Checkin was a little rough ORBITZ did not have the room reserverd for me ahead of time even though it was booked a month prior.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patriot1970
Couples
Slidell, LA
Jun 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was a GEM! Had the Jr. Suite which was ample room. Location was AWESOME, water taxi and tour bus pick up and drop off locations were just right accross the street. Very short walk to Millennium and Grant Parks. Short walk to shopping on State street and accross the river from the Magnificent Mile shopping. A little further to Navy Pier, but walkable. Never needed a taxi. Staff was very helpful and available 24 hours a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveller not a tourist
Single
Detroit
Nov 24, 2009

Excellent! Will stay there again!

I was pleasantly surprised with the River Hotel. It appears recently renovated and the room was spotless. I was surprised that I actually had a great view from my room. Ususally, when I book through a travel website, the hotels give me a room facing the back of another building or an alleyway. My room at the River Hotel had a fantastic view of the river and Wacker Street. The room was small but I've travelled quite a bit and know that this is the norm for big cities unless you want to pay half a month's rent for one night in a bigger room. The room had a flat panel TV that swiveled to any direction so you could watch it from bed or from the other direction whilst getting ready to go out on the town. Speaking of the bed, it was very comfy with nice fluffy pillows and a poofy duvet. Another thing I noticed were the amount of electrical outlets. Most every other hotel I've stayed in had maybe one in the bathroom and one in the room. This room had 4 of them in the room including an outlet on the desk for, say, charging your cell phone! The desk had a bookshelf with actual books on it, like a dictionary and encyclopedia, etc. I thought that was a nice touch. The bathroom had a nice roomy shower instead of a tub, which I prefer because when I take a shower in the tubs, the shower curtains always end up touching me. Eww! Also, the showerhead was handheld with an adjustable height and spray. I also liked that there was a purified water kiosk with a supply of water bottles out in the hall so you could take one along and stay hydrated while you're enjoying the city. They had the room ready early, didn't make me wait til check-in time like some hotels do and they have a fairly late check-out time of noon, which it turns out I needed, so I was immensely glad for that. Lastly, the River Hotel is in a great location! It's within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, the Merchandise Mart, and plenty more. I was there to see a show at the House of Blues and it was less than a 10 minute walk. It's also very close to the Blue Line to O'Hare Airport as well as most of the other train lines. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top