$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lily mary
Business
Hatillo, Puerto Rico
May 31, 2012

Excellent family vacation

The hotel has an excellent view and location. The room was comfort. The price was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A walk distance from grand park and train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms.Colorado
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado
Jul 29, 2012

perfect location

River Hotel has a perfect location. I walked to Milenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago and other attractions in Loop. The hotel is perfect in terms of public tranportation. To be specific, I could go to not only air port but also the museum of science and industry, navy pier, Sears Tower and many other attractions using CTA train and bus. In addition, I could enjoy best food in the restaurant and beautiful night scenary view just in front of the hotel. It's needless to say the staff were really kind and nice. If I go to Chicago again, I will definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IrinaMoscow
Business
Russia Moscow
Aug 10, 2012

River Hotel

The location s perfect. It's near Millenium park, the river, restaurants and so on. The bed is comfortable, hot tea in the room was very nice, I could see the river from my room and it was not noisy. And that's a good bonus to use computers and to have purified water in the hotel! I enjoyed my staying in River Hotel and would recommend it to my friends going to Chicago for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 21, 2012

Fantastic Business Centre Hotel

This is a fantastic business centre hotel. This business centre facilities can be accessed 24/7 and the staff are very helpful with any assistance if required, like scanning documents to be emailed overseas during the early hours of the morning. Also the location is perfect. We were happy with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hao Wu
Business
chicago IL
Aug 21, 2012

comfortable

feel good & clean the staff are very nice~ It's very convenience to book a room on net the breakfast in hotel is deliceous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougNYC
Business
New York
Feb 28, 2013

Great Deal

Great location. Room is small but very well and cleverly laid out, so that even with a big bed and a business desk, there's room to get around, and you don't feel cramped. Beautifully, stylishly and tastefully decorated, clean, attractive and comfortable. For the price, I was exceptionally pleased with this deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olga the frog
Business
monterey
Feb 27, 2013

A good hotel in a good location

This hotel is close to everything! Close to major attractions and means of transportation, with a view to the river. Clean rooms, great service, polite staff. I liked the idea of the lounge, where you can sit, watch something on TV and have a cup of complimentary coffee, tea or water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery cafe that's right next to the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPA01
Business
Oronoco, MN
Apr 19, 2013

Very nice, affordable downtown hotel

I decided to stay here after my plane was long delayed in Chicago. Because of the weather there were no rooms available near the airport. The hotel is just a few blocks for the L stop that goes to O'Hare. It's on Wacker Dr, on the south side of the river, just a couple of blocks west of Michigan Ave. There are several nice places to eat just a block or two away, so for me location was perfect. The room was smallish, but modern and very clean. Comfortable queen size bed, very small flat screen TV (maybe 24"), small bathroom with only a shower, nice size desk space, coffee maker, and so on. Staff friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love seafood and there's two great seafood places just a couple of blocks west (away from the lake)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisey Lou
Business
France
Sep 1, 2013

everything you need at a great value

You go to Chicago to DO/SEE things, right? This hotel puts you right in the action, but close enough to (and facing) the river that it's not too loud and easy to get around. A 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue, loads of restaurants from Panera to the latest from several Top Chef alums, the location is PERFECT! The staff was super helpful, too. We valet parked our car for the whole day - from 10am Friday to 6pm Saturday for only $35 (plus tip) -- as well as checking our bags so we didn't have to pay a fee to check in before 11am. Everyone was prompt and courteous each time we dealt with hotel staff. Even Saturday around check in time when the lobby was quite full of guests the staff got our checked bags quickly and the valets had our car within 10 minutes. We had a great experience at the Chicago River Hotel and cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PattysDayParty
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 10, 2013

Birthday Trip

Went to Chicago for my girlfriend's birthday. Checked in early and received a complementary upgrade. The location was perfect and the view from the room was amazing! The room size was generous, complete with a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, and desk. I also liked the filtered water and complementary bottles available. All this at an amazing price. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top