$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anell
Business
Madison, WI
Feb 11, 2014

Great location and price

This is our second time staying at the River Hotel and it's our new go-to hotel for Chicago. The hotel itself is nice and very clean. Our room was small, but it's not like we would have used more room anyway. The most important thing is that it was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use "Lyft" on your mobile phone for rides instead of taxi's! So much easier to get around the city and much cheaper.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda Loves to Travel....
Business
Illinois
Feb 22, 2014

Great downtown location & value!

This hotel is right on the Chicago River. I had a beautiful view of it and the downtown buildings. Hotel is right off of Michigan Ave with tons of shops and buses. The room was a little cool and bathroom a bit small, but otherwise clean and comfortable. They provided nice complimentary filtered water in the hallways. The Italian restaurant on the first floor had very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budgeting Dental Student
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Feb 23, 2014

Hotel Stay

I was really pleased with the cleanliness of this hotel. My room was small, but it was updated and spacious enough that I didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was large enough, plenty of counter space and a large mirror. Overall it was a very good deal for a student traveling on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ 1940
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

Good value

Friendly staff. Convenient location. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief travelers
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, great price

Fantastic hotel with just the right amount of space for a fabulous price. Great staff. We were able to check in before noon which was very convenient for out of towners. The location was perfect: great view, easy walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute and access to transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascar petty fan
Business
warsaw, indiana
Apr 15, 2014

Nice weekend in chicago

We wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk around the area. Easy walk to restaurants of our liking.. Check-in and out were easy. Parking is a short walk. My wife really liked the look of the room, and she can be picky. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red 51
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 26, 2014

Best deal, great value AND with 5 star service

We booked this hotel based on location and best price. Couldn't have gotten better value for a newer, trendy looking hotel that is a block off Michigan ave. Easy walk to River North bars/restaurants and Mich. Ave. shopping. In addition, the staff was of the quality you would expect from a 5 star hotel! I forgot my iPhone charger & one of the guys ran out to his car to let me borrow his. We requested a crib at check in and it was in our room before we even made it up the elevator ourselves. We would def stay here again & would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenX01
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic location

Nice downtown hotel located next to the Chicago river. Walking distance to everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio available in the warmer weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The emerald loop bar is open late and is very close the hotel. Other restaurant bars are only open to 11pm. I arrived in Chicago at 10:30 and wasn't up for a long journey away from the hotel

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flash Gordon
Business
Elkhart,Indiana
Aug 31, 2009

Anniversary getaway

My husband and I had a fantastic couple getaway time in Chicago and the hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, IN
Apr 14, 2010

One night stay...

Hotel was better than expected after reading some reviews. The check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I liked the fact that you had to put your room key in at the elevators to access the upper floors. The purified water and fillable bottles on each floor was a nice touch as well. Our room was very clean and decorated in a very modern decor. Shower pressure was a little soft but, didn't pose a problem. We had a suite and that offered a couch for sitting that could also be converted into additional sleep space. Overall we got a great rate and the hotel more than met my expectations. One other nice touch is the restuarant downstairs. We did not have to go out for breakfast and wait at a restuarant elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Just let the valet park your car. You get in and out priveleges and the price is comparable to most parking in the city.

Back to menu Return to top