$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougNYC
Business
New York
Feb 28, 2013

Great Deal

Great location. Room is small but very well and cleverly laid out, so that even with a big bed and a business desk, there's room to get around, and you don't feel cramped. Beautifully, stylishly and tastefully decorated, clean, attractive and comfortable. For the price, I was exceptionally pleased with this deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olga the frog
Business
monterey
Feb 27, 2013

A good hotel in a good location

This hotel is close to everything! Close to major attractions and means of transportation, with a view to the river. Clean rooms, great service, polite staff. I liked the idea of the lounge, where you can sit, watch something on TV and have a cup of complimentary coffee, tea or water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Corner Bakery cafe that's right next to the hotel!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackyxiv
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 11, 2013

good experience

very good location, right on the Chicago river. my room is queen bed. room is small, but well equipped. free wi-fi. the bed is comfortable. The front desk is efficient and polite. I think it is a good deal for $103 per night including tax. The hotel room card is bit of tricky. You have to insert it to operate elevator. The little arrow pattern on the card is too small compared with the big green background with a foot pattern on it. I missed the arrow at the very beginning and could not open my door by insert it upside down. I called the housekeeping to open the door for me. The housekeeping was very polite though. overall, it was a good experience and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Girl 45
Business
Wood Dale, IL
Feb 11, 2013

Great hotel!

We arrived an hour early and they checked us in right away which was nice! The room was a little small but it had everything that you needed! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I would go back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relieved and blessed
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 11, 2013

Okay Stay

The hotel was nice, but for some reason I expected more for $76. The room did not offer a microwave and fridge, so I could have been just as comfortable at a Super 8 hotel and saved $30, and had a microwave & fridge in the room. Also, the staff failed to place liners in the trash can and the cordless phone was inoperable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
william2
Business
louisiana
Dec 4, 2012

River Hotel - Chicago

Nice hotel. trendy, not out-dated, great location on Wacker Drive, just minutes from tons of stuff to do. Parking at the self-serve is $24 a night....just get it validated by the hotel first. Friendly staff who were accomodating to requests. We originally had the wrong room, and they changed it for us without an issue. the rooms are small....don't expect a lot of walking room....but otherwise a nice, comfortable place. Walls are not thin -- we didn't hear anyone in the hallways or the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the self-park just a block and a half over. $24 for 24-hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RC12
Business
St Louis
Dec 3, 2012

Great location

Great location and easy to get to a lot of Chicago points of interest. Small rooms, but seems to be the norm in Chicago. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIGolfer
Business
IL
Dec 2, 2012

conference overnight

Attending a two-day, one-night conference in downtown chicago, this hotel was 1.5 blocks away from the conference hotel and much more reasonable. Rooms are small but clean,quiet, and comfortable. Nice experience for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick & Schmick's Seafood & Steak Restaurant is 1/2 block away and a great dining experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThanksgivingTraveler2012
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 29, 2012

Average Hotel

The location was pretty good and even the tiny room size (about 250 square feet) didn't bother me, more so the location of the actual room. We were on the fourth floor and looking at the back of a dirty building. What was mostly irritating is that the second we checked in they automatically made it seem like we weren't as "special" because we weren't spending as much as some customers and it seemed as if she was purposely putting us in not-great room because she basically said we need to upgrading within the first minute of us being there. Overall, it was fine, but won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pfarhadieh
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 26, 2012

Great hotel for the price

Room was very small and can get crowded especially if you have a significant other with a ton of clothes/toiletries. Bed was comfortable. Shower was small. Overall look was modern and updated. But if you're there to enjoy the city, then really the hotel room becomes a place to sleep and get ready for the day/night. And the location is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top