$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPA01
Business
Oronoco, MN
Apr 19, 2013

Very nice, affordable downtown hotel

I decided to stay here after my plane was long delayed in Chicago. Because of the weather there were no rooms available near the airport. The hotel is just a few blocks for the L stop that goes to O'Hare. It's on Wacker Dr, on the south side of the river, just a couple of blocks west of Michigan Ave. There are several nice places to eat just a block or two away, so for me location was perfect. The room was smallish, but modern and very clean. Comfortable queen size bed, very small flat screen TV (maybe 24"), small bathroom with only a shower, nice size desk space, coffee maker, and so on. Staff friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I love seafood and there's two great seafood places just a couple of blocks west (away from the lake)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conference Attendee21212
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 18, 2013

Nice alternative to conference hotel

I was in Chicago for a conference, but the conference hotel was full. The River Hotel was nearby and of a similar price. The hotel was close by and quiet. I loved having the chilled water dispenser available on each floor by the elevator. It was a great perk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rags
Business
Chicago
Apr 18, 2013

perfect position

This hotel is in the perfect spot for exploring Chicago. It is very close to all the places you would want to walk to as well as being very close to the El train and the buses. The position is stunning, facing some magnificent architecture beside the river. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel facilities were very good - we particularly liked the lounge where you could get coffee at any time as well as the facility downstairs to print off your boarding cards. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight criticism was one of the members of staff in the restaurant Bachinos which shared the site, was quite surly. Otherwise our stay was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spatel113
Business
CT
Apr 9, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Cons: The room was very small, with just enough room for a full size bed and a very small desk. Shower pressure was very low, and the position of the shower head was difficult to adjust, in order to avoid getting bathroom floor wet. While checking in, we were switched to a room with a view of the river. However, the window was very small and was partially blocked by a wall, so we were unable to appreciate the view. Pros: Free water bottle coolers. Free wifi Pizza restaurant downstairs was convenient and good food. Good location Rooms were clean Free computers to use and free printing on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artsy Wanderluster
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 2, 2013

Great place, great price

Came here for a last minute weekend getaway. Loved it! It's close to everything we wanted to do - shopping, good restaurants, museums. The beds aren't too comfortable and the single rooms are pretty small, but the price is right - especially if you're planning on staying busy in the city during your visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Andy's Jazz Club on W Hubbard

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosie N Bates
Business
Birmingham
Mar 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Staff was great! Catered to all my needs. Had a free washer and dryer for my use. It was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BruceFan23
Business
Naperville IL
Mar 27, 2013

Great place to be in the heart of everything

My wife and I stayed there for a Friday night and when I had booked the room I had a confirmation for a queen size bed. When I got to the room I found out it was two twins. I called down to the front desk and before I even got off the elevator they had my next room set up. Minor inconvenience but they handled it fine. Nice touch with having a spring water system with bottles on the floors. Very European style hotel-They maximize the space given with the room. I would recommend this to a weekend traveler who would be spending more time in the city than in the room. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Nice value considering the location is prime-Right by South Michigan Ave, State Street, el lines and tons of cabs, restaurants etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toonces93
Business
Wheaton, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal location, great value

When you see the name of a hotel you've never heard of, at an incredibly good price, you might wonder if its a scary roach motel. Have no fear, The River Hotel is anything but. Check in was quick and easy, the building is secure (the bellmen see everyone who comes through the small entrance, the elevators can only be run with key card), and once you arrive in your room, the furnishings are new and the room is impeccably clean. While the room is not large, it is adequate for two people. The bedding is not luxurious, but it is comfortable, there is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, and a chilled water machine is just steps down the hall. The TV is not huge but works fine and offers Direct TV. The room temperature was easy to control, and noise was not an issue. We slept great. The location is fabulous, steps from t he foot of the Michigan Avenue bridge. It's an easy walk to the Magnificent Mile, the river walk and Millenium Park and much more. Because this is a well traveled area we felt safe coming and going from the hotel. For easy access to all Chicago has to offer, you cannot beat The River Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Pedro
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2013

Top of the Loop

Perfectly situated across the river from the Wrigley and Tribune buildings, the River Hotel is an excellent bargain for travelers who wish to be the near the iconic architecture of Chicago. The hotel is clean, it has all the amenities for business travelers or tourists, and the staff is great. All for under $100/night. I could not be happier with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a good guidebook on Chicago architecture (I used " Chicago's Famous Buildings" 5th ed, by Schulze and Harrington.) and create your own walking tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aya M
Business
Hanover MI
Mar 18, 2013

Good weekend getaway

We booked this hotel for St Patty's day weekend.Perfect spot on the river!! Very convenient to all kinds of entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top