$310 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

5 stars
View map of 160 East Pearson Street, Water Tower Palace, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janie, high maintenance traveler.
Business
Boston, Ma
May 17, 2010

Great price for the location

Just great. Staff is exceptional in their professionalism. Location is superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jul 7, 2011

Very Good

The service was excellent. The room was spacious, clean and the amenities were great. The 24-hour room service was a definite plus and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is blocks from the Loop and teaming with tourists in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chefducati
Business
Miami
May 19, 2014

Great get away

As always ritz aims to please. Great location great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 21, 2010

Nice

Very nice. Good view. Clean. But not above what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not get stuck out during the Chirstmas Festival in late November - as you CANNOT cross Michigan Ave until it's over. My mistake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 14, 2009

Great location but rooms were not ready

The location was terrific. Unhfortunately they were missing towels for the kids and the TV was not hooked up to the DVD players. They also tried to change the rate to upgrade rooms just an hour after we talked to them. They were very helpful however in getting all the issues resolved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Magnificent Mile is right there so there is really no need for a car given the hotel charges $45 a day for parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Sep 18, 2009

The Good and the Bad!

If you are taller than 5'10" do not stay at this hotel if they do not have a king bed avaialble. I was stuck with 2 twins and my feet hung off the end of the bed. Also there was only an uncomfortable desk chair in the room. No easy chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Mar 17, 2010

A Four Seasons property off its game

Having stayed at this property before, and numerous other Four Seasons properties, I was disappointed at the decline in service. Front desk staff were not very knowledgeable about the dining options in the area. Also, the hotel made no effort to notify future guests that the pool was closed for renovations or that the main lobby (a real showpiece) was under renovation as well. When guests are spending hundreds of dollars per night, it would be nice to know that some key reasons for staying at the Ritz are not available. The Peninsula would have been a much more enjoyable option! Furthermore, the redesign of the rooms left us cold. The hotel, at least at this time, no longer feels any more special than a more inexpensive boutique hotel in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BJD1001
Business
Rochester, NY
May 21, 2014

Over Rated - Bootleg

The staff was rude and arrogant; our room was not cleaned at 3:30 PM on the second day of our stay with absolutely no remorse. When we inquired about a late checkout we were told that the hotel was fully committed and it was not possible. After some screaming the late checkout was granted. We stay at the Ritz in Cleveland frequently and the experiences are like night and day. Cleveland is a real Ritz the Chicago Ritz is owned by the Four Seasons which apparently make a huge difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter Island, Fl
Jun 15, 2011

Chicago graduation

My wife and I went to Chicago for our daughter's college graduation. The event was marred only by our choice of hotels. We chose the Ritz-Carlton expecting it to be a haven from what was to be a hectic weekend. The rudeness with which my family was treated by the curb side bell staff was something I would not have believed had I not been present. I complained to the hotel manager and was given his apologies and little else. Having been to Chicago on many previous visits I should have done what we did in the past and stayed at The Penisula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top