$352 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

5 stars
160 East Pearson Street, Water Tower Palace, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
27 reviews
great hotel

great hotel. spent a wonderful night at Chicago. however, the hotel itself is quite old compare to... See full review

  • nofkingnicknameworks
  • Sep 8, 2014
Such a lovely trip

Our experience was perfect, fun food, helpful staff, lobby was so beautiful and the bars and... See full review

  • Betsy Sloan
  • Sep 7, 2014
Bird’s eye view of Chicago’s Magnificent Mile
The grandeur of the Ritz-Carlton Chicago, a Four Seasons Hotel, is unmistakable in its magnificent setting atop Water Tower Place, overlooking the exclusive North Michigan Avenue. Occupying floors 15 to 30, the hotel boasts 434 guest rooms of five-star standard, including 90 luxury suites. No matter what the weather in the Windy City, guests can enjoy stunning city and lake views from the sun deck of the temperature controlled in-door pool, located in the Carlton Club Spa at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago.
You Stay Here Because
  • Prime location on Magnificent Mile and fantastic views from the top of Water Tower Place
  • Tranquil Carlton Club Spa and indoor heated pool with whirlpool
  • Guest rooms feature over-sized picture windows to show off the views
Ritz-Carlton Chicago, a Four Seasons Hotel Rooms
All guests staying at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago, a Four Seasons Hotel, enjoy free daily newspapers delivered to their rooms by a member of the friendly staff as well as high-speed Internet access that is especially useful to business guests. Each room also features an executive desk, with an ergonomically designed chair for extra comfort whilst working. Guests can marvel at the plush Italian marble bathrooms and the 37-inch flat screen LCD TV, ideal for rest and relaxation at the end of a long day. It is hard to tire of the fabulous views showcased by the oversized picture windows in every guest room at the Ritz-Carlton Chicago, a Four Seasons Hotel.
Things to Do
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • The Hancock Observatory (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Goodman Theatre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Symphony Center (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Civic Opera House (1.9 mi/3 km)

Hotel Map

41.8976 -87.6229
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, NE; O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Lakeview rooms with a king bed or 2 double beds or 2 twin beds. Located ON floors 15-30. Approx. 380 - 405 sqft/35 - 38 sqm.
Physically Challenged
City View Accessible Room 2 double beds On the 15-16th floor. Flashing lights for alarm, lowered peep holes, roll-in shower, grab bars for bathtub and toilet. Approx 380-405 sqft.
Physically Challenged
Lake View Accessible Mobility Room king bed. On the 19-29th floor. 36 inch wide doors, lowered light switches, peep holes, grab bars for bathtub and toilet. Approx. 380-405 sqft.
Premier
Michigan Avenue Executive Suite Deluxe with a king bed or two twin beds, Michigan Avenue and city views. On floors 15-29, feature a living room with a sofabed and two full bathrooms. Approx. 600 sqft/56 sqm.
Suite
Deluxe Lakeview One bedroom suite with a king bed. On floors 23-30, these corner suites have panoramic views of the lake and feature a separate living room with a sofabed and a dining area. Approx. 1000 sqft/93 sqm.
Suite
Michigan Avenue suite with a king bed and panoramic view of the city. These corner suites are located on floors 24-27. Approx. 600 sqft/56 sqm.
Deluxe
City View rooms with a king bed or 2 double beds or 2 twin beds. Located on floors 15-30. Approx. 380 - 405 sqft/35 - 38 sqm.
Junior Suite
Michigan Avenue Executive Suite with a king bed. On floors 15-29, feature a bedroom separated from the living room by french doors. Views of the Lake Michigan and the city. Approx. 560 sqft/52 sqm.
Junior Suite
Grand Executive Suite with a king bed, stunning north or south views of the city or Lake Michigan. Located on the 30th floor, feature french doors that seclude the bedroom from living room. Measure 800-840 sqft/74-78 sqm.
Physically Challenged
Deluxe Michigan Ave Executive Accessible Suite King bed. Roll-in shower, Grab bars for bathtub and toilet, lowered light switches and peep holes. Approx 600sq ft
Physically Challenged
Deluxe Lake View Accessible Mobility Suite King bed. On the 23-30th floor. Grab bars for bathtub and toilet, flashing light for alarm and lowered switches. Approx. 1000 sqft.
Physically Challenged
City View Accessible Mobility Room 1 King bed. On the 17-18th floor. Grab bars for bathtub and toilet, 36inch wide doors, lowered light switches and peep holes Approx 380-405 sqft
Physically Challenged
City View Accessible Room 1 King bed On the 15-16th floor. Flashing lights for alarm, lowered peep holes, roll-in shower, grab bars for bathtub and toilet. Approx 380-405 sqft.
Physically Challenged
City View Accessible Mobility Room 2 double beds. On the 17-18th floor. Grab bars for bathtub and toilet, 36inch wide doors, lowered light switches and peep holes Approx 380-405 sqft

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
News stand
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.2 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi

Dining

Deca Restaurant
The casual elegance of art-deco-inspired décor and contemporary classic cuisine come together in deca restaurant + bar, a brasserie-inspired experience on the Magnificent Mile in The Ritz-Carlton Chicago, a Four Seasons Hotel. Hours of Operation MON to TH
In-Room Dining
Room service is available 24 hours a day with breakfast served from 06:00-11:00 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gmuny49
Los Angeles, California
Mar 18, 2014

Very nice and clean

Nice location, very close to dinning and shopping. Great hotel staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lazy weekend
raleigh, NC
Jun 25, 2012

Tiny elevators

great location very nice hotel. Only negatives are small pool area and lack of elevators. There were 4 elevators but were very small and frequently had 5 minute type waits at busy times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fulton15
Bellingham, Washington
Apr 12, 2012

First visit to Chicago

This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. The staff was friendly and professional, but not at all pretentious. Our room was lovely, spacious, and had a huge bathroom. We had a view of Navy Pier from our room and we were so happy with the location. We could walk to many sights and we enjoyed our first trip to Chicago tremendously. I am planning another trip soon and I will definitely stay at the Ritz Carlton again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NCtraveler
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great hotel for long weekend in the middle of down town

All of the staff were very courteous, the room was spotless. 2 sinks was great as was the soaking tube. We LOVED the hotel restaurant and bar area; great place to get food before starting the day or drinks and appetizers after a day out. Great location. We came to Chicago to visit family and they ended up visiting us at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
connecticut
Jul 25, 2011

Great stay

Location was convienent to shops n attractions. The hotel was great w cleanliness. Kid friendly. Staff were very friendly. Wish we stayed longer. Would stay at the hotel again. We were upgraded due to a crib which was very nice. Chicago is nice n we will come here again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, D.C.
Jul 7, 2011

Very Good

The service was excellent. The room was spacious, clean and the amenities were great. The 24-hour room service was a definite plus and the food was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is blocks from the Loop and teaming with tourists in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jupiter Island, Fl
Jun 15, 2011

Chicago graduation

My wife and I went to Chicago for our daughter's college graduation. The event was marred only by our choice of hotels. We chose the Ritz-Carlton expecting it to be a haven from what was to be a hectic weekend. The rudeness with which my family was treated by the curb side bell staff was something I would not have believed had I not been present. I complained to the hotel manager and was given his apologies and little else. Having been to Chicago on many previous visits I should have done what we did in the past and stayed at The Penisula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
grayslake, illinois
Jan 2, 2011

Great Service

My husband and I stayed here over the New Year weekend. We've never been to the Ritz before and we were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. Everyone was pleasant and professional. The concierge service was the highlight for us. Twice, they secured reservations to hot restaurants that were otherwise booked full. VERY happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Use the concierge service for restaurant help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Nov 21, 2010

Nice

Very nice. Good view. Clean. But not above what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not get stuck out during the Chirstmas Festival in late November - as you CANNOT cross Michigan Ave until it's over. My mistake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Rivers
Elgin
Aug 4, 2010

Dog Paradise

First off we had our dog Daisy with us and they treated her like she was a Queen. Super friendly staff.Room was a good size and the bed was comfortable.This was a last minute getaway and I was suprised and glad they accepted Dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz-Carlton, a Four Seasons Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janie, high maintenance traveler.
Boston, Ma
May 17, 2010

Great price for the location

Just great. Staff is exceptional in their professionalism. Location is superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search