$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

4 stars
1 West Wacker Drive, ONE WEST WACKER DRIVE, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
80 reviews
Great Birthday Surprise

A great surprise by the family to take me to the Renaissance Hotel for my birthday. The location... See full review

  • J6582
  • Jan 29, 2014
clean, modern hotel

stayed for business, great view of the river and city. See full review

  • jeannec
  • Oct 5, 2013
Sophistication and style abound in this Windy City hotel
Guests of the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel enjoy opulence and luxury from the outset.The lobby and regal staircase are the epitome of sophistication and offer a feeling of style and class to guests. The Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel provides an incredible selection of amenities, including a 24-hour front desk, business suites, a fitness center and a spa. In addition, guests have access to a comfort-laden coffee house, modern bar and delightful restaurant – each located within the hotel.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • A premium quality hotel offering a wide range of luxurious amenities and spacious suites
  • Three great places to eat and drink on-site: Aroma Cafe, Bar Novo, and the Great Street Restaurant
  • Located in the downtown area, in close proximity to all of the Chicago landmarks
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel Rooms
Rooms at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel are spacious and modern. The decor in each suite can best be described as Chicago chic, offering sweeping carpets and fabrics in restrained natural tones. The decor is stylishly counterpointed with functional, yet elegant, furniture that is carefully chosen to create sleek harmony in each suite. The Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel oozes luxury. This feeling of luxury extends to the wide selection of amenities provided to guests in each room. Amenities include fully adjustable air-conditioning and climate facilities, complimentary electrical adapters, fully equipped ironing facilities, and a safe. Each suite features luxurious bedding, with down comforters, custom-made duvets, and high-quality linens as well as a selection of foam, feather and down pillows. Bathrooms offer a variety of amenities including a separate tub and shower, a Jacuzzi, and a complementary hair-dryer and guest robe. Furthermore, guests are able to relax and unwind with a selection of entertainment facilities, including large flat-panel televisions and a CD player. There is also a selection of video games and consoles available for rental.
Things To Do
 


  • Macy's State Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • House of Blues (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
Policies and fees

  • No pets allowed in the hotel premises.
  • Nightly rates from $229 USD
  • On-site parking fee: $65 USD per day
  • Valet parking fee is $65 USD per day. Valet parking only with in/out privileges included in fee. Large SUVs and other oversized vehicles are not allowed.
  • Off-site parking fee: $41 USD per day
  • For a daily rate of $14.95 USD, the following features are available in guest rooms: high-speed Internet access, unlimited local phone calls and unlimited long distance calls (within the country)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8868 -87.6281
Area served
Chicago Loop Business District
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 12.10, MI, NE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.9 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi

Dining

Great Street
Take in the panoramic view of the city while dining on contemporary American cuisine.
Bar Novo
Noshes, hand crafted cocktails, extensive wine by the glass list.
Aroma Cafe
Serves hot and iced beverages brewed with Starbucks coffee as well as Krispy Kremes, sandwiches and snacks. This hotel cafe also offers a variety of sundries for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawkeye Super Dave
Bettendorf. Ia.
Jul 8, 2013

weekend getaway

We had stayed there years ago and it has slipped since then. Although it was all right it was nothing special. They used to have terry cloth towels and bathrobes and they are gone. The towels were next to worthless and actually hurt to use. We will not pay that price to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ruth's Crist

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
illinois
Feb 18, 2013

perfect weekend

It was really nice hotel. Good location, nice restaurant clean and friendly. we would recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZZZ24
Indiana
Dec 10, 2012

Fantastic Location!

Stayed here for a show at Chicago Theater. Perfect location. Staff and hotel were excellent. The only negative thing I can say is that the valet changed the radio station in the car and had it turned way up. We go to Chicago several times a year and will definitely use the Renaissance again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch 35. Great seafood!

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadM
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 6, 2012

HUGE room

I don't know if all of the rooms are as large, but our room was VERY spacious. Amazing river view. Staff wasn't very impressive, but acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadM
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 6, 2012

HUGE room

The room was spacious with a great view, the staff, acceptable but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenyetta New Wife
Detroit, MI
Jun 28, 2012

Honeymoon

It was dishearting that the request submitted to the hotel regarding a king bed was not in place and discovering dirty bedding put a damper on things the first night. We were given a courtesy breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lloyd
Fairfield, California
Sep 4, 2011

Great central location

I attended my son's basic training graduation at Great Lakes Naval Command which is 37 miles north of the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of fine dining, nightlife and transportation. I will stay there again on my next visit. Parking is expensive, but parking in downtown San Francisco is about the same, so I can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous free concerts are within walking distance from the hotel. All types of music are played from jazz to salsa.

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lloyd
Fairfield, California
Sep 4, 2011

Great central location

I attended my son's basic training graduation at Great Lakes Naval Command which is 37 miles north of the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of fine dining, nightlife and transportation. I will stay there again on my next visit. Parking is expensive, but parking in downtown San Francisco is about the same, so I can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous free concerts are within walking distance from the hotel. All types of music are played from jazz to salsa.

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikac
jacksonville, il
Aug 3, 2011

Overall great hotel!

The hotel was clean, roomy, comfortable, and all around nice. We enjoyed our stay and would have no problem staying again. It was a great location to all the downtown attractions. The rooms were very clean and neat. They had plenty of room and we got a room with a great view! Highly recommend going with a room with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikac
jacksonville, il
Aug 3, 2011

Overall great hotel!

The hotel was clean, roomy, comfortable, and all around nice. We enjoyed our stay and would have no problem staying again. It was a great location to all the downtown attractions. The rooms were very clean and neat. They had plenty of room and we got a room with a great view! Highly recommend going with a room with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top