$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1 West Wacker Drive, ONE WEST WACKER DRIVE, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homecache
Business
Ohio
Feb 20, 2012

Weekend in Chicago!

This hotel had all the right stuff for our family. The fitness room was very nice. It had several of each equipments, and nice weight machines. The pool was a highlite for our kids! The pool area was large, clean and the water was warm enough to stay in and enjoy! It also was conveniently located so we could jump on the bus to get to Michigan Ave., but we found State Street to be a great place to walk and shop with the locals. Lower sales tax and less traffic! I did mark the cleanliness low, because the room was dusty! Our daughter sat on the couch with a bang and a puff of dust came flying up! The sunlight was coming in at the right spot to catch the dust cloud which grossed me out - but, it was just a nice reminder that that's why Home is Sweet Home! All in all, a good location, great pool and fitness, and very quick and nice staff! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother of All
Business
California
Jul 24, 2012

Location, Location, Location!

The Renaissance is a 4 star hotel - rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's location is absolutely perfect - situated right in the heart of the city making it easy to shop on Magnificent Mile, visit Milennium Park, or enjoy a show in the Theatre District. I have had the opportunity to visit Chicago many times this summer and have found this to be the best location especially with little ones in tow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadM
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 6, 2012

HUGE room

I don't know if all of the rooms are as large, but our room was VERY spacious. Amazing river view. Staff wasn't very impressive, but acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadM
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 6, 2012

HUGE room

The room was spacious with a great view, the staff, acceptable but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
Business
illinois
Feb 18, 2013

perfect weekend

It was really nice hotel. Good location, nice restaurant clean and friendly. we would recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candidkay
Business
Chicago
Apr 1, 2013

Comfort and elegance

Hard to mix family friendly and elegance, but this hotel manages to do it. Staff was friendly. Kids felt at home. Room was great with a gorgeous view. Room service was prompt and courteous. Pool is small but that was my kids' only complaint. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABaum2
Business
Racine, WI
Nov 27, 2013

Quick and Easy

This hotel had a great location--we were visiting for a trip to the Chicago Theater. Our room actually overlooked the theater (which made for some great pics with the kids), the river, and trump tower. Super fast to get in and out, good with kids, great (big) bathroom in the room, room service was kid-friendly, and there was plenty to do within in a few blocks. It was super cold out when we stayed, so we didn't venture far, but we didn't need to--we could find food and shopping within 1-3 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davi
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great location

Great location in downtown Chicago. It is near everything. The lounge bar is really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikac
Business
jacksonville, il
Aug 3, 2011

Overall great hotel!

The hotel was clean, roomy, comfortable, and all around nice. We enjoyed our stay and would have no problem staying again. It was a great location to all the downtown attractions. The rooms were very clean and neat. They had plenty of room and we got a room with a great view! Highly recommend going with a room with a view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
May 27, 2009

1st Trip to Chicago

The trip was awesome and I am ready to move to Chicago just as soon as they change their winters. The hotel was better than I thought it would be. Definitely upscale and what a great value for the money. I will stay again on my next trip and tell all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is just minutes away. I visited the biggest Macy's ever and loved every minute of it. Public transportation is readily available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top