$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

4 stars
1 West Wacker Drive, ONE WEST WACKER DRIVE, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
53 reviews
Great Birthday Surprise

A great surprise by the family to take me to the Renaissance Hotel for my birthday. The location... See full review

  • J6582
  • Jan 29, 2014
clean, modern hotel

stayed for business, great view of the river and city. See full review

  • jeannec
  • Oct 5, 2013
Sophistication and style abound in this Windy City hotel
Guests of the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel enjoy opulence and luxury from the outset.The lobby and regal staircase are the epitome of sophistication and offer a feeling of style and class to guests. The Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel provides an incredible selection of amenities, including a 24-hour front desk, business suites, a fitness center and a spa. In addition, guests have access to a comfort-laden coffee house, modern bar and delightful restaurant – each located within the hotel.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • A premium quality hotel offering a wide range of luxurious amenities and spacious suites
  • Three great places to eat and drink on-site: Aroma Cafe, Bar Novo, and the Great Street Restaurant
  • Located in the downtown area, in close proximity to all of the Chicago landmarks
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel Rooms
Rooms at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel are spacious and modern. The decor in each suite can best be described as Chicago chic, offering sweeping carpets and fabrics in restrained natural tones. The decor is stylishly counterpointed with functional, yet elegant, furniture that is carefully chosen to create sleek harmony in each suite. The Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel oozes luxury. This feeling of luxury extends to the wide selection of amenities provided to guests in each room. Amenities include fully adjustable air-conditioning and climate facilities, complimentary electrical adapters, fully equipped ironing facilities, and a safe. Each suite features luxurious bedding, with down comforters, custom-made duvets, and high-quality linens as well as a selection of foam, feather and down pillows. Bathrooms offer a variety of amenities including a separate tub and shower, a Jacuzzi, and a complementary hair-dryer and guest robe. Furthermore, guests are able to relax and unwind with a selection of entertainment facilities, including large flat-panel televisions and a CD player. There is also a selection of video games and consoles available for rental.
Things To Do
 


  • Macy's State Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chicago Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • House of Blues (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • U.S. Cellular Field (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
Policies and fees

  • No pets allowed in the hotel premises.
  • Nightly rates from $229 USD
  • On-site parking fee: $65 USD per day
  • Valet parking fee is $65 USD per day. Valet parking only with in/out privileges included in fee. Large SUVs and other oversized vehicles are not allowed.
  • Off-site parking fee: $41 USD per day
  • For a daily rate of $14.95 USD, the following features are available in guest rooms: high-speed Internet access, unlimited local phone calls and unlimited long distance calls (within the country)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.9 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi

Dining

Great Street
Take in the panoramic view of the city while dining on contemporary American cuisine.
Bar Novo
Noshes, hand crafted cocktails, extensive wine by the glass list.
Aroma Cafe
Serves hot and iced beverages brewed with Starbucks coffee as well as Krispy Kremes, sandwiches and snacks. This hotel cafe also offers a variety of sundries for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 17, 2011

Outstanding Stay

Perfect location. It's close to everything. Hotel staff was curtious and profesional. Would recomend to a friend, and will stay at again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues is just across the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy weekend camper
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 11, 2013

Not a good weekend getaway experience

We arrived at the hotel around 5pm to a jammed lobby full of travelers waiting for their hotel rooms to be ready. We had a reservation for 4 people (2 adults, 2children) and were told our room with a king bed and pullout couch was not ready. An hour later we were told it was. Upon arriving at the room it only housed a king bed. We called the front desk and were told there were no other rooms, a rollaway was not available and to have 2 people sleep on the floor. The best they could do was give us $30 off the $60 valet for overnight parking. The manager on duty told us our other option would be to cancel the room and rebook ourselves at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anniversary residents
Business
cr iowa
Dec 1, 2013

where to start

Well this was our 4th or 5th trip to Chicago and this time we stayed over thanksgiving coming in on wed. The hotel is the nicest one we've stayed at and the location was good for the play and the parade we attended. With that said here are the cons. I booked this about 6 months ago, and since then the rates for the valet had changed (not told until we paid the bill). Secondly when I registered as well as touching base several times before our stay and the reminder they sent me the week before we left the request we had were not met. We had a riverview room which we requested, but we also asked for fridge, microwave and extra bedding, none of which were in our room when we arrived, this was a big deal as I brought stuff that needed to stay cold, after a phone call and an hour later we got the above items, we also requested two days before we checked in a paper so we could see the black Friday ads, one of these had to be gotten because it also wasn't there when we checked in. The front desk staff acted like we were bothering them and they asked what they could do (they tried to make it right by offering a cheese tray which was ok, most of it was thrown out as it was very gourmet cheese). They had someone here called the navigator, who was supposed to help with telling you places to eat ect.. Not sure how long she'd been there, but it took 3 phones numbers to Jimmy johns to find out they don't deliver to the hotel and when asked questions about the holiday parade which was right around the corner she had no clue. This was frustrating with the food because the only free interenet was in the lobby, phone calls via hotel phone were a 1.00 a call, so had I tried Jimmy Johns from the house phone and not my cell it would of been over 4.00 for none of them to answer or to find out they don't deliver. So overall I think the cost of the amenities are way to high, you shouldn't have to pay for local phone service and the hotel staff should be familiar with events in the area and also offer other food options if what were trying aren't working. Not sure we would stay here again, we always choose Marriotts or one other brand when we travel, and I know that I can choose other Marriott's that cost about the same but offer free wifi and a much friendlier front desk staff. the valet and bell boy staff was great, but that is the other thing, you can't load your own luggage, so it cost you(via tip) to load and unload. Just overall not worth the money spent for the hassles we encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

get event info from the event as the staff at this hotel will have no clue if you have questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Milkaludall
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 8, 2011

So so..

Our room was okay but refrigerator was not working and a water bottle was consumed by someone else and left behind. Toothpaste was not displayed so make sure you get it from front desk. Location of the hotel is good and I enjoyed the indoor pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
m1jjb00
Business
washington, dc
Feb 21, 2012

Decent getaway weekend

The hotel delivered in an efficient way, though our demands weren't strenuous as we were mostly away. The views on the river side are gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenyetta New Wife
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 28, 2012

Honeymoon

It was dishearting that the request submitted to the hotel regarding a king bed was not in place and discovering dirty bedding put a damper on things the first night. We were given a courtesy breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawkeye Super Dave
Business
Bettendorf. Ia.
Jul 8, 2013

weekend getaway

We had stayed there years ago and it has slipped since then. Although it was all right it was nothing special. They used to have terry cloth towels and bathrobes and they are gone. The towels were next to worthless and actually hurt to use. We will not pay that price to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ruth's Crist

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girls weekend group
Business
Illinois
Aug 15, 2011

just average

just average not over the top or bad either. We did have trouble with our hairdryer and didnt get help from the front desk. Finally the maid came around to make up our room and she brought us a new dryer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Swartz Creek, MI
Apr 5, 2011

Very Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, spacious rooms with a great view of the city. Close to Michigan Ave or State Street shopping. Located in the theater district if you are there to take in a show. Only complaints - service in the bar was SLOW and the shower sometimes had cold water (intermittently). The breakfast was great and super wait staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Homecache
Business
Ohio
Feb 20, 2012

Weekend in Chicago!

This hotel had all the right stuff for our family. The fitness room was very nice. It had several of each equipments, and nice weight machines. The pool was a highlite for our kids! The pool area was large, clean and the water was warm enough to stay in and enjoy! It also was conveniently located so we could jump on the bus to get to Michigan Ave., but we found State Street to be a great place to walk and shop with the locals. Lower sales tax and less traffic! I did mark the cleanliness low, because the room was dusty! Our daughter sat on the couch with a bang and a puff of dust came flying up! The sunlight was coming in at the right spot to catch the dust cloud which grossed me out - but, it was just a nice reminder that that's why Home is Sweet Home! All in all, a good location, great pool and fitness, and very quick and nice staff! We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother of All
Business
California
Jul 24, 2012

Location, Location, Location!

The Renaissance is a 4 star hotel - rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's location is absolutely perfect - situated right in the heart of the city making it easy to shop on Magnificent Mile, visit Milennium Park, or enjoy a show in the Theatre District. I have had the opportunity to visit Chicago many times this summer and have found this to be the best location especially with little ones in tow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top