$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1 West Wacker Drive, ONE WEST WACKER DRIVE, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Aug 8, 2010

Review

Overall, the location was excellent and the staff super friendly. Hotel room was clean, although we had problems working the thermostat. The only thing we didn't like, was the fact that when we booked it, it stated it came with free breakfast. When we checked in, they knew nothing about it and since I hadn't printed out the email that stated breakfast was free, they refused to honor it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamakn
Business
Chicago suburbs
Jul 12, 2010

Great location, great experience

We stayed at the hotel based on its proximity to the Oriental Theatre. It was the perfect location. We loved the hotel, and the hotel restaurant. This hotel is convenient to State Street shopping and has great views of the river. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The "kids eat free package" was wonderful. We would book here again if this package is available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elkhart, In
Mar 15, 2010

Classy

Great view of the river. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davenpoort, IA
Feb 23, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

Great room with excellent view of the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oxford, oh
Sep 7, 2009

renaissance chicago hotel

shopping none one of the best one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Aug 16, 2009

Renaissance Chicago

Crammed alot into the weekend, so weren't in the room much. Staff was first rate, pool and spa were perfect and much appreciated after a day of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Chicago Mom
Business
Suburbs of Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Wonderful experience

Visited the pool. We loved the location and views of the Chicago River. We walked right across the street for our architectural tour of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the architectural tour of Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AC Mensch
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 2, 2009

Exceeded Our Expectations

My wife and I plus our 21 yo daughter and 15 yo son stayed for 4 days - 3 nights for a family reunion. The rates were very attractive and we received a HUGE, corner room of about 350 sf with a king bed, pull-out sofa, and a roll-away bed. Very friendly staff - very fun lobby and public spaces, very nice pool and workout areas. We were not looking for a five-star experience, but this was very close, I would say a solid 4.5 stars. The hotel appeared to be extremely well managed with a lot of attention to detail. Great experience, would recommend it to anyone. Try to get a room on one of the higher floors as the El is right at the corner and may bother some. vthere is a Wow Bow (a Chinese bun and potsticker place) on the lower level concourse that has exceedingly tasty snacks and meals at a budget price. The river walks were wonderful and the City was looking great. The Lobby bar is being renovated - when it is done, this place will probably be hard to get into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a Wow Bow (a Chinese bun and potsticker place) on the lower level concourse that has exceedingly tasty snacks and meals at a budget price. The river walks were wonderful and the City was looking great. x

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germantown, Ohio
Jul 31, 2009

wonderful experience

everyone from the bellhops to front desk, doormen were very polite and helpful. we visited the sears tower, walked the magnificent mile, went to a cubs game, took a boat tour, rode the L around town, went to field history museum, and ate at fine restaurants, and enjoyed millinium park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

use the public tranportation as much as possible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Wheel Deal
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Fireworks Over Chicago

Extremely peaceful & convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top