$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1 West Wacker Drive, ONE WEST WACKER DRIVE, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J6582
Family
Chicago IL
Jan 10, 2013

Great holiday surprise

Couldn't ask for a better time to relax than during the holidays. Staff was fantastic & rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeannec
Business
norfolk, ma
Oct 5, 2013

clean, modern hotel

stayed for business, great view of the river and city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy weekend camper
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 11, 2013

Not a good weekend getaway experience

We arrived at the hotel around 5pm to a jammed lobby full of travelers waiting for their hotel rooms to be ready. We had a reservation for 4 people (2 adults, 2children) and were told our room with a king bed and pullout couch was not ready. An hour later we were told it was. Upon arriving at the room it only housed a king bed. We called the front desk and were told there were no other rooms, a rollaway was not available and to have 2 people sleep on the floor. The best they could do was give us $30 off the $60 valet for overnight parking. The manager on duty told us our other option would be to cancel the room and rebook ourselves at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawkeye Super Dave
Couples
Bettendorf. Ia.
Jul 8, 2013

weekend getaway

We had stayed there years ago and it has slipped since then. Although it was all right it was nothing special. They used to have terry cloth towels and bathrobes and they are gone. The towels were next to worthless and actually hurt to use. We will not pay that price to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ruth's Crist

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Candidkay
Family
Chicago
Apr 1, 2013

Comfort and elegance

Hard to mix family friendly and elegance, but this hotel manages to do it. Staff was friendly. Kids felt at home. Room was great with a gorgeous view. Room service was prompt and courteous. Pool is small but that was my kids' only complaint. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie the traveler
Couples
illinois
Feb 18, 2013

perfect weekend

It was really nice hotel. Good location, nice restaurant clean and friendly. we would recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Strong at 63
Friends
Ohio
Feb 13, 2013

weekend getaway

very friendly staff -- breakfast buffet out of this world with seating overlooking Chicago River -- close to shopping and sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lschwef
Family
Evanston, IL
Jan 21, 2013

Great hotel for staycation with kids!

This hotel is fantastic. Great location and room was very comfy. Bedding was super soft. We loved the indoor pool, hot tub and steam room. Bar Novo had great drinks but no real kid food options. The breakfast buffet was delish. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ZZZ24
Couples
Indiana
Dec 10, 2012

Fantastic Location!

Stayed here for a show at Chicago Theater. Perfect location. Staff and hotel were excellent. The only negative thing I can say is that the valet changed the radio station in the car and had it turned way up. We go to Chicago several times a year and will definitely use the Renaissance again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch 35. Great seafood!

Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yang fang
Friends
kalamazoo,michigan
Dec 4, 2012

good location

good location for shopping. nearby michigan ave. comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top