$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayC84
Couples
Seattle, WA
Dec 16, 2013

Ornate common areas lend to a sense of a very nice hotel

No complaints, this was a nice hotel with a good location, easy buses and frequent cabs stopping here, close to Museum Campus. The "Navigator" (information desk) was always staffed by a friendly knowledgeable person. The shower is that newer, perhaps 'chic' style where there's no door, though, and therefor you WILL end up with water on the floor of the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kadoram
Family
Missouri, USA
Nov 19, 2013

Great hotel, great food, great staff, great location

We took our 4 year old for a long weekend to Chicago to visit museums and see dinosaurs. We picked the Blackstone because of its convenient location to the museums and its great reviews. It was a stellar trip. The hotel is beautifully renovated, the staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant was terrific, and the place had good energy. They were very accommodating and helpful with our child. The hotel is close to everything and just 2 blocks from the red line., 4 from the orange line. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The #6 and #10 buses to Jackson Park and the Science Museum stop just across the street at Michigan and Balboa. It is easy to get there and there is so much to see you can spend the entire day!

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Dee Mo
Couples
Madison, Wisconsin
Nov 19, 2013

Great location, classy/classic hotel

The Blackstone is an historic hotel which feels comfortable, clean, and (here and there) updated, but it still maintains its classic upscale charm. It's a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnyc45
Couples
brooklyn
Sep 9, 2013

classy landmark very affordable

we picked the room with lake overview...AWESOME, STUNNING it really is worth the price. the room was big elegantly decorated and furnished on the 16 floor with view over the magnificent mile and the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose M
Couples
Medford, NJ
Aug 12, 2013

Historic ambiance, unbeatable view

This is our second visit to the Blackstone. We chose this hotel over the many hotels available in the city for its historic charm and the incredible panoramic view of Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain, and Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to take one of the cruises up the Chicago River and out onto Lake Michigan.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NellCote
Friends
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Great hotel, wonderful staff

This is a great hotel that is so much better than others in the same price range. Samantha at the front desk could not have been more helpful and friendly. I have rarely had a hotel experience this good, especially for a big city, downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bar and restaurant are great.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tree tree
Couples
Montgomery
Jan 5, 2013

Gorgeous

The hotel was wonderful and just perfect for our New Years Eve splurge. The historic lobby is beautiful, the updated room was really very comfortable and high class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank from MN
Couples
Minnesota
Oct 8, 2012

Great hotel, couple bummers

We stayed here for the Chicago Marathon. Great location right across the street. Hotel was clean, staff was nice, food was good in the restaurant, etc. When I checked in I was for whatever reason given two free breakfast vouchers for the next morning. Sounds great, but after breakfast was done I got a bill for $30. Turns out the vouchers didn't include coffee or oatmeal (or whatever else two people ordered that wasn't covered). Seemed like a cheap scam. There was a dog in a room near ours barking. Never figured out which room. This was lousy. The night before the marathon I ordered breakfast for the next morning. Next morning it didn't show up - they lost the order. By the time it arrived it was too late. It is nice to have breakfast before a 26 mile run. This was a major bummer. Beautiful room, great location, but a couple fumbles that really made the experience so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy stay
Friends
indiana
Aug 13, 2012

beautiful hotel

The hotel staff was acting like they did not wanna be there, might reason being one person at desk on a sold out Saturday check-in. And what hotel charges 12.95 a day for wifi? ? Red roof even gives it free. And the valet service charged 55 a day. And when calling down for the car they asked me to wait 15 min and it would be ready, wrong. I went down it took them 20 more min yet after I walked down to meet them. I've always enjoyed staying on Michigan Ave. I will pick more wiser choices next time with hotels I know better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Blue Grass Airport (LEX), 4000 Terminal Dr, Lexington, KY 40510-8000, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Fantastic college visit trip

Excellent!!! Perfect location. Short cab ride to northwestern and university of Chicago. Close to art museum and field museum .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top