$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Jul 26, 2010

Beautiful hotel with great ammenities

Wonderful hotel and staff, but I would not recommend the 'Mercat' restaurant as the food was expensive but average. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Crust - Lincoln Park

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2010

Nice with Great Location

We went here for the 4th of july weekend and main reason for booking this hotel was the location. Right on Michigan ave with great view of Grant Park. We paid a bit extra for room with lake view, worth it! No bath tub, only shower available, which was fine but did not know this ahead of time. not a big room, but clean and good size anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
an architect
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 17, 2010

Beautiful Views

This Hotel is further South than we have stayed before; but a great location for the Blues festival in Grant Park, and close to the Architectural Foundation for tours. Rooms are beautifully furnished and beds are very comfortable and plush. Spectacular Lake View advertised by the Hotel really is spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try breakfast at the Bongo Room; relatively close by in the South Loop, with unusual and delicious breakfasts! The red velvet pancakes with vanilla creme were great.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 8, 2010

Blackstone beauty!

Excellent service from staff. Was more than accomodating to my late arrival. Had issues with keys not working and bell captain took care of the issue immediately and refused a tip afterwards for the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Epic burger is delicious a few blocks over!

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie K
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Wonderful place to celebrate

It was our 20th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Chicago before. The staff was wonderful, in every respect. The room had an unobstructed view of Lake Michigan. Thank you, Blackstone, "We'll be back!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jellyman
Business
wausau, wi
Mar 22, 2010

Water-water-everywhere

Early Sunday (12:50 am) we woke up to water dripping onto our beds and bodies. We notified the front desk and they said they were dealing with an "alarm situation" and that they would get right back to us At 1:15 am we called the desk again and were told the same thing. Water continued to fill our room and at 2:15 am we called the desk again and told them that our ceiling had buckled from all of the water above our room. They said they would be right up to move us. At 2:40 am a hotel representative arrived. She said the people above our room had broken the fire sprinkler head off the wall and in total three rooms on our floor had heavy water damage. While the incident was not the fault of the hotel, their reaction to the situation was slow and lacking in courtesy. When we checked out we asked for a free night's lodging at a future date and the desk clerk said the manager would have to approve that request. It took the hotel 2 weeks but we received a letter the other day awarding us the free night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the Yolk for breakfast, just a ten minute walk down Michigan Ave. Great food!

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern illinois
Mar 6, 2010

great location at a great price

went for a one night stay to be in loop area. great location for this. excellent service and staff. nice quiet clean rooms. would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

four blocks south - "yolk" for breakfast; great food and nice price.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 21, 2010

Awesome hotel!

The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was very nice, very fancy! The room was comfortable, nice size, and good amenities. There was a thermostat too, so that was nice because I get cold easily! The location is great, my boyfriend and I walked everywhere, and didn't spend too much time in the room, but at the end of the day it was nice to come back to! There were a couple things I could complain about though. One problem I had was the sheets. Because of the position of the tv, when we watched a movie I had to lay on my stomach on the bed leaning on my elbows, and the sheets hurt my elbows. The walls were thin too, I could hear the neighbors when they came back to their room late at night. The bathroom door is mostly frosted glass, so if you get up to go to the bathroom in the night, the light still shines out when the door is closed. Overall though it was a great hotel! I would definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Man D
Business
Flint, MI
Feb 21, 2010

great place to stay!

This hotel wasn't our first choice, but we were glad we eneded up here! First of all the staff was great, and the rooms are beautiful! especiallay the bathrooms. I think we had the only child in the building (only because we didn't see any other children our entire 4 days there)but the staff was so friendly and accomidating to her. She absolutly loved it there. The hotel was nicely located closer to the Field Museum adn the Shedd, which is where we wanted to go. You can actually just walk through Grant park to them no cab necessary. It's only about 10-15min (with a 6 yr old)and although we went in the middle of Feb. it wasn't that bad. It was also just like a 3 block walk to the most amazing breakfast at Yolk. Oh! adn if you want to take the bus, theres a bus stop right in front of the building... very convienent!! The only thing I would have liked to of seen would have been more "in hotel" dining options, but it didn't matter because its close enough to walk adn go some where. Would most def stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save $10 each way for a cab ride just walk to the Field and shedd. Its actually a nice little walk :).......and if you have kids, its a nice way to release some of the unwanted super energy before you get into these places ;)

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holland,mi
Feb 16, 2010

good stuff

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top