$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnyc45
Business
brooklyn
Sep 9, 2013

classy landmark very affordable

we picked the room with lake overview...AWESOME, STUNNING it really is worth the price. the room was big elegantly decorated and furnished on the 16 floor with view over the magnificent mile and the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rose M
Business
Medford, NJ
Aug 12, 2013

Historic ambiance, unbeatable view

This is our second visit to the Blackstone. We chose this hotel over the many hotels available in the city for its historic charm and the incredible panoramic view of Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain, and Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to take one of the cruises up the Chicago River and out onto Lake Michigan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof from IU
Business
Bloomington, IN
Jul 2, 2013

wonderful hotel

The Blackstone is ideally situated, staff extremely helpful, and the room as just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Spertus and Contemporary Photography museums are free and around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NellCote
Business
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Great hotel, wonderful staff

This is a great hotel that is so much better than others in the same price range. Samantha at the front desk could not have been more helpful and friendly. I have rarely had a hotel experience this good, especially for a big city, downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bar and restaurant are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tree tree
Business
Montgomery
Jan 5, 2013

Gorgeous

The hotel was wonderful and just perfect for our New Years Eve splurge. The historic lobby is beautiful, the updated room was really very comfortable and high class.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank from MN
Business
Minnesota
Oct 8, 2012

Great hotel, couple bummers

We stayed here for the Chicago Marathon. Great location right across the street. Hotel was clean, staff was nice, food was good in the restaurant, etc. When I checked in I was for whatever reason given two free breakfast vouchers for the next morning. Sounds great, but after breakfast was done I got a bill for $30. Turns out the vouchers didn't include coffee or oatmeal (or whatever else two people ordered that wasn't covered). Seemed like a cheap scam. There was a dog in a room near ours barking. Never figured out which room. This was lousy. The night before the marathon I ordered breakfast for the next morning. Next morning it didn't show up - they lost the order. By the time it arrived it was too late. It is nice to have breakfast before a 26 mile run. This was a major bummer. Beautiful room, great location, but a couple fumbles that really made the experience so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
not a happy stay
Business
indiana
Aug 13, 2012

beautiful hotel

The hotel staff was acting like they did not wanna be there, might reason being one person at desk on a sold out Saturday check-in. And what hotel charges 12.95 a day for wifi? ? Red roof even gives it free. And the valet service charged 55 a day. And when calling down for the car they asked me to wait 15 min and it would be ready, wrong. I went down it took them 20 more min yet after I walked down to meet them. I've always enjoyed staying on Michigan Ave. I will pick more wiser choices next time with hotels I know better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Grass Airport (LEX), 4000 Terminal Dr, Lexington, KY 40510-8000, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Fantastic college visit trip

Excellent!!! Perfect location. Short cab ride to northwestern and university of Chicago. Close to art museum and field museum .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jen13
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great View!!!! Perfect Anniversary!!!!

Great people, great room, great view.... All for a great price!!! We celebrated our anniversary this past weekend and stayed at the Blackstone and loved it!! We Will defiantly stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sleepy joe
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Nice location, staff could have planned ahead

Front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant, room was nice. The only downside was that the hotel knew from the time we made the reservation that we were 3 adults in a king size bed room and would need a rollaway. We checked in about 9 p.m (though they had been holding our luggage since 11 a.m.) and the bed did not make it to the room til after 10 p.m. It didn't come with blanket or pillow or extra towels. It had been a busy day and we would have loved some extra sleep had the extra bed been available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top