$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
View map of 636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Elgin, IL
Jan 18, 2010

Totally Remodeled!

Convenient to the venue that I attended. Attentive staff. Comfortable and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kids4ever
Family
St. Louis, MO
Jan 18, 2010

Not a kid friendly hotel

Good location and friendly staff, but if you have young kids and use strollers, nothing is easily accessible, it was very difficult to get in/out of the hotel. There is no automatic door at the main entrance so we needed assistance with the strollers. And after the main door, you still need to go up the stairs in order to get to the elevators. So it was exhausting even to think about getting in/out of the hotel. The bathroom is NOT designed for families with young kids. No bathroom door you can close, kids get in easily and you have to be alert all the time. There is no shower door which makes it even harder. So, if you dont have kids, great, if you have kids, think twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJF
Business
Atlanta
Dec 29, 2009

The Blackstone

Second time at this hotel. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Denver,CO
Nov 22, 2009

Unique modern Hotel

The Hotel location was perfect! We went to Chicago for the Willis Tower stair climb, and found the Blackstone to be within walking distance not only to the tower but to several other fantastic attractions along Michigan ave. The price is what 1st. grabbed my attention about the hotel (very excellent for such a beautiful,modern hotel) The service was fantastic! All my future stay's in Chicago will be with the Blackstone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, Il
Nov 11, 2009

Very Nice Experience

Everyone was very courteous and polite. Room was big, bathroom was great. Will definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

attractions

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SloMoJonbo
Single
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 30, 2009

Concerts and Rain

Easy check in and before what I paid for. Beautiful room with a view. I got a headache and the staff provided me great information about where to find my cure. Doors were opened for me with a smile and a Sir. I think I walked around the block 5 times and each time the bellhop was kind enough to give me advice on the next place I should go. It rained the night I stayed at the hotel and the entire staff calmly joked about the situation. Check out was a breeze. Besides the rain, which the hotel can not control, my stay was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If you traveling and didn't look at weather before you left the hotel make sure to grab a mini umbrella.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asilprest
Family
milwaukee
Oct 24, 2009

wonderful room

Close to museum campus, this hotel is convenient to most attractions and easy to get to as it is at the south end of Michigan Ave. not far from Congress Parkway. But we really liked the room - so many nice touches that you don't usually see in the furnishings and decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The room service menu was very limited and the service itself was just ok, so avoid it if possible. Everything else was excellent.

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
cincnnati, oh
Sep 15, 2009

Great staff

Staff was extremely cordial and more than willing to assist to assure a positive stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Scottsdale AZ
Sep 8, 2009

No worries when you book here

Although my primary initiative was visiting the beautiful windy city again - I had a hard time leaving the comforts of the hotel and my warm cozy bed. Another "perk" to my stay was having a Starbucks so close at hand (first floor of the hotel). As a side-note, this Starbucks will not accept the black rewards card... However, this hotel makes up for all of the petty annoyances along the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Conyers, GA
Sep 8, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Wonderful service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top