$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
636 South Michigan Avenue,(lobby entrance on East Balbo Avenue), 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
71 reviews
Great location, classy/classic hotel

The Blackstone is an historic hotel which feels comfortable, clean, and (here and there) updated,... See full review

  • Jay Dee Mo
  • Nov 19, 2013
Great hotel, great food, great staff, great location

We took our 4 year old for a long weekend to Chicago to visit museums and see dinosaurs. We picked... See full review

  • kadoram
  • Nov 19, 2013
History and culture in a modern setting
The historic 4-star Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel offers guests easy access to some of the most interesting Chicago attractions, including Soldier Field and Magnificent Mile. A popular retreat for celebrities, the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel is housed in an elegantly restored 1910 French Beaux-Arts structure and features over 1,400 pieces of original artwork by celebrated artists. Guests will enjoy modern amenities including a fully equipped gym, business center and Starbucks Café. Iron Chef Jose Garces helms the on-site restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa, showcasing Catalan cuisine, Mediterranean tapas and artisanal wines.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prime location near Grant Park
  • Historic hotel favored by celebrities
  • Celebrated restaurant Mercat a la Planxa
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel Rooms
The Blackstone offers an air of grandeur in each of its lush hotel rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy views of Lake Michigan, pillow top mattresses and down duvets, flat-panel TVs, iPod docks and wireless Internet access. The luxurious marble bathrooms include hairdryers, bathrobes and premium bath amenities. In addition, business guests at the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel can make use of helpful extras such as the in-room work desk, chair and telephones. Families have the option of requesting cribs and rollout beds. Accessible rooms are also available. As an added treat, turndown and room service are on offer.
Things To Do:
  • Grant Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Field Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Shedd Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Soldier Field (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed.
  • Valet parking is $60 for overnight parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8733 -87.6245
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 19.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 11.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.4 mi

Dining

Mercat a la Planxa
Take a culinary tour of Barcelona at Mercat a la Planxa, where Catalan-inspired cocktails and cuisine come to life. Whatever your pleasure, Chef Jose Garces' mod-Mediterranean kitchen delivers a dose of Catalan soul straight to your table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SloMoJonbo
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 30, 2009

Concerts and Rain

Easy check in and before what I paid for. Beautiful room with a view. I got a headache and the staff provided me great information about where to find my cure. Doors were opened for me with a smile and a Sir. I think I walked around the block 5 times and each time the bellhop was kind enough to give me advice on the next place I should go. It rained the night I stayed at the hotel and the entire staff calmly joked about the situation. Check out was a breeze. Besides the rain, which the hotel can not control, my stay was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If you traveling and didn't look at weather before you left the hotel make sure to grab a mini umbrella.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asilprest
milwaukee
Oct 24, 2009

wonderful room

Close to museum campus, this hotel is convenient to most attractions and easy to get to as it is at the south end of Michigan Ave. not far from Congress Parkway. But we really liked the room - so many nice touches that you don't usually see in the furnishings and decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The room service menu was very limited and the service itself was just ok, so avoid it if possible. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cincnnati, oh
Sep 15, 2009

Great staff

Staff was extremely cordial and more than willing to assist to assure a positive stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale AZ
Sep 8, 2009

No worries when you book here

Although my primary initiative was visiting the beautiful windy city again - I had a hard time leaving the comforts of the hotel and my warm cozy bed. Another "perk" to my stay was having a Starbucks so close at hand (first floor of the hotel). As a side-note, this Starbucks will not accept the black rewards card... However, this hotel makes up for all of the petty annoyances along the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Conyers, GA
Sep 8, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Wonderful service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob17
Carmel, In
Sep 8, 2009

Blackstone Hotel

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Starbucks coffee connected to hotel was nice. The only downside was the parking which was 47.00 per day plus valet tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

parking behind hotel was 18 per day instead of 47 I paid for valet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
foureyedg
Minneapolis
Aug 13, 2009

Lovely hotel right where you want to be.

Lovely hotel across the street from Grant Park. Short walk to most Chicago sites. Friendly staff, clean large rooms, and nice bar/restaurant. I have stayed at 7-8 hotels downtown Chicago and this was the best one by far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Columbia Chicago Mom
Leesburg, VA
Jul 24, 2009

Up-scale Friendliness

Our stay at the Blackstone Hotel was one of the nicest hotel experiences we have ever had. My daughter and I were in Chicago for Orientation at Columbia College Chicago, so obviously the location could not have been better. But what made the trip so wonderful was the attitude of every staff member at the hotel combined with the lovely and extremely comfortable accomodations. The Front Desk staff were the most welcoming and efficient of any hotel I've stayed at. Requests for restaurant suggestions were thoughtfully considered, and the places recommended didn't seem to be be memorized "for tourists" responses but rather places that from personal experience they thought we would really enjoy...and we did! Requests from our room...one night my daughter had blisters on her heels from walking, and we called down for band-aids...were responded too incredibly quickly, we had those band-aids in less than 5 minutes. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. And don't even get me started on Mercat ala Plaxa, the hotel's restaurant. The brioche french toast is wonderful, and the Tasting Dinner with wine pairing is not to be missed....well worth the cost and the time needed to appreciate this leisurely dining experience. Make a reservation, the restaurant is extremely popular in the broader Chicago community. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and have wonderful comfy beds and linens. We also loved the roman shades at the windows...they blocked not just light but noise from the city outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Custom House -- a very up-scale and $$$ restaurant-- was recommended, fabulous, and worth the money. The Chicago Curry House -- more moderately priced --we found on our own and thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jul 16, 2009

Great Service, Nicely Decorated Room

Hotel was great, but Orbitz apparently flubbed the reservation and we had to wait 40 minutes to get that straightened out when we checked in. Then reservation issue resurfaced on second day so no maid service. The hotel staff were helpful in resolving this but Orbitz needs to get it right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is directly across from Grant Park and a short walk from Art Institute. Well located for long or short walks to other museums and locations. Red and blue line subways are short walks away. Taxis always available too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon
Business
London, UK
Jun 24, 2009

Fantastic hotel !

Great location in Chicago, traditional building but very modern interior. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was a little pricey for what is was - but there is also a Starbucks in the basement!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search