$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Great hotel, great food, great staff, great location

We took our 4 year old for a long weekend to Chicago to visit museums and see dinosaurs. We picked... See full review

  • kadoram
  • Nov 19, 2013
Great location, classy/classic hotel

The Blackstone is an historic hotel which feels comfortable, clean, and (here and there) updated,... See full review

  • Jay Dee Mo
  • Nov 19, 2013
History and culture in a modern setting
The historic 4-star Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel offers guests easy access to some of the most interesting Chicago attractions, including Soldier Field and Magnificent Mile. A popular retreat for celebrities, the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel is housed in an elegantly restored 1910 French Beaux-Arts structure and features over 1,400 pieces of original artwork by celebrated artists. Guests will enjoy modern amenities including a fully equipped gym, business center and Starbucks Café. Iron Chef Jose Garces helms the on-site restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa, showcasing Catalan cuisine, Mediterranean tapas and artisanal wines.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prime location near Grant Park
  • Historic hotel favored by celebrities
  • Celebrated restaurant Mercat a la Planxa
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel Rooms
The Blackstone offers an air of grandeur in each of its lush hotel rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy views of Lake Michigan, pillow top mattresses and down duvets, flat-panel TVs, iPod docks and wireless Internet access. The luxurious marble bathrooms include hairdryers, bathrobes and premium bath amenities. In addition, business guests at the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel can make use of helpful extras such as the in-room work desk, chair and telephones. Families have the option of requesting cribs and rollout beds. Accessible rooms are also available. As an added treat, turndown and room service are on offer.
Things To Do:
  • Grant Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Field Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Shedd Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Soldier Field (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed.
  • Valet parking is $60 for overnight parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.4 mi

Dining

Mercat a la Planxa
Take a culinary tour of Barcelona at Mercat a la Planxa, where Catalan-inspired cocktails and cuisine come to life. Whatever your pleasure, Chef Jose Garces' mod-Mediterranean kitchen delivers a dose of Catalan soul straight to your table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southern illinois
Mar 6, 2010

great location at a great price

went for a one night stay to be in loop area. great location for this. excellent service and staff. nice quiet clean rooms. would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

four blocks south - "yolk" for breakfast; great food and nice price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Feb 21, 2010

Awesome hotel!

The staff was very friendly, and the hotel was very nice, very fancy! The room was comfortable, nice size, and good amenities. There was a thermostat too, so that was nice because I get cold easily! The location is great, my boyfriend and I walked everywhere, and didn't spend too much time in the room, but at the end of the day it was nice to come back to! There were a couple things I could complain about though. One problem I had was the sheets. Because of the position of the tv, when we watched a movie I had to lay on my stomach on the bed leaning on my elbows, and the sheets hurt my elbows. The walls were thin too, I could hear the neighbors when they came back to their room late at night. The bathroom door is mostly frosted glass, so if you get up to go to the bathroom in the night, the light still shines out when the door is closed. Overall though it was a great hotel! I would definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Man D
Business
Flint, MI
Feb 21, 2010

great place to stay!

This hotel wasn't our first choice, but we were glad we eneded up here! First of all the staff was great, and the rooms are beautiful! especiallay the bathrooms. I think we had the only child in the building (only because we didn't see any other children our entire 4 days there)but the staff was so friendly and accomidating to her. She absolutly loved it there. The hotel was nicely located closer to the Field Museum adn the Shedd, which is where we wanted to go. You can actually just walk through Grant park to them no cab necessary. It's only about 10-15min (with a 6 yr old)and although we went in the middle of Feb. it wasn't that bad. It was also just like a 3 block walk to the most amazing breakfast at Yolk. Oh! adn if you want to take the bus, theres a bus stop right in front of the building... very convienent!! The only thing I would have liked to of seen would have been more "in hotel" dining options, but it didn't matter because its close enough to walk adn go some where. Would most def stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save $10 each way for a cab ride just walk to the Field and shedd. Its actually a nice little walk :).......and if you have kids, its a nice way to release some of the unwanted super energy before you get into these places ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
holland,mi
Feb 16, 2010

good stuff

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul and Deb
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 1, 2010

Great Place to Stay

The check-in staff noticed our daughter was tired and cranky, they went and got her a complimentary Apple Juice from the news stand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, IL
Jan 18, 2010

Totally Remodeled!

Convenient to the venue that I attended. Attentive staff. Comfortable and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kids4ever
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 18, 2010

Not a kid friendly hotel

Good location and friendly staff, but if you have young kids and use strollers, nothing is easily accessible, it was very difficult to get in/out of the hotel. There is no automatic door at the main entrance so we needed assistance with the strollers. And after the main door, you still need to go up the stairs in order to get to the elevators. So it was exhausting even to think about getting in/out of the hotel. The bathroom is NOT designed for families with young kids. No bathroom door you can close, kids get in easily and you have to be alert all the time. There is no shower door which makes it even harder. So, if you dont have kids, great, if you have kids, think twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJF
Business
Atlanta
Dec 29, 2009

The Blackstone

Second time at this hotel. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,CO
Nov 22, 2009

Unique modern Hotel

The Hotel location was perfect! We went to Chicago for the Willis Tower stair climb, and found the Blackstone to be within walking distance not only to the tower but to several other fantastic attractions along Michigan ave. The price is what 1st. grabbed my attention about the hotel (very excellent for such a beautiful,modern hotel) The service was fantastic! All my future stay's in Chicago will be with the Blackstone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelly Belly
Business
NY
Nov 15, 2009

Good!

I recommend this hotel overall! First, the public transportation is very convenient, there's a bus stop right outside of the hotel. Second, the staffs are all very nice and helpful. Third, the park is across from the street and gives good view. Fourth, it is in walking distance to Yolk restaurant, my favorite breakfast place in the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Tapas restaurant on the ground floor is great! They have many complimentary dishes for customers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top