$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

4 stars
636 South Michigan Avenue, (lobby entrance on East, 636 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Great hotel, great food, great staff, great location

We took our 4 year old for a long weekend to Chicago to visit museums and see dinosaurs. We picked... See full review

  • kadoram
  • Nov 19, 2013
Great location, classy/classic hotel

The Blackstone is an historic hotel which feels comfortable, clean, and (here and there) updated,... See full review

  • Jay Dee Mo
  • Nov 19, 2013
History and culture in a modern setting
The historic 4-star Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel offers guests easy access to some of the most interesting Chicago attractions, including Soldier Field and Magnificent Mile. A popular retreat for celebrities, the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel is housed in an elegantly restored 1910 French Beaux-Arts structure and features over 1,400 pieces of original artwork by celebrated artists. Guests will enjoy modern amenities including a fully equipped gym, business center and Starbucks Café. Iron Chef Jose Garces helms the on-site restaurant, Mercat a la Planxa, showcasing Catalan cuisine, Mediterranean tapas and artisanal wines.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Prime location near Grant Park
  • Historic hotel favored by celebrities
  • Celebrated restaurant Mercat a la Planxa
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel Rooms
The Blackstone offers an air of grandeur in each of its lush hotel rooms and suites. Guests will enjoy views of Lake Michigan, pillow top mattresses and down duvets, flat-panel TVs, iPod docks and wireless Internet access. The luxurious marble bathrooms include hairdryers, bathrobes and premium bath amenities. In addition, business guests at the Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel can make use of helpful extras such as the in-room work desk, chair and telephones. Families have the option of requesting cribs and rollout beds. Accessible rooms are also available. As an added treat, turndown and room service are on offer.
Things To Do:
  • Grant Park (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Field Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Shedd Aquarium (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Soldier Field (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed.
  • Valet parking is $60 for overnight parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.4 mi

Dining

Mercat a la Planxa
Take a culinary tour of Barcelona at Mercat a la Planxa, where Catalan-inspired cocktails and cuisine come to life. Whatever your pleasure, Chef Jose Garces' mod-Mediterranean kitchen delivers a dose of Catalan soul straight to your table.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Feb 2, 2011

nice hotel

Clean, trendy, comfortable, classic, nice lobby, friendly staff, worked with [...]to get us a refund when we needed to cancel two days of our trip due to the blizzard of 2011. Having a toddler I wouldn't have minded if the hotel room had a bath tub instead of a fancy shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a good Sushi restaurant about 2 blocks from the hotel. Ask staff for specifics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 5, 2011

Great Stay!

Stayed her for NYE2011 weekend. Great stay, quiet and beautiful, excellent staff, uber comfy beds! Really a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ann arbor, MI
Jan 3, 2011

perfect one

It was really nice experience to live in this hotel. everything is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth RI
Sep 1, 2010

Chicago is alive and well

From check in to check out the staff could not have been nicer. I plan to visit again and will want to stay at the Blackstone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Chicago is terrific for public transportation. The CTA staff was so helpful and with so many attractions from great museums to Navy Pier, it was a pleasure to get around so easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Jul 26, 2010

Beautiful hotel with great ammenities

Wonderful hotel and staff, but I would not recommend the 'Mercat' restaurant as the food was expensive but average. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Crust - Lincoln Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2010

Nice with Great Location

We went here for the 4th of july weekend and main reason for booking this hotel was the location. Right on Michigan ave with great view of Grant Park. We paid a bit extra for room with lake view, worth it! No bath tub, only shower available, which was fine but did not know this ahead of time. not a big room, but clean and good size anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
an architect
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 17, 2010

Beautiful Views

This Hotel is further South than we have stayed before; but a great location for the Blues festival in Grant Park, and close to the Architectural Foundation for tours. Rooms are beautifully furnished and beds are very comfortable and plush. Spectacular Lake View advertised by the Hotel really is spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must try breakfast at the Bongo Room; relatively close by in the South Loop, with unusual and delicious breakfasts! The red velvet pancakes with vanilla creme were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 8, 2010

Blackstone beauty!

Excellent service from staff. Was more than accomodating to my late arrival. Had issues with keys not working and bell captain took care of the issue immediately and refused a tip afterwards for the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Epic burger is delicious a few blocks over!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie K
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Wonderful place to celebrate

It was our 20th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Chicago before. The staff was wonderful, in every respect. The room had an unobstructed view of Lake Michigan. Thank you, Blackstone, "We'll be back!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jellyman
Business
wausau, wi
Mar 22, 2010

Water-water-everywhere

Early Sunday (12:50 am) we woke up to water dripping onto our beds and bodies. We notified the front desk and they said they were dealing with an "alarm situation" and that they would get right back to us At 1:15 am we called the desk again and were told the same thing. Water continued to fill our room and at 2:15 am we called the desk again and told them that our ceiling had buckled from all of the water above our room. They said they would be right up to move us. At 2:40 am a hotel representative arrived. She said the people above our room had broken the fire sprinkler head off the wall and in total three rooms on our floor had heavy water damage. While the incident was not the fault of the hotel, their reaction to the situation was slow and lacking in courtesy. When we checked out we asked for a free night's lodging at a future date and the desk clerk said the manager would have to approve that request. It took the hotel 2 weeks but we received a letter the other day awarding us the free night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the Yolk for breakfast, just a ten minute walk down Michigan Ave. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top